We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Hotel Hobart

Expedia.comUS$94*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Hotel Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

693 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 684: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Hotel Hobart
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Friendly staff at this hotel. Big rooms. Excellent breakfasts. Only draw back was bar fridge had light strip which lit up when lights out. Put a big pillow against it , which worked fine. Great views over Hobart.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for the review, that fridge will be removed and replace with a new one. The joinery in this room is a bit short and will need to be adjusted to make way for the correct size for the fridge. Thank you again and cant wait to have you come back and stay with us. Regards Nicholas

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our newly renovated sumptuous room was surprisingly ample in size, perfectly presented with ample easy free parking and Wifi. Our meals in the restaurant and cooked breakfasts were a world class gastronomer's delight, our taste buds and bellies grateful appreciation to the Chef. Staff at this historic establishment are friendly and professional with a Tasmanian charm. At loose ends with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Charles, Thank yo for the great review of the hotel. We are not finished yet still have the public area to be completed and we just know everyone will enjoy the new surrounds. Glad you take back with you a memorable time and experience in Tasmania. Regards Rydges Team Hobart

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Rydges for 4 nights over the Easter weekend with my family of 3. We had arrived early on Sunday (16th Apr) at 10am and hoping that the room was ready but also mentally prepared that it would not be. True enough, was told that room would be readied earliest by noon. But the staffs Janis and Jenna...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gim hwee k
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Gim, thank you for the praise and comments for Janis and Jenna this is outstanding and your coming will be posted on the staff board. They both will be very pleased and so am I. I know we have had some negative comments and our old rooms are almost gone 7 to go! we then need to update our...

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and i stayed at Ridges and were pleasantly surprised. From the moment we checked in we felt welcome. The wonderful Young lady was all smiles and very welcoming, very easy check in. There is also plenty of room to park your car. At no charge. Our room was double story and had recently been refurbished. They are still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you for your review and very in depth, just a small point to raise to our customer we dont have Netflix. I wish we did but then again I would never get any work done and neither would the housekeeper!!! We just completed another 12 rooms and we have 21 rooms to go, we are pleased with...

Sydney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Restaurant was closed with no warning, the room was very tired and a booking error meant while the unwanted twin beds were new, our double bed was a 1970's fold-out complete with sagging mattress in a built-in timber wall unit. We had to request clean pillows and the room had been used as the collection point for dirty sheets from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisaT88
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review and yes you were staying in one of our soon to be renovated rooms. Mid june everything should be good to go! We had signs up about anzac day closure in the restaurant I am sorry you did not see them. Again I apologize and look forward to hearing from you when you...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This 100 year old property is beautiful and well maintained. The hotel is undergoing a major renovation, that is expected to be completed by May 2017. The rooms are large and spacious and has most modern amenities. The hotel is well located and within a short drive to around 40 restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AUSOMAN
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about he hotel. What a perfect description. We often guest comment about the location. It pretty well located not to close but not to far either. But again if you expect to walk out to the water front then this hotel in not situated, please do research on the location this always help....

Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Large comfortable room..more of a suite really. Modern bathroom and kitchen. Friendly reception staff. Tasty breakfast was included. Only negative is very creaky flooring and noise carries..but it is an old building. Good free parking is a bonus. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Lucy B, Thanks for the review. Our Antique rooms are large and spacious. all new amenities and good review about the staff we are working hard to get the hotel from old to new again. We have some public space upgrade coming and we look forward to sharing this with everyone. Thanks again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I stayed at the Rydges recently and was upgraded to a suite. Spacious bedroom,lounge room and dining room. Foxtel included and all for under $150. Lovely feel to the refurbished building. 5 minutes to the CBD and a walk to busy North Hobart. Will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buddy977
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Guest thanks you for your review. Yes some rooms are new still have 23 to go and we are almost their. After that we take on the public space and what a difference this will make at the hotel. I and many of the guest who comment will appreciate it. I will again confirm to all customer we have...

Sydney
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Apparently It came as quite a shock that Liz had cancer and Freds marriage fell apart after 25 years. Seems his wife left him for their gardener but given I have no idea who any of these people are, I really could not care less. This was the conversation that I was privy to at 2am loud and clear through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airlinesimulation
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Why does everyone quote faulty towers when it comes to hotel experiences.! The show was amazing, lots of laughs and in some way a reflection on true life because all business not mater a hotel or what ever, things do go wrong in a strange kind of way, sort of in this case. I thought about writing a long winded...

Penguin, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My husband and I have just returned home from a two night stay at Rydges. After booking we were a little concerned when we read some recent reviews which didn't exactly inspire confidence. However, we need not have worried. We stayed in a recently refurbished room, overlooking the swimming pool. The rooms were huge, with the bedroom upstairs. Everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyBarbara55
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Lady Barb, Thank you for your comments and feedback during your stay. We have a few more painting going up which should add some more color to our rooms, so this is not far away. Our review have had some unusual responses I do admit but we are working hard and honestly to turn things around. Our new Manor...

246 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (241)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.8 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
1,198 reviews
4.3 km away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
903 reviews
2.1 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 47 in Hobart
312 reviews
2.1 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#32 of 47 in Hobart
123 reviews
2.1 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 47 in Hobart
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: RM355 - RM753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Hotel Hobart staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rydges Hotel Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the Grand Chancellor are the best.”
  • Wood paneling and TV
  • Bathroom Floor water overflow
  • Wood paneling
  • Modern decor
  • Worn out furniture
  • Heating and window vent
airlinesimulation, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the pool are quiet with nearby parking.”
LadyBarbara55, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Management does act if you have any noise issues.”
Joseph_Trimboli, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quiet and inviting”
johnfD5972LM, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room (they are gradually being done).”
X1067PUsandrat, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$94* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$111
Hotwire.comUS$94
PricelineUS$94
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates