We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 408: English reviews
Start your review of Turtle Cove Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Beamsville, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Turtle Cove is magical. A beautiful location, peaceful. The beach front feels like a private beach. The pool area is wonderful, with gardens surrounding it. Our friends took us there for the day, was had a lovely time relaxing by the pool, and checking out the beach. We had lunch, which was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DrM898
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, Turtle Cove Beach Resort is not just for staying guests. We welcome all LGBT day visitors to spend the day with us. Our beach is totally private and secluded from the outside world. As I always say: "If you enjoyed it tell all your friends" Thank you again to take the time to write...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fourth visit to the Gay Resort, and I still want to go back. The staff are so friendly and attentive, the rooms are clean and tidy. We were hear to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday, and he was blown away by how beautiful and calming the place was. The pool is inviting, and the spa can get pretty active...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyingAussieScotsman
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. You are one of the many, who keep coming back for more so to speak. The fact that we secluded and away from any mainstream property, combined with our lovely staff, amazing attractions on our doorstep, makes for a perfect brake away from all the hassles and problems elsewhere. As I always say: "...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beyond excellent customer service, and always went the extra mile. Nice rooms, onsite food and drink, and beautiful views. Highly recommend a car for staying here to get out and see the sights all around. Rooms are inexpensive, food and drink similar to other resort prices. We had a nice 5 day stay and were able to see the rainforest,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger W
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Yes we take time to get the nicest and friendliest staff, as that create an amazing sort of family atmosphere. The weather may not have been your best friend, but our resort and the local site seeing trips you did, would have made up for not so sunny days while you were with us....

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We have known about this place for a long long time. We have had lunch here many times which was very pleasant but thought we should stay here for a night. Lunch was always very pleasant but not the stay. The setting is absolutely beautiful but we booked a beachfront unit for over $300 per night. I don't think apart...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank warren d
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

thanks for your comments, renovations are ongoing all the time, but it is slow as not to disturb guests with noise. If you only would have told us about an off light, lightbulbs will fail unexpected. The Pizza night was requested by other guests, but 12 different items to fill up the pizza base, I suggests is more than in...

Pahoa, HI
Reviewed 7 January 2017

My husband and I never really stay in gay places but we're glad we stayed at Turtle Cove as part of our honeymoon. The setting is quite beautiful and while isolated, it isn't terribly far from many attractions in the area towards Cairns or north towards Daintree. We only stayed 3 nights but I wished we had more so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank punaRob
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Yes our resort is one of a kind. and indeed we get our guests from all over the world. We are delighted that you enjoyed it here (in the only all gay resort he...he...he.... Hope you have a happy honeymoon With hugs from all of us at the Cove Kind regards Bert

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here, food was great, staff were good, had a very relaxing time. We will be back & encourage others to support this place for the community. A great safe environment to spend time with ur partner and to meet other guys from around the world, we made a few more friends which is always nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simbiotik
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, Yes our aim is to make our guests totally relaxed and forget about all the stresses. Naturally things do sometimes go wrong and we do our utmost to correct them. We are happy that you made more friends and hope you will return one day. With hugs from all of us at the Cove...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We haven't been to tc for about 6mths ...it seemed to have slipped with its friendly that visit but we thought we'd give it ago...first tried booking online and it's minimum 3nights stay we only wanted 2 so decided to try for lunch and an afternoon swim/spa. ... the spa was pale green and very cloudy, pool looked filthy, pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vfish15
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comments, Unfortunately we have all new staff and I been laid off with medical hip issues and thus not able for while to be out and around. But can assure you that the moment I be back on deck the Cove will be in its old glory. Again my apologies for your unsatisfactory visit. Still...

Reviewed 27 December 2016

I have been to turtle cove several times. As a single gay man it's a great place to make contact and not feel alone. Over the last 5 +/- years the prices have gone up and up. Even the cocktails are now the price you pay on a five star resort. Whilst I appreciate the upkeep is enormous in such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian E
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Naturally prices go up all over the world and our most expensive cocktail is $ 21.50, try the cheapest cocktail in 5 star resorts. However I do apologize about the waiter service, at late. We have all new staff and they all need training. Unfortunately I have some medical hip issues and thus, not with...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016

First of all, we went to Turtle Cove after reading many reviews, and we were a bit skeptical, as some of the reviews were a bit negative. Just to be clear, this is not a 5* top luxury resort, so if you are looking for this, is definitely not your place. Having said that we found this place unique and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words And yes, being right in the mountains, Internet and phone reception can be a bit tricky. Our menu changed daily and has always a pasta or vegetarian dish on it, but guests can always request from the waiter a vegetarian dish and our chef will only be to happy to create such a dish....

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Back in 2011 we're stayed at the cove and five years on we decided to say again. The resort definitely has potential and is situated in the middle of a very magical setting. My thoughts are that the main focus is more on gay men and things are starting to look alittle outdated, worn out or in need of repair....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caza B
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

thank you for your comments. living right on the beach, is like living on a ship.We do constant upgrades and it's never ending. we indeed don't have a massive menu, but to ensure that there is always something for everybody, we change the menu every day. 7 entrees, 4-5 mains and 6-8 desserts. We hope you will be back one...

273 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (77)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
3:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
16.4 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
21.7 km away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
457 reviews
18.1 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
14.1 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
14.2 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Turtle Cove Beach Resort is a Gay and Lesbian, Adults Only, Absolute Beach Front Holiday Resort near Cairns, Australia. Join us in Tropical Far North Queensland and experience the most fantastic and secluded piece of unspoilt GLBT Paradise in Australia,some say the world. Be assured,Turtle Cove Beach Resort is not your ordinary Gay and Lesbian Hotel! Come and explore our totally private, clothing optional, tropical beach and have the holiday/vacation of your life time! Turtle Cove Beach Resort is an absolute beachfront slice of Gay and Lesbian Heaven and is conveniently located between Cairns, Palm Cove and Port Douglas, it is the perfect place to chill and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Address: 100 Captain Cook Hwy, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: RM607 - RM802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Turtle Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cove Hotel Port Douglas
Turtle Cove Smithfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Turtle Cove Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Turtle Cove Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure. Not value for money for the beachfront rooms at over $300/night”
 of 5 bubbles warrend510, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front all the way”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront rooms have a sensational view, well worth the extra cost”
 of 5 bubbles trav19762016, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the delux sea view rooms are bigger and have a better bed”
 of 5 bubbles 850keithw, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wifi in the common areas. Really a great place to get away from the bombardment though. Needed some access, but let go for the most part.”
 of 5 bubbles omonoyama, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5