Mad Monkey Village

Mad Monkey Village

141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
21 Dec 2009: NJoy Travellers' Resort
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (10)
Volley Ball Night
Pool & Beach (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#4 of 34 hostels in Cairns
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
At Mad Monkey Village we offer an affordable, Flashpacker style accommodation in a newly renovated hostel in Cairns. Treat yourselves to a daily Free Hot Breakfast in the mornings & budget priced drinks at our outdoor bar in the evenings! Our fully equipped designer’s kitchen allows you to cook whatever you fancy. Relax and sunbath by our swimming pool oasis after a great day out, exploring all-natural wonders that Cairns and its surroundings have to offer. Meet new travel buddies or just chill at our TV room with Netflix and Playstation! Thanks to our ultra-fast Free Wi-Fi throughout the property, you won’t miss out on anything. And if you still have some energy left, you can enjoy a Daily Free access to a local gym! Become a part of our Mad Monkey Family & enjoy your stay! Location Mad Monkey Village is located on Sheridan Street, about 10 minute walk to the City centre. The central shopping centre is only 5 minute walk and the Cairns Esplanade with its beautiful Lagoon, views and restaurants is just a 15 minute walk away. Plane: Our FREE airport shuttle is currently unavailable. We highly recommend you book a taxi or and Uber. We’re only a fifteen-minute drive away from the airport. Bus/Train: If you arriving by Bus or Train, just make your way to the Night Market Entrance on Abbott St and wait for our hostel shuttle leaving every half past. Don’t forget to tell the driver to drop you off at Mad Monkey Village! Car: Limited parking spots are available in front of the hostel. Rooms We offer all types of accommodation, from mixed dorms to female dorms and private double rooms as well as private twin rooms. We have high-quality mattresses, pillows and linen which is included for a comfortable night’s sleep. You can choose between a standard room with a shared bathroom or ensuite. All our private double rooms come with personal towels, otherwise our reception team is more than happy to assist you with a towel hire in case you forgot one. All our rooms are Air-Conditioned with a sink and a mirror. All our bunk beds are equipped with personal USB ports & power sockets to make sure you can comfortably scroll through your new travel pictures from your bed. Oh, and don’t forget to bring a padlock for our security lockers in the dorms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Happy hour
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Adults only
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Cairns Airport
448Reviews4Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 235
  • 123
  • 57
  • 18
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nate Ramalasou wrote a review Jan 2020
Liverpool, Australia2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at a 4 bed dorm for $16 per night which was value for money considering it was fully air conditioned, quiet, clean and tidy. The facilities in general was clean and presentable. The staff was very kind, friendly and knowledgeable of all local tours, activities and so forth. Anika the gorgeous German lady was very focused, informed and attentive to my enquiries about local diving, snorkleing hotspots information and other rainforest tours etc. Overall the amenities and the staff was great!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey V, Receptionist at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Hey there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We're really glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the available amenities and found the staff helpful! I will be sure to pass on to Annika your kind message. We hope to see you again if you're in Cairns!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liam wrote a review Mar 2020
Killarney, Ireland12 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here after driving the east coast of Australia and we were delighted by the quality of this hostel and everything it had to offer. The facilities and staff were amazing and was the free breakfast. Our room was very large and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our visit was made uncomfortable by a certain couple of our roommates who were very disrespectful and rude to us. They were talking when everybody was sleeping making noise and also sleeping in the same bed which I know in the majority of hostels is not allowed. If you want to sleep in the same bed then book a private room. On our first night after a 7 hour drive we were kept awake by them and had a bit of confrontation which the girl replied by saying “I’ve been here for a week” meaning she can do what she wants. Everything about the hostel was perfect apart from this. I feel sorry for anyone who has to share a room with them they somewhat ruined our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Hey there, thanks so much for you lovely comments! We're glad to hear you liked our hostel and found the staff friendly and welcoming! We're sorry to hear that your stay was bothered by some other guests, we would have happily helped had we known about the situation. We hope it didn't too negatively impact the rest of your time in Cairns and hope we will see you again to give you the 5-star stay you deserve! Safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aline Felton wrote a review Aug 2020
Brisbane, Australia782 contributions196 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed there for two days with my husband. We were looking for a cheap accommodation with enough higiene and great service. We found it. The room was very clean, 4 pillows, huge double bed and a sink in the bedroom. Shared bathroom with plenty of showers (needed a bit of cleaning after peak hour, I found lots of hair on the walls and conditioner on the floor - 10am and 8pm)
Reception staff was very friendly, as well as the breakfast staff. Someone always make pancakes, which are great. And they're always smiling and happy to help you. I was able to store my luggage before my check-in and use the hostel before my room wsd ready. The other hostel stuff like busy breakfast, busy kitchen, etc happens, but happily everyone does the dishes and put them away, that was great. Besides the bathroom, everything was spot on clean.
I would recommend this hostel to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Hey Aline, thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so glad to hear you found the staff welcoming and enjoyed the use of the amenities. It's so great you enjoyed your time with us; we hope to see you again if you return to Cairns! Safe travels! Mad Monkey Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
G2Kpauly wrote a review Jun 2021
Melbourne, Australia3,411 contributions792 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for my first 2 nights in Cairns and wish I hadn't..It was a very basic room with nowhere to hang towels or clothes. Very smelly next to the dorm toilets. No eating or drinking in my own room allowed??!! The staff were mainly ok except Dan who was pretty rude to me when I asked what was going on with breakfast as I had no idea what to do. He tried to ignore me saying he couldn't hear me with his earphones in at first.. then he snapped at me which was a shock a staff member would act like that to a customer. Breakfast was very basic. My dishes given to me were not actually sanitised like they were meant to be. The public areas pretty dirty and outdated. Abit far out of City centre. Definitely do not recommend. Way better places to stay in Cairns.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. You can actually see pictures of our rooms very clearly on our expedia page and you can see our location there too so you should have a very clear idea of what you're getting when you book. We are a backpackers, not a hotel or a motel, and so our rooms are basic - again check the pictures on our listing they're very accurate. It's also against our accommodation license to allow food and drink in the bedrooms, so apologies that the Queensland by-laws made your stay uncomfortable however we are unwilling to risk losing our accomodation license so that you can eat in your room when we have a perfectly good common area and kitchen suited for the purpose. Regarding our staff - we're sorry if you felt our staff were rude. We do allow our staff to listen to their music if they're doing a task which requires no customer interactions such as cleaning the bathrooms which was the case in the instance you were describing. From reports from other staff and guests you actually physically grabbed our staff member and yelled at him because we were out of coffee. If he snapped back then quite honestly it sounds like it was deserved. The other interesting thing to note is that after your stay you tried to book in again with us but were refused by our reception team based on your previous behaviour. Thanks again for leaving us a review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YaniM wrote a review Feb 2020
Central Argentina, Argentina4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed a long time in the hostel, i highly recommend it because is clean and quiet and the rooms are new and spacious. The staff is very friendly and respectful. They are always available to help you. The kitchen is large and comfortable, cleanliness is very good and there are people constantly cleaning every area of the hostel. Also they always have activities for people to have fun and a super nice pool where you can relax.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey V, Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Hi Yanina! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your partner. We're glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us and met lots of people during your stay. We're also pleased that you found the hostel clean - we have an awesome team of housekeeping who work all day to keep the place tidy for you guys. Please visit again soon! Thanks, Mad Monkey Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Expedition584310 wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was perfect. It was very spotless, I seen a staff member cleaning the bathrooms into the evening every night I was very happy with this place. The kitchen is fully stocked with enough room for people to move about. I rented a room for my self that was large clean and very comfortable. LOcation is great and the breakfast was the cherry on top. There was a few Mad monkeys in the area make sure you book Mad Monkey Village you will not be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Be sure you book the Mad Monkey Village location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 26 Feb 2023
Hey thank you for this kind review, we will be sure to pass on the praise to our housekeeping team. We're glad you enjoyed our free breakfast and our kitchen. Good luck on your future travels !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Will D wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such great value for money!

The place was so looked after and staff were always on top of the rooms making sure they were always tidy.

Great perks such as free breakfast, free gym access.
Can’t recommend enough
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 8 Jul 2023
Thank you for your lovely review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the free gym, as well as breakfast. We wish you all the best on your travels and hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna W wrote a review Aug 2023
6 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I heard good stories about this hostel but I didn’t enjoy my stay at all. Main reason was that the girl at the reception was not helpful or friendly at all. There was no space left in the kitchen to place my food but on the other side the hostel has the rule to not take food into the hostel room. The kitchen area small and especially not a lot cooking panel available. My room was normal, had balcony.
The community area is nice and I also enjoyed the vibe there. I think everything starts with the first contact , and if it’s with someone unfriendly at the reception I already get pissed.
I wouldn’t say it’s a terrible hostel but I left to bounce after one night cause it’s same price and much better service and facilities
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Hello Anna, Thank you for taking the time to wrote your review. We're sorry to hear about your experience and will look into the points you have highlighted to improve our hostel. We have since put in more food boxes to accomodate more of our guests due to a large influx of long term guests staying with us. We have the rule of not bringing food into guest rooms as we are in a tropical climate, any food attracts bugs such as ants which create a difficult situation for us to solve. Had you raised this concern while staying with us, I believe any issues could have been rectified with our management. We apologise that your stay wasn't the best it could have been. We wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie C wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is by far my favorite hostel in Cairns.
As soon as I entered I was made to feel welcome by the manager who gave me a detailed tour round the different areas and the room I would be staying in.

Everyone staying at the hostel and the staff are all lovely which made it easy to settle in and feel part of the family. Good vibes !!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 7 Jul 2023
Thank you for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to meet our amazing staff during your time here. We wish you all the best on your travels and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen T wrote a review Jul 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyed my stay at Mad Monkey the Village. Everyone is really lovely, and it’s a great social hostel. They have a free BBQ event and they also provide free breakfast everyday, as well as having a free gym! Will definitely be back to this hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 5 Jul 2023
Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the free breakfast as well as gym while you were here. We wish you all the best on your travels, kind regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Pauline H
Jambes, Belgium31 contributions14 helpful votes
Hey Leonore the airport shuttle from the airport is available from 730am-930pm. you just have to call them to let them know when you have arrived! :)
Answer from Martin G
Cairns, Australia6 contributions4 helpful votes
Hey Yuna A. Yes we have a shuttle that leaves every day from the hostel at 7am to the Reef Fleet Terminal, it takes just 5 minutes to get there. We can also help you organise your tours and activites in Cairns, just go to our website and email us! Let me know if there is anything else I can help you with... Martin :)
Answer from Martin G
Cairns, Australia6 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi Belamie! We cannot guarantee that you will be in the same room, however it is very unusual that you will be split up, only if we are very busy. Our prices are $25 for a female dorm & there is no more hidden charges. Hope this helps :) Njoy Team!
haileyjung asked a question Sept 2015
Seoul, South Korea
Hi there, Is there a room type that has a private bathroom and shower? Thanks.
Answer from DaveWarwick-DM
Cairns1 contribution
Hi there! Yes we have a Double En-Suite available, which is a private room with private facilities. For sole use it's $60 per night, & for 2 people its $72, so $36 per person, per night. If you want to make a reservation then please let me know. Kind regards.
charles wrote a tip Nov 2023
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The personal at the reception"
Read full review
Expedition584310 wrote a tip Feb 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be sure you book the Mad Monkey Village location"
Read full review
Claire B wrote a tip Oct 2019
Utrecht109 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"After 11pm the hostel is quiet, so I don't think it makes much difference which room you have"
Read full review
Judy H wrote a tip Sept 2019
Townsville, Australia47 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor for accessibility, ensuite rooms available, back room (313) was quiet. Aircon stayed on all the time."
Read full review
kayleighwallace wrote a tip Nov 2016
Byron Bay, Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its only $1 more for a 4 bed dorm than it is for a 6 bed dorm AND so cheap! Female only are okay too :)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 236 - RM 396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Njoy Travellers Resort
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAD MONKEY VILLAGE: UPDATED 2023 Inn Reviews, Price Comparison and 91 Photos (Cairns, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mad Monkey Village
Which popular attractions are close to Mad Monkey Village?
Nearby attractions include St Monica's Cathedral (0.4 km), Munro Martin Parklands (0.3 km), and Cairns Performing Arts Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mad Monkey Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Mad Monkey Village?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mad Monkey Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mad Monkey Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mi Piace Espresso Bar, Yum Sing, and Providore Amore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mad Monkey Village?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mad Monkey Village have airport transportation?
Yes, Mad Monkey Village offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Mad Monkey Village located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mad Monkey Village?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
All Cairns HotelsCairns Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CairnsHotels near Mad Monkey Village
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire