We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

One&Only Hayman Island

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
One&Only Hayman Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

928 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for One&Only Hayman Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 840: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We stayed at the One & Only for 4x nights. The resort is absolutely gorgeous. Everything is really pretty and while we were there, and really peaceful. There are two pools, and both are magnificent. Ideally, you need to book activities and restaurants in advance. We didn't know this so most of the activities were booked out by the time...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Skipper84
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. While I am happy to hear you would visit us again, I do appreciate you pointing out some of the areas you felt were less than perfect. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Got married on Hayman Island 10 years ago so we decided to go back for our anniversary with our kids. From the moment we left Hamilton island we were pampered. Incredible service, amazing new pool area, beautiful room! It was the first time we felt comfortable leaving our kids in a kids club which was fantastic!!!! Congratulations on a spectacular...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty Z
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your superb review. I am so glad to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us for your anniversary. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our private island resort very soon. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

This was our third visit to Hayman, first since the hotel was renovated, and what a make over, love everything about the place, hotel, island, decor and esp the launch ( luxury ) boat , we stayed in a pool access room which is always good with a nice view, can't wait to stay again 5 *****

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tan E
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am very glad to hear that the resort exceeded all of your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to the island again soon for another visit. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Reviewed 2 April 2015

It is hard to get to - but worth it! I thought I had been to. a five star before this - I was wrong. From being picked up via a luxury yacht to the various excursions -this report was pretty awesome. The Kids Club was neat -our nine year told daughter had fun while we went on a day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is wonderful to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us and that your daughter was impressed with the KidsOnly facilities. I look forward to welcoming you and your family again very soon. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

Too many chiefs not enough Indians 5 restaurants .....no Only ever two open any night Meals too dear Wines too dear Bottled water $10 too dear Service around pool... No Railing in pool to help exit pool...no Clean floor in pacific restaurant...no

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank John v
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly in regards to your recent stay with us, if you could kindly email me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Reviewed 31 March 2015 via mobile

We have spend 3 days at the resort and it is hard to review because on one hand it is complete luxury, perfect location, nice rooms, good food, perfect amenities but for the amount of money we paid we also expect exceptional service and this is lacking on every field. The staff is not well trained and has no clue...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KarenLimpens
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to hear of your concerns regarding recent stay with us. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you, if you could please email me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Sydney
Reviewed 31 March 2015

My wife & I agreed on One & Only Hayman Island to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We treated ourselves to a one bedroom pool suite and were greatly impressed. From the time you hand over your baggage tickets at Hamilton Island Airport you are completely pampered. The luxury launch transfer with champagne, canapes and spectacular views is a fitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YoungAtHeartSydney
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing feedback. From your yacht arrival to dining experiences, it is great to hear that you had such a memorable time celebrating your anniversary at the resort. Looking forward to welcoming you back. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Coolangatta, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2015

My husband and I have just celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary at One&Only Hayman Island and we were totally blown away by the experience. The location of this resort is sublime and from the moment you arrive on Hamilton Island and are met by the friendly Joseph who escorts you on to the Hayman launch, you know you are in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Denise S
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your superb review. I am very glad to hear that the resort exceeded all of your expectations and you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 March 2015

The One & Only resort is situated on Hayman Island, which is the most northerly island of the Whitsundays. The island is private and, apart from the resort and a few private properties, is a nature reserve and protected. The One & Only group purchased the island relatively recently and has spent significant time and effort in renovating and improving...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Karen Z
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear that your recent stay with us was less than perfect. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly, if you could please email me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Au
Reviewed 27 March 2015

My husband and I stayed at One & Only Hayman Island and our stay was exceptional. The staff are exceptional, with a helpful and can do attitude. I would recommend a trip to the outer reef. The weather is absolutely beautiful this time of the year the water was so clear and the temperature is perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anduramba
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It is wonderful to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us and were impressed by our friendly staff. I look forward to welcoming you again very soon. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

796 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (787)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (428)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayman Island
32.1 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
244 reviews
33.1 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,292 reviews
32.9 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
27.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
30.2 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This place is temporarily closed due to a cyclone. It will reopen once repairs are complete in mid-2018. One&Only Hayman Island, in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef presents astonishing natural beauty, restorative peace, indulgence and adventure. Australia's iconic private island resort is located off the coast of Queensland, nestled at the northernmost point of the Whitsunday archipelago, beyond verdant cliffs reaching into endless sky. Within this private island resort, stylish elegance reflects the harmony of nature with beautifully appointed accommodation set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea. Discover endless opportunities to delight the senses in a place where the beauty of nature inspires each day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about One&Only Hayman Island

Address: | Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hayman Island
Price Range: RM2,593 - RM13,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Hayman Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your One&Only Hayman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayman Great Barrier Reef Hotel Hayman Island
Hayman Island Hotel
One&Only Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We enjoyed our room that was not one of the pool suites. It was on the ground floor so had great access to beach and pool.”
Chestnut1221, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a view overlooking the Lagoon and pool with a peak of the Ocean in the background. It was very nice!”
  • Private Helicopter tour to Whitehaven Beach
sl0girln, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Large suite, close to the lagoon.”
CTreviewers, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Poolside suites are great. Ask for the rooms at the end of the building. You won't hear anything except the wind and the birds.”
JDBSYD, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have sea views”
Sandy56Melbourne, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Elvoline
Travelocity
Hotwire.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates