We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassadors Hotel

View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassadors Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambassadors Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 April 2014

terrible hotel and unhelpful staff.When I booked they promised me that internet is free and I had very bad experience with staff sorting out internet.1 st day they said technician is looking into,next day they said is working but it did not.Finally I found that it does not work even though staff say free Wifi,it works only in common area...

5Thank shyamarun
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Oh my god. What can we say? Awful hotel. Awful. Dark, dingy, smelly, amateur, no windows, tiny rooms and mostly unhelpful staff. A backpackers would be better and I have stayed in better hotels in third world countries! Redeeming feature? None. Not even the location. Don't stay there.

4Thank keziaRosetta
Reviewed 29 March 2014

1. Good location in the middle of the city. 2. Dirty rooms. 3. Old hotel with an elevator that you need to operate manually the doors!!! 4. Shower walls have peeling paints 5. No internet in the room what so ever. 6. poor breakfast. 7. Nice stuff but can't do anything to help you. 8. Bad value for money because...

4Thank Tuzi C
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 26 March 2014

During a business travel in Adelaide, CBD, I checked-in at this hotel. The staff is okay but this where the good news stops. The room was not cleaned, the bed was very uncomfortable, there was no curtain at the shower and the air conditioning system was quite loud and it barely managed to deliver cold air. I cannot recommend this...

3Thank Howard G
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is all about location and friendly service. All staff would go the extra mile to help you with all your logistic issues, for us it was an overnight parking and having breakfast at 5:30 in the morning. The building is old (with an atmosphere though!), rooms are dark and in a desperate need for renovation and refitting. The...

3Thank LuTx
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I booked into this because the cbd location was convenient, but the inside is a dump. For $100/night, there are many better options in adelaide cbd, including most of the backpackers' places!! The corridors are a confusing warren, and there isn't lift access to all floors. The hallways themselves are narrow and dimly lit, with branches in many places. The...

5Thank Andrew_Alin
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you want to stay quietly in city centre this is a prime location.If you like it old world atmosphere this is it. Horrible breakfast is laid out in an all purpose bar. Rooms are old fashioned and spartan as are the attached toilet.It is Aussie style service-friendly and unsophisticated: matey and unrefined.

2Thank ruvinivavuniya
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed with my partner for three nights at this hotel in October for a Groupon deal. The first night we slept in one room and the other 2 nights we slept in a different one. The first night everything was ok. But the following ones were very disgusting. The second night my friend woke up with her skin red...

4Thank Aida F
Ambassadors, Manager at Ambassadors Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to send through your review of our hotel. We did receive your email and responded it straight away to it so I am sorry to hear that you did not receive it? We had asked you some more questions also but the telephone number we had on file for you was...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Had lunch here upstairs and whilst the food was a pass mark, (had better, had worse for the price my squid was over-cooked but reasonably priced) .... I had to endure stiffling heat on a 43 degree day in the upstairs "glass-house" (if you don't know the second story of this hotel is like an English green-house - all glass)...

2Thank Chris M
Ambassadors, Manager at Ambassadors Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your recent review of our restaurant. We are very sorry that you had to endure the heat for your luncheon, we were devastated to have our air-conditioning break down during such a hot spell and there was an engineer working on the roof whilst you were eating- we were hoping to have it fixed...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for a night prior to a training course. What a mistake. Overpriced, desperately needs upgrading, a total dive. Latch was broken on bathroom window, bathroom door didn't shut, room was dark and dingy, bed was uncomfortable, and room was very noisey. Guys were drinking at breakfast in the bar- it's that kind of place ;-) However, friendly staff....

2Thank Martin_qld

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (53)
Room/Suite (15)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (12)
View from Room (4)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Dining (1)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.3 km away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quest on King William
Quest on King William
#19 of 57 in Adelaide
420 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#30 of 57 in Adelaide
235 reviews
1.1 km away
BreakFree Director's Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Ambassadors Hotel
Ambassadors Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Adelaide CBD, the Ambassadors offers comfortable, value for money accommodation in a character filled heritage building. A variety of room types are available and all feature en-suite, heating/cooling, TVs, bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and daily servicing. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily for all guests along with free wireless internet throughout the building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassadors Hotel

Address: 107 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Price Range: RM267 - RM400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassadors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Hotel Adelaide
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassadors Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassadors Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not near the lift and not at the back. Get middle of the floor.”
bobbie446, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid. There are plenty of better places in Adelaide.”
petertaylor57, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No good choice i dont think. The room we had was small and dindgy.”
Belletoby, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with an external window - I hadn't done so, but was able to swap ... claustrophobic me! Thanks, Leslie!”
jansalm, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the third floor: No lift access.”
justpostthedamnrevie, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$53* /night
View Deal
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates