We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Desert Cave Hotel

Booking.comUS$92*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$229*
US$92*
Great Deal
US$104*
US$104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Desert Cave Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Start your review of Desert Cave Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have you ever thought about living underground? Now's your chance to try it out. Stay a night or two at Desert Cave Hotel in Coober Pedy. Experience the quiet solitude at night of being underground all the while gazing in awe at the amazing colours and patterns on the walls that have been dug out to create this extraordinary accommodation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muriel A
Mount Waverley, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't want to stay in an underground room, so left that to some of my fellow travellers. The room I had was quite spacious. The bed was large & very comfortable. There was also a fold down couch, table & chairs and plenty of wardrobe space. There were a few stains on the carpet & the room was getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara H, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. Happy to read you enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant. We do have a rear entrance guests can drive to, thus avoiding the stairs. Glad to read you enjoyed the local town tour we offer. Sorry to read about the carpet. Will action this, along with...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is probably one of the nicest cafe's in Coober Peddy. The coffee and service was good and it has a bit of atmosphere too. It's nicely situated underground and this adds a lot of fun to the experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwi572014
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kiwi572014, Thanks for taking the time to review our Crystal cafe. Glad you enjoyed the coffee, the staple to any good start in the morning, especially when traveling.... Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great.room very clean and amazing cave walls. Not very good showers and hot water. A bit expensive but overall a nice place to stay. Didn't eat at the restaurant a bit expensive for a meal. The pizza shop across it awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank safesx
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear safesx, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Sorry the showers weren't up to standard during your stay. Will get our maintenance team to look at this one, as they're usually regarded as great. Happy to read the room was clean, and you got the underground experience. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Carrollton, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had read about Coober Pedy before booking our trip and knew we had to go see it. After all how often do you get to stay in a hotel room in an old mine! Plus I like the name of the town! I booked us two nights at the Desert Cave Hotel in Coober Pedy! A town famous for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William E
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William E, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Sounds like you enjoyed the whole Coober Pedy experience. Glad to read the rooms were spotless and dining experience was also great. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Billed as 'best place to go in Coober Pedy' we booked a table at the Desert Cave Hotel Restaurant for a 'special' dinner during our trip to the Australian outback. After a very long wait (not sure why as they were not at all busy) we were presented with food on cold plates with tepid contents. It was quite expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve M
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve M, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. Sorry it didn't meet expectations on this occasion. Our chefs and service team usually receive high praise for the work they do. We'll discuss what went wrong on this occasion as a team and continue to improve where we can. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for the staying underground experience - which was good and I imagine in the height of summer would be very cool! We found staying underground a bit stuffy - all we wanted to do was open a window (and of course you cant!) Staff were friendly enough however the poor woman at reception had trouble understanding and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LHPhot
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LHPhot, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Sorry to read the room felt stuffy. Glad to hear the staff were friendly. We are training a delightful young girl in reception who has come a long way with her English. Sorry you had some communication issues with her levels of understanding. We're working through...

Dubai
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

stay 2 nights at desert cave hotel, room lovely and clean friendly staff and very helpful. had evening meal there what was fantastic very nice waiter who was very attentive. This was luxury as we had been camping for about 8 weeks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank margeretd2015
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear margeretd2015, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Always nice to take a break from camping, especially after 8 weeks. Will pass on your comments to the team. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Sanctuary Point, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay. Clean rooms very large. The do have underground rooms but i like a balcony. The underground caves home to a bar. Pool room.opal shops Restaurant upstairs and a swimming pool to relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brock P
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brock P, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent stay with us. Glad to read you enjoyed the above ground rooms and got to experience our other facilities. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Kadina, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Like Long John silver & "Treasure Island we are forever returning hoping to find a "GEM QUALITY OPAL" by 'noodling' on the dumps of old mines. To sleep in an underground mine transformed in-to a modern hotel is a very special experience, imagine your sleep completely un-disturbed in your room deep below the ground where the constant temperature remain the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fhjensen2016
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fhjensen2016, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Happy to read you enjoyed the underground room experience. Sounds like you've ticked a few boxes on experiences in the town as well. Best of luck with the Opal search in the noodling pits! They have been found before.... Happy travels! Matt Coxon

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.0 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
181 reviews
1.0 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
243 reviews
0.5 km away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
115 reviews
2.0 km away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Desert Cave Hotel is the world's only underground international hotel. We're located at Coober Pedy, which since 1915 has lured those who seek the elusive opal, found in this vast outback semi-desert area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desert Cave Hotel

Address: Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Price Range: RM476 - RM824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Desert Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Cave Coober Pedy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Desert Cave Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Desert Cave Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Select one of the rooms underground!”
246muriela, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Quiet as the grave underground, "MUST TRY"”
fhjensen2016, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“don't expect anything but strange”
337millicentr, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It was a bit of a gimmick to stay in the underground room but for an extra $10 now I have been there and done that :)”
brucelogan79, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the underground rooms are comfy all year around. Above ground is air conditioned”
W295MHpatricias, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$92* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$104
Expedia.comUS$104
AMOMAUS$229
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates