We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fitzroy Island Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fitzroy Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fitzroy Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,038: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great fish life. Great coral. Island very nice, but in general the staff and the business side of the resort seemed a little tired. By contrast the main restaurant was fantastic, both the menu and the friendly staff. The pub had very poor menus and run down. Food on the whole was quite expensive on the Island. The grocery store...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ranjit248
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi ranjit248, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we of course greatly appreciate all comments from our guests good, bad or indifferent as it is an important part of our process continually improving our standards and service. Guest concerns and feedback is taken very seriously and I will pass on your comments to Maintenance,...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I have just got back from 5 nights here on a scoopon deal. Fitzroy Island is beautiful and serene with plenty of activities to do like snorkelling, kayaking and paddle boarding. I would highly recommend hiring a stinger suit as there are plenty of dangerous jellyfish in the water. I still can't believe how many people were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 440rachaelf
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi 440rachaelf, Thank you for taking the time to review Fitzroy Island Resort. We agree Fitzroy Island is a peaceful and beautiful island. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed all the activities available. We do apologise for your experiences with the local wildlife, our team does work very hard at to keep them at bay. It was extremely...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met my Fly in Fly out Hubby in Cairns with our youngest... Wet Season... We knew that... Hardly a sprinkle!!! It has been hotter down here -I'm from Brissy... Weather was absolutely AWESOME! Vis was clear - boys loved the full day snorkel Reef.../ food adventure... Lovely glass bottom boat with snorkeling just off of the island (not deep water)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tammyjoy20
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi tammyjoy20, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Fitzroy Island Resort. It was a pleasure to read your sound and informative comments about your recent stay with us, I will be sure to distribute your praise to the relevant departments. The Sunday Trivia night is lots of fun and becoming very popular amongst...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at Fitzroy Island Resort in November 2015. We had a great time! The location is beautiful. We stayed in a private room equipped with lounge room, full kitchen, bathroom (including a HUGE shower) and bedroom with king size bed. I would suggest to stay on the island NO LONGER than 3 days. It takes a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma2512
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Emma2512, Many thanks for providing feedback of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to read you had a great time! The cocktails available at the resort are amazing and also available at Foxy’s from 10am till late. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience at Fitzroy Island Resort and we look forward to your return in...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

all in all we enjoyed our stay. the island is lovely and the staff were super friendly. that being said... the golden rule of economics must be remembered before coming here (caveat emptor/let the buyer beware). lets start with the room. the room was nice to look at, however had a mild odor in it. very little to no natural...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil G
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Phi G, Many thanks for taking the time to provide detailed feedback about your stay, we of course greatly appreciate all comments from our guests good, bad or indifferent as it is an important part of our process moving forward. It was extremely disappointing to hear some of your experiences were not satisfactory, which is certainly unusual to receive...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Beachfront cabins are beautiful and we enjoyed the opportunity to go straight from the room to water in about 10 metres. Staff were friendly and helpful, we were provided with maps and island information both on the boat and at reception. Highly recommend foxys for food which is well priced over the resort restaurant (unless you get breakky as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovelycazza
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lovelycazza, Thank you for taking the time to post such positive and informative review. We truly appreciate your wonderful comments! We are pleased the staff were friendly and helpful. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday at our resort and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Kind regards, Jodie Miller – Front Office Manager

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Island is amazing, worth a day trip. The resort however was too expensive. We bought a $600 "package" that include a room for one night and ferry. Not even breakfast. The resort restaurant was closed for lunch and had to eat at the privately owned bar which was absolutely terrible. Taking a picnic is recommended. Nothing else was included in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ray B
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi RayB, Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to read your stay did not completely meet your expectation, please accept my apologies. I am surprise the package you purchased was only for one nights’ accommodation and transfer. One of our most popular packages, Romance on The Reef valued at AUD$459.00 per night, includes one nights’ accommodation in an...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The most incredible part of the trip was the Island itself, but I found the resort to be nothing particularly special. My partner and I arrived on the afternoon Ferry on Friday, checked in to a room that smelt of mold. We were advised that it wasn't mold, but the effect of the rain/weather on the island and they were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sb987yu
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi sb987yu, We appreciate you taking the time to provide sincere feedback about your stay at Fitzroy Island Resort. We greatly appreciate all comments from our guests good, bad or indifferent as it is an important part of our process moving forward. I am sorry to hear our service was not exceptional. I will be passing on your feedback to...

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It was great. Beautiful ocean view room, spacious apartment. Pool bar could have been opened longer, but still got to have cocktails in the pool. On peak season they have both a bar/pub and their restaurant open for lunch dinner, off peak season it alters. Caters to moderate to high budget. Or you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Dean D, Thank you for providing such a candid review of your stay at the Fitzroy Island Resort! It is always a pleasure to receive genuine feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality...

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We enjoyed Fitzroy Island, and unless you are camping, this is the only game "In town." It is build as a luxury resort, but the luxury is only seen in the granite counter top. The room was dark and depressing. I would never stay here again. It (and the other rooms) open onto an outdoor walkway which has the side...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cbg52
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi cbg52, Thank you providing feedback on your stay at Fitzroy Island Resort. It is extremely disappointing to hear about your experience during your stay with us, which is certainly unusual as we do endeavour to provide all guests with a high level service. We treat all feedback and concerns extremely seriously and I will be discussing this further with...

921 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (888)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (141)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (158)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
5:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (439)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
22.9 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
22.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
39.5 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
39.7 km away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
515 reviews
26.3 km away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Price Range: RM403 - RM988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fitzroy Island Resort staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Fitzroy Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It worths to ask for rooms with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles jesusr650, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay more than one night and get a chance to relax.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyM692, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with view second floor”
  • Balcony view
  • On the balcony
  • Bedroom view
 of 5 bubbles 30chantall, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“To save money, I opted for a room facing inland, after all you go there for the great outdoors :).”
 of 5 bubbles jaynec129, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 108 had the most perfect view”
 of 5 bubbles debgregferguson, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5