We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hibiscus Resort & Spa

12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 333: English reviews
Start your review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Mornington, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Once again have had a wonderful 7 day stay at Hibiscus. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom room which was exactly what we wanted. Room was clean and all utilities in the room as advertised. We used the back pool which was just a delight to jump into but the banana lounges were uncomfortable and very low. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Walking distance to town and the marina, we really enjoyed our 4 night stay here. The 2 pools were fantastic, we made use of the excellent BBQs available, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were amazingly helpful and offered great recommendations. Great value for money, we would definitely stay here again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarrad C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had originally booked a more expensive hotel but decided last minute to change our booking to hibiscus to save some money (for other attractions) and because they have a kitchenette - could not have been happier with our choice. We stayed in a studio apartment for five nights and while it's not fancy and doesn't have beach views, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johclaire
Trip A, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Johclaire Thank you for your review, we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure to look after you. Please do contact us when your travel plans bring you back to Port Douglas. Thank you Hibiscus Management & Staff

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2017

clean, quiet and accessible to main town with a quick 5 minute walk. We loved this venue and highly recommend it to others when visiting Port Douglas. The pool was excellent, wishing it was open longer for a late night dip (it closes at 10pm)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizandlory
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

This place calls itself a resort. Not sure I would call it that considering I'm well traveled and have had my fair share stays in "resorts." If anything I would call this an advanced vacation apartment living. You are given a room with a bathroom and kitchenette but they give you a starter kit upon check in. Basically 1 set...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina T
Trip A, Public Relations Manager at Hibiscus Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christina Thank you for the time in reviewing Hibiscus Resort & Spa. We are saddened to read that we did not meet your exceptions. We have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping staff to ensure that the points you mentioned are investigated as these are certainly not to our high standards. As a self contained apartment property with...

Coolangatta, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Friendly reception, 1 bedroom apartment overlooking nice pool area in Balinese style. Bed was comfortable, room was a little worn & dated, toilet seat needs replacing, tiles in bathroom are really slippery when wet. Overall the room is ok, nothing flash but it's good value with its location being so good. A short walk to all the restaurants, cafes, bars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mantisalive
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

The only place we chose to stay in Port - close and convenient to all services, cafes and restaurants, pubs and bars, the beach and the marina. Very well appointed rooms with everything you need, 2 pools to chose from and an on site spa. Very helpful staff too for which nothing is ever too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeG2153
Segur-le-Chateau, France
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Great small blocks of studio apartments with a lovely ambience and although a short t to the bars shops and restaurants it's very quiet. 2 lovely pools. Close to a fantastic beach and the harbour. Simply wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deano_F1_UK
Trip A, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travel plans bring you back to Port Douglas.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I enjoyed my stay here very much. The service was great very nice people. Our room was lovely overlooking the pool although was a bit disappointed about having to worry about the smoke alarms. So we cooked on the BBQ. DVD played didn't work, don't know why. (no volume) Very nice pools, laid on the couches under pergola all day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodieannem
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My first impression was that M.C. Escher was the arcitect of the hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful, the room clean with all the amenities. But the one thing a hotel MUST supply is a comfortable bed...thats the main reason you stay at a hotel, basic stuff. The matress was on on the hardish side, that was tollerable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nellipot
Trip A, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nellipot Thank you for placing your review of Hibiscus Resort - we are sorry to read that you did have a few concerns whilst staying with us and wish you had mentioned them during your stay as we could have provided you with a more suitable pillow, to ensure you got a good night's sleep. We are glad to...

324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (173)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Second Pool (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
671 reviews
0.2 km away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 43 in Port Douglas
249 reviews
0.3 km away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#22 of 43 in Port Douglas
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
441 reviews
0.3 km away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#13 of 43 in Port Douglas
592 reviews
0.7 km away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 43 in Port Douglas
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: RM419 - RM944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hibiscus Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hibiscus Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms overlooking pool. ground floor boring and the top floor rooms too much for me after a couple of days of all those stairs.”
jodieannem, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take your own pillow”
Nellipot, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We prefer the ground floor rooms but all rooms have a balcony”
michellebI373WH, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are no lifts so if stairs are a problem stay on first and second floor.”
StellaM78, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We prefer the third level, overlooking the back pool.”
HelenL49, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates