We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sands Holiday Apartments

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sands Holiday Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 48: English reviews
Start your review of The Sands Holiday Apartments
 Click to rate
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This was our second stay at The Sands holiday apartments. Now its not your five star accommodation but nor are you paying five star. The position is picture perfect, you have great views of main beach & you are with in walking distance of pretty much everything, which is what I find the best. You do need to be prepared...

Thank SOPRANOSydney
Koondrook, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

So glad we stumbled on this for our visit to Surfers. The price is amazing for the location and views! Was a bit of a maze to find our way around the car park and reception at first but got there eventually! Rooms were generally clean. Great pool. Would definitely stay again!

1Thank locallover_49
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I stayed here via AirBnB so my review is based on the building, not the experience of renting. The whole place looked run down, not just the apartment I was in. The hallways weren't cleaned ever, there was constantly trash from other people and empty bottles that didn't move during my stay. Very little sound proofing between the rooms, especially...

Thank kmerke
TheSandsHoliday, Front Office Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

In regard to your review on an privately let Airbnb unit by the owner that you stayed in I wish to advise that your your review should be placed on Airbnb. This review should not have any bearing on my booking agency and especially when I have no guests in house in respect to guests during November. The Sands has...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I had booked through Booking.com 4 days beforehand and had received confirmation of booking. It wasnt until i was 1/2 hour away from The Sands theat they rang and said that a woman hadnt booked out and there was no bed for me. I asked if I could call in and use the internet to try and find alternate accommodation...

1Thank Darlene S
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

In response to the review by this guest I would like to positively say that it was unfortunate that the guest already in the room could not be contacted to vacate to clean the room. To be fair to the guest I thought it was more courteous to phone the guest rather than allow the guest to turn up and...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Apartment was booked several months in advance with full prepayment! Booking was reconfirmed the week before travel with notation we would arrive between 8 and 9pm, we were given the after hours arrival information which was useless the gate at the front of the property was broken and would not open, security was doing his rounds at the time and...

Thank NicoleScrap
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

This review has been written by a guest who did not check in on that day. I confirm that the guests had bargain accommodation paying $125 a night for 4 adults in a 2 bedroom apartment. Young adults checked in and whilst we were doing our best to rectify the situation, a young girl phoned I assume her mother. She...

Autun, France
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Plus: Great location, in front of the beach, wonderful sea view. Large apartment (81m2 for 2 persons). Clean and quiet swimming pool. Minus: No internet available. Few stuffs should be fixed in the apartment.

Thank Marion C
Auckland, NZ
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We stayed on the first for right on the beach. The view was fantastic. We woke up each morning to the sound of the surf. Make sure your room is at the front facing the sea! The apartment block is a little tired but still great. Easy walk to the shops And the two clubs are only 100 yards away.Great...

Thank Jonathan R
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

We are on day 6 of our 9 day stay. Its in the most fabulous location in Surfers paradise. Right out the back door are cafes, shopping, supermarkets, attractions, games, night clubs and more. Beach is right across the road. Our apartment is brand new looking and very modern. Very clean except for a few dishes. Noisy at night but...

Thank Miss R
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Good location but is quite run down. Staff were really rude as well. The young brunette girl at the desk had zero customer service skills and was rather in helpful to point of being quite rude. Over all not a terrible place to stay but the staff need to step up there game.

2Thank OliverLoschy
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to respond to this review. Two apartments were booked by a company for two single guests. Following notes left on the door of one guest a few days after check in I phoned the company to advise that their guests l had not checked in. The kind girl offered to give them a call to check...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2016

It was a real shock! i knew this was a cheap place to stay when i booked at short noticed but the room and complex was run down, there were faulty power boards, lamps that didn't work, kitchen cupboards broken, no lighting when i got out of elevator on my floor to find my room (late check in). Reception was...

2Thank retepm21

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (28)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
View from Room (5)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,960 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
343 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,174 reviews
0.7 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,428 reviews
0.3 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One and two bedroom fully self contained apartments with washing machine and drier and ironing facilities. Ceiling fans, television and balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean of Surfers Paradise and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: The Sands 40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: RM297 - RM546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Sands Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sands Holiday Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Sands Holiday Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have water views. I personally prefer the higher floors.”
SOPRANOSydney, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Double check that you have a room”
235darlenes, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“BAD - don't stay here!”
NicoleScrap, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room at the front facing the ocean.”
jono5515, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“don't stay there”
retepm21, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 6 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates