We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

One&Only Hayman Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
One&Only Hayman Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 835: English reviews
Start your review of One&Only Hayman Island
 Click to rate
Hunters Hill, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is still my favourite place to go even though it is very expensive. I love that it's isolated and enjoy just lazing by the pool, appreciating the scenery and wild life. It's sad to see so many people writing such terrible reviews as when I travelled in Decmeber, although the service was not perfect, it was certainly better than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robbietion
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind review as well as your loyalty to One&Only Hayman Island. It is heartwarming to discover that you consider our resort to be your favorite in the world. We have enjoyed welcoming you for each of your five memorable visits, and we are honoured to know you plan to return for a sixth once we fully reopen....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two weeks over Christmas at One & Only and had an incredibly memorable, happy, delightful stay. The entire experience of arrival is fabulous - it leads up to an incredible welcome on the island itself. From the helicopter and yacht awaiting guests, to the manicured property and vivacious well groomed staff waiting on your every need and want,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CTreviewers
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your time at One&Only Hayman Island. It was an honour to welcome you during the holiday season, and we are elated to hear you enjoyed your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed our unique amenities and special Christmas celebrations. It is always our priority to provide comfortable accommodations, numerous...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were excited to visit - but it was obvious from the moment you step on the island that the resort will not be living up to your expectations. The pools are dirty, balconies and bathroom not cleaned properly and nothing at all to do if it is raining because even the restaurants and cocktails are awful. The food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celia M
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Dear Celia, Thank you for taking a moment to detail your experience at One&Only Hayman Island. It is deeply troubling to know your expectations were not met during your time with us. We are concerned by your description of our facilities, service and food, and we would greatly appreciate the chance to learn more about any challenges you faced. At...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Obviously this is a one of a kind location, and for this purpose, the location and environment are irreplaceable. Our room was updated and was beautifully appointed and was exceptionally comfortable. The rest of the grounds were "OK". The hallways and some of the pool areas were not up to the standards that the renovated rooms were. The main issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAX_DEN_RON
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

We are grateful for your honest review and your choice to stay with us at One&Only Hayman Island. While we are thrilled you enjoyed your upgraded room as well as our beautiful location, we are troubled to know there were any areas in which your expectations were not met. We are proud to provide impeccable service, and we regret any...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I initially had heard mixed reviews, however we both prefer Hayman Island over Hamilton and certainly the other more commercial islands. We have a few friends who have stayed at this resort and loved it and some with high profiles who even got married here which says a lot. No one would choose to hold their wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDBSYD
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit to One&Only Hayman Island. We are delighted to hear you expectations were met from the moment you arrived by seaplane. It is our pleasure to provide whatever amenities you may need to make your experience as perfect as possible. It brings us great joy to know you were pleased with each...

melbourne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We started with the launch from Hamilton which was excellent and relaxing drinking sparkling wine and eating nibbles and the staff were informative. We stayed on the 3rd floor of the Hayman wing had had great views of the sea. The rooms have been slightly renovated but towels and sheets are thin and in need of change! I found it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy56Melbourne
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

We are grateful for the time you have taken to share your helpful review. It was a pleasure to welcome you for a memorable visit, and we are happy you enjoyed both your time in your room and your relaxing time by the pool. It disappoints us knowing you experienced anything but exceptional service. We are proud to do what...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had booked out family of 5 (3 kids under 9) in for early January 2017. we were hoping to take the seaplane but the weather was too rough so they cancelled and put us on the luxury boat transfer which was stable despite the conditions. when we arrived we were quickly placed in our rooms and were upgraded to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank craiguirguis
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at One&Only Hayman Island. While we are pleased you enjoyed your spacious suite and the friendly nature of our staff, we regret any lapses in service you may have noticed. We encourage guests to reserve dinners ahead of time, and we apologize if you were not able to...

Melbourne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely advise them if there is a special event as the little extras are a nice surprise and the beach bag you get in the room is also a nice touch. Had my hair coloured whilst up there and was very impressed and very happy with the result so book in when you get there if you want to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeLuMelbourne
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at One&Only Hayman Island, and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed your birthday celebration. We are pleased you appreciated our unique amenities and attentive, special touches and it is fantastic to hear you were able to enjoy a lunch on Whitehaven Beach as well as a delicious...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here twice over the last few years, before renovation and after.. we had nice experience both times, very accomodating and friendly.. definitely the best buffet breakfast! Wish there was a bit more for kids to do so we can come for a family holiday.. the dinner on the beach for two is a must do also..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andiamo2017
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review both of your experiences at One&Only Hayman Island. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and are pleased to know you enjoyed both visits to the resort. It is lovely to hear your expectations were exceeded by our breakfast buffet as well as our Under the Stars dinner on the beach. It would be...

California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The ride from Hamilton Island is a joy in itself. You sail by beautiful green Islands in a private yacht. They have ample food and restaurant selections in the Island and you can enjoy all kinds of water sports.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamT2121
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to detail your experience. It is wonderful to discover that you enjoyed each moment of your visit, from your arrival on our yacht to your time spent in our dining outlets. It would be an honour to welcome you back to our resort for another memorable stay in the future. Warm Regards,...

793 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (784)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (116)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (428)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayman Island
32.1 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
235 reviews
33.1 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,263 reviews
32.9 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
27.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
30.2 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One&Only Hayman Island, in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef presents astonishing natural beauty, restorative peace, indulgence and adventure. Australia's iconic private island resort is located off the coast of Queensland, nestled at the northernmost point of the Whitsunday archipelago, beyond verdant cliffs reaching into endless sky. Within this private island resort, stylish elegance reflects the harmony of nature with beautifully appointed accommodation set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea. Discover endless opportunities to delight the senses in a place where the beauty of nature inspires each day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about One&Only Hayman Island

Address: | Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hayman Island
Price Range: RM2,522 - RM7,653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Hayman Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Hayman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayman Great Barrier Reef Hotel Hayman Island
Hayman Island Hotel
One&Only Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Large suite, close to the lagoon.”
CTreviewers, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Poolside suites are great. Ask for the rooms at the end of the building. You won't hear anything except the wind and the birds.”
JDBSYD, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have sea views”
Sandy56Melbourne, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms as far as i could tell face the ocean.”
SamT2121, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sadly I am not sure if you can stay anymore”
TraceyLea2013, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5