We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
View Map

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Pretty unimpressed with this hostel - noise at 1am was unacceptable. Pool dirty and I believe the managers there really need to get there act together. I will not be going back and forget yha as a brand - 1am guys come on ! Complete sham. Disgusted

YHA_Hostels, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Dennis, Thank you for choosing to stay at Cairns Central YHA. We are sincerely disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with our product and I can assure you that this is not reflective of the usual standard of service we provide. I have met with our Night Supervisors to reiterate the importance of ensuring our noise policy...

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

So positives: - Good location near central shopping area so good for picking up food and water - Clean - Good facilities e.g. Kitchen - lovely pool area Negatives: - Do not sell water (i heard a lot of people ask so might be a good idea) - Lack of sleep - i was on ground floor and all i...

YHA_Hostels, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. YHA is committed to reducing its impact on the environment and raising awareness of low-impact travel. In July 2014 we chose to stop selling bottled water across most of our properties and installed free cold water bubblers, these are located in the...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Hi, We were 1 adult and 2 children and had a great time at this YHA at the beginning and end of our trip. The rooms around the central pool area a little noisy, but there are rooms on the upper level that are quieter. The breakfast is a bit boring as its the same every day. something healthier would...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2015

I wished i'd read the reviews here before i booked at this hostel as they echo my stay! This hostel is near the town centre and opposite a shopping mall which is convenient.Your tour buses can pick you up easily there. There is one male hostel worker there who is very helpful.That's were the positivity ends! Its a very noisy...

Gibraltar
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Friendly staff and great location, near to most locations in the town, with everything being in walkable distance. Being a backpackers hostel it can get noisy and a bit over crowded when some have drank a little too much. The rooms vary from size to size but you dont have a choice on who your roommates will be until they...

Scotland
Reviewed 6 August 2015

I only stayed at YHA because I couldn't get into my favourite hostel in Cairns, but was actually very impressed with this one. The beds were comfortable, the facilities were great, it was quiet enough at night that you could sleep well enough, very well located and the tour desk was very helpful. Only issues were the lag on the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Lots of help with tours, went to the reef. Nice room. Friendly staff and great location. Thansk for the great stay guys! definitley reccommend to other visiting Cairns. Always stay at YHA hostels and this one does not disappoint

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Some maintenance issues bothered me. My private room aircon was broken and the "free wi-fi" was to remain out of action for days. I found the grounds to be beautifully vegetated and the fountain kept the noise level lower. At the street end of the building this is an issue with traffic and with people talking in the open area...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This was an excellent hostel to stay in. The staff really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights over New Years 2013-2014. The accommodations were clean and well kept and the common area was not too noisy, even for New Year's Eve. The air-conditioning worked fine and the shared bathroom was clean...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 12 July 2015

This hostel locates in the center of Cairns. It has a small swimming pool. We stayed at a family room which was very clean and newly renovated. Staffs were very nice and helpful. Ask for YHA member discount when you buy tours. The only negative thing is that wifi did not work well, even I paid for it.

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.2 km away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#24 of 88 in Cairns
201 reviews
0.3 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#6 of 88 in Cairns
450 reviews
0.1 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.4 km away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#10 of 88 in Cairns
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cairns Central YHA, winners of the 2014 Queensland Tourism Award for Best Backpackers, is conveniently located opposite the Cairns Central Shopping Centre. The hostel has multi-share, twin, double and family rooms are available, all with keyless entry, air-conditioning and many with ensuites. Facilities for backpackers include a large outdoor games area, kitchen, laundry, indoor and outdoor dining area, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room with large-screen TV, secure luggage storage and YHA travel and tour desk at the hostel reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Address: 20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: RM87 - RM313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Central Yha Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Travel an overnight tour at Cape Tribulation from here and ask to be dropped in Port Douglas on your way back.”
 of 5 bubbles DjGabriro, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“En suite rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles Glendavid23, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a back room off the main street and a shared bathroom split if you can get it.”
 of 5 bubbles Ryanpersad, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't go for standard double (like a prison cell)”
 of 5 bubbles AndyandSuexx, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Request a room not on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolalouise88, 20 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay