We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Hotel Hobart

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Hotel Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 632: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Just stayed for one night everything in the hotel/room is v-old.... Glad I didnt have to pay for it. Feels alot more like an old motel. Not value for money. Fountainside hotel looks old outside but is alot better/cleaner and location is good and room feels alot happier. If you want the historical/old fasion/haunted feel and willing to spend $150+... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Anthony C, We here your comments and yes this is why our rooms are being refurbished. I would not comment on the fountain side position on one of Hobart busiest roundabout. The charm of our hotel is unique and one of a kind experience. The heritage building dates over 100 years old and like Hobart and its history, guests... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had high expectations of a Rydges hotel. Oh boy, was I disappointed. Walking into our room was like time travelling back to 1970. The room looked and smelled like an old lady had died in there, and was possibly still there, shoved into the murphy bed, along with several dead moths and bugs, in the lounge area. The curtains... More 

Helpful?
Thank UltraV73
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear UltraV73, Thank you again for taking the time to give your opinion about your stay. Choosing the right hotel for ones needs starts with doing the right research and this looks at many aspects that you expect and the needs, wants and the value you hope to receive. This property is a heritage property so it is older than... More 

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First visit on business in Tassie. The facility is a little older than expected but very comfortable. Great views back to Hobart and the surrounding hills. Price was what I expected. I'll be back next time I'm in town.

Helpful?
Thank Alistairw1
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Alistair, Thank you for your review of the hotel. We like to think you are spot on! great view, great value and a great experience. We thank you and look forward to your return. Kind Regards, Rydges Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights here with a group booking. The staff were extremely accomodating and went out of their way to be helpful at every step of the way. Its a gorgeous and quaint main building but the rooms are in desperate need of a makeover. My bed folded out of the wall, and although it was comfortable, the pillows... More 

Helpful?
Thank KazzyK345
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Kazzy, Wow great review on our customer service and thanks so much the team will appreciate reading it. The renovations are underway and your experience is only going to get better so we cant wait for you to come back and see us in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Hobart Rydges Team More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was given a room within the main building, older style but spacious - clean but was an older style room (it's in an older building). No lift in this area but the staff carried my suitcase to it's room. Located walking distance to the restaurants in North Hobart but probably a little far to walk into the city centre. Only... More 

Helpful?
Thank TraceyC4
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thanks you for the review of the hotel its always great to hear about the service and experience. Your coverage of our property location is spot on. But if your a super fit guest walking their and back is a breeze! For me only down hill please... North Hobart is the restaurant capital of the city so the... More 

Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A year ago reservations were made. Lower floor. Today, when we arrived we were put on the second floor . No elevators, I had knee surgery. First off, no mattress pad covers, dirty Windows, really disappointed .Read where they are remodeling.

Helpful?
Thank Marge B
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Marge, Given the news of your knee and the type of property we are and what I mean we are spread out and long, walking is defiantly required to access our areas. We only have 1 floor and no lift but its not very high however when you have a knee operation it must have seemed very painful. I... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We planned for a weekend away for 5 couples and 1 day days before our arrival my wife had a medical emergency and the service and compassion shown by Fiona and the team at Rydges was nothing short of outstanding.They went above and beyond the call of duty. Well done and thank you again for your outstanding customer service. Highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank desmondb318
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Desmond, thanks you for the review of your recent encounter with the staff. this message was passed on to them and the team appreciate helping and that our priority is YOU. We hope the situation of your emergency improves and we all look forward to seeing you soon. thanks you the team at Rydges Hobart. More 

east sussex
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly there was note from the manager on the table telling that all the rooms are going to be refurbished. It might as well add but hard luck - your staying in one that hasn't been and the decor is and style are from the 1970's. The kitchenette consisted of a microwave sat on top of the sink, presumably they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blatters2008
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We are sorry the experience you had with us was not up the expectations. The property is under renovation and will be completed in May 2017. The renovation is going to lift the rooms which are older and turn it into modern rooms that Rydges customers expect. We hope to welcome you back to see it. Please contact... More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A bit old and ready for a facelift but clean and comfortable. Staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms are a good size. Plenty of hot water for cold Tassie weather. Easy to get to, plenty around to see and do. Lots of restaurants within 15-20 min drive.

Helpful?
Thank Paco-T4
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Paco, Cool and warm response! thanks.... Large rooms at 42 square meters is great! and when they are all refurbished then even better. Staff great! we love hearing about that you are our number 1 customer. Hope to see you back at Rydges Hobart soon. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The large property has numerous buildings, which are very historically old. The rooms are dated too (think '70's), and advisedly due for modernisation. But the room was large, comfortable enough, and provides what you need. Free, really free wifi is a great bonus, I reckon better speed than mine at home in Perth. The microwave was a relic, likely prototype... More 

Helpful?
Thank martyolson
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks you for the review on our property and that you enjoyed your stay. We have some of the largest standards room at 42 meters square and offer the best value for money! starting on Monday the 7th November we start our staged room renovation and the rooms will look amazing so the dated look will in 6... More 

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (200)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.1 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
4.3 km away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#14 of 45 in Hobart
819 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart
#18 of 45 in Hobart
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#32 of 45 in Hobart
115 reviews
2.2 km away
Travelodge Hobart
Travelodge Hobart
#20 of 45 in Hobart
1,391 reviews
1.9 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 45 in Hobart
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: RM365 - RM716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Hotel Hobart staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rydges Hotel Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Kids will love the pull down bed in the superior rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Leesey_32, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to be the same.”
 of 5 bubbles GSKTB, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The suite was so big took a while for the room to get warmed up”
 of 5 bubbles skulasin, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if not too fit as stairs hard to manage especially with luggage”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineR393, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms without a hot water system”
 of 5 bubbles leoneb660, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay