We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Global Backpackers Central

    9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    US$39
    US$14
    SAVE US$25
    US$38
    US$38
    Traveller (23)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (23)
    Overview
    • Excellent19%
    • Very good25%
    • Average23%
    • Poor12%
    • Terrible21%
    Travellers talk about
    Paid Wifi
    Self-Serve Laundry
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$14
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$38
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$38
      View Deal
    View all 23 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (165)
    There are newer reviews for Global Backpackers Central
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    41 - 45 of 143 reviews

    Reviewed 11 September 2015

    This hostel was different to any others we'd been but I actually liked it. It was inside a small shopping area through a locked side door. Rooms were clean, good communal area, showers etc all ok. Cheap rates. The one downside is if you have...More

    Thank Nikki C
    Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers CentralResponded 7 November 2015

    Hi Nikki, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We love the meal deal over at PJ's and we now offer a VIP wristband for guests staying with us...More

    Reviewed 23 August 2015

    Our double room was in hostel ground floor, located at the corner of the main aisle and the way to other share rooms, you can easily hear the music from hotel's speaks(which play the music quite loud till late, after 10pm...), and the noise from...More

    2  Thank sc0326
    Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers CentralResponded 24 August 2015

    Hi there, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Global Central and especially that the room you were in was too noisy. Generally if there is an issue with the location of the room and we have...More

    Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

    One of the worst in all of Australia! I stayed here with my mum and brother last year whilst on a trip around Australia. We felt so uncomfortable from the moment we arrived, the people at the front desk were unhelpful and rude, there were...More

    1  Thank Millie F
    Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers CentralResponded 28 August 2015

    Hi Mille, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time spent with us at Global and especially that you did not feel welcomed by our staff. Since your stay the majority of our staff have changed and work extremely hard to make our...More

    Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

    If you can stay ANYWHERE else...do it. My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in a double room which was a good deal price wise. The location was excellent, staff were mostly helpfull and the rooms clean...the good points stop there. Every single...More

    3  Thank Kim S
    Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers CentralResponded 16 August 2015

    Hi Kim, Thank you for providing feedback to the hostel regarding your stay. In reference to the noise during the night, I am shocked that it was so loud when the night manager was on shift and that they expressly added to the noise during...More

    Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

    Spent 5 nights here and it's great for the price. It's very clean and rooms are nice. The kitchen facilities were good, the only think I disliked was you had to go to reception with your passport every time you wanted a crockery set! Was...More

    Thank Sinéad G
    Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
    2,609 reviews
    #8 of 64 hotels in Cairns
     
    Hilton Cairns
    2,286 reviews
    #6 of 64 hotels in Cairns
     
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
    2,216 reviews
    #12 of 64 hotels in Cairns
     
    Tropical Heritage Cairns
    508 reviews
    #19 of 64 hotels in Cairns
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$14 - US$43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Number of rooms
    • 37
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Queensland >
    • Cairns Region >
    • Cairns
    • Also Known As
    • Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (23)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (23)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Tropical Heritage Cairns
    508 reviews
    .82 km away
     
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
    2,216 reviews
    .60 km away
     
    Hilton Cairns
    2,286 reviews
    .37 km away
     
    Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
    2,609 reviews
    .50 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Corea Corea
    377 reviews
    .11 km away
    Petit Cafe Cairns
    161 reviews
    .09 km away
    Wawawa Izakaya
    110 reviews
    .10 km away
    Indian Brothers Restaurant
    184 reviews
    .11 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Samurai Gallery Australia
    84 reviews
    .08 km away
    Cairns Museum
    77 reviews
    .13 km away
    Orchid Plaza
    23 reviews
    .12 km away
    Reef Teach
    388 reviews
    .10 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Global Backpackers Central staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Rooms with a window"
    Read review
    "avoid the roo next to the main aisle, too noisy."
    Read review
    "Pay a little extra for a 3/4 bed dorm, all single beds"
    Read review
    "Don't take a room here"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing