We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Hotel Hobart

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Hotel Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Hotel Hobart
See the most recent reviews
Showing 633: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2015

A great place to stay, just a short walk from Elizabeth Street with all the restaurants and cafes you could wish for. The staff was nice and friendly, and the room was clean and neat with the most amazing King size bed I've ever slept in. Sure, the room (and I assume roomS) are a little out of date, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pontus A
Thirroul, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We stayed here over the weekend in a huge room with views looking down to the water. The bed was large and very comfortable. We had our own living room, kitchen big bathroom with a bath which was really nice. We had a drink in the bar in a very comfortable environment. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Hello Heather L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding you most recent stay at Rydges Hobart. It is lovely to read your comments. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the staff. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming back in near future. Regards Michael and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Big and spacious room with old and tired looks all over. Outside swimming pool was in renovation. Staffs look and sound disinterested. Good points: close to the CBD, plenty of parking, nice open area and garden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adi C
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Hello adiic, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding you most recent stay at Rydges Hobart. Rydges have identified that the rooms are beginning to show their age. Due to this we have been working tirelessly to finalise a refurbishment to the hotel rooms. Thank you for your comments Regards Michael and Jennifer Hotel Managers

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Great location, rooms decor a little dated. Was an easy walk away from a few pubs and also the Botanical Gardens - a must visit. Too far to walk down to the waterfront but a very short cab ride. Spacious and safe environment to stay at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 496kimmo
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the fabulous nearby attractions that North Hobart has to offer, we are very lucky to be in such a great location. We hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Not a bad hotel a little distant away from everything. The room was old but clean and ok. A strange set up with the bathroom separating the lounge and the bedroom and the heater was in the lounge room The disappointing aspect was breakfast. Lack of attention to detail is the phrase that comes to mind. Very average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Good afternoon Michael, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Previous reviews have also noted that the bedroom is lacking a heater and Rydges will be rectifying this issue with our scheduled refurbishment. We would like to apologise for your disappointment with breakfast. We do hope we can welcome...

Whistler, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2015

a very enjoyable first and last day in Rydges Hobart, centrally located only a couple km's away from north hobart restaurant strip and also the CBD. a very old heritage listed building gives the hotel a unique feel that you will be hard pressed to find anywhere else in australia. The rooms are somewhat dated, with some furnishing deliberately placed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarrenHalls
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Hi Darren! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stays with us at Rydges Hobart. The accommodation rooms are very spacious and allow for a very comfortable stay! Our refurbishment is due to start later next year and we hope we can welcome you to Rydges Hobart again soon. Thanks again for your support! Kind...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Adjacent to the North Hobart football ground, this 100 year old hotel boasts charm and warmth. Catering for the mid-range market this hotel has a range of rooms, many of historical quality and is only a $10 cab ride to the CBD.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caplink
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Good afternoon! Thank you very much for your great review. Thank you for appreciating our beautiful old building, it definitely has a lot of charm and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Hoping to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart again soon. Kind Regards, Michael and Jennifer Hotel Managers

Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

Visited with my mum for her 71st birthday. Our room es a lot more spacious than we thought it would be and we enjoyed having the separate kitchen area. Lovely hot shower but on arrival bathroom had not been fully cleaned and smelled of cigarette smoke. But overall very happy with our stay. Staff friendly and we ate two meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki S
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Hi Vikki! Thank you very much for your feedback! We are so glad to hear you and your mum enjoyed your stay for your Mother's birthday! We also do apologise for the room smelling of cigarette smoke. When coming back to Rydges Hobart in the future, if you do have an issues at all, please let us know so we...

Ashfield
Reviewed 25 October 2015

This hotel is a heritage building (formally occupied by deaf dumb and blind children). It has great character and wonderful views of the city from the restaurant. There is plenty of parking and rooms are large. Service was great. Being a member of the Rydges club (free membership) meant we also had a free drink included during our stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh K
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Hello Rajesh K Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Rydges Hobart. The main Manor build is steeped in history and if the walls could talk there would be some interesting stories to be told about the past history of the property. There is a lovely little book in the bar showing some historical...

Greater Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2015

This hotel is situated on a hill opposite the North Hobart Footy ground and offers great views of the city. The rooms are spacious well designed, the restaurant is great and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The hotel offers old world charm with original features and meets the needs of the modern day with excellent wifi and facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel N
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Hello Mel N Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Rydges Hobart. we are delighted to read that you found the staff pleasant and helpful during your stay. We thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Regards Michael and Jennifer Hotel Managers

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.1 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
4.3 km away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 45 in Hobart
821 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart
#19 of 45 in Hobart
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#32 of 45 in Hobart
115 reviews
1.9 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 45 in Hobart
1,132 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: RM356 - RM676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Hotel Hobart staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rydges Hotel Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Kids will love the pull down bed in the superior rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Leesey_32, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to be the same.”
 of 5 bubbles GSKTB, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The suite was so big took a while for the room to get warmed up”
 of 5 bubbles skulasin, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if not too fit as stairs hard to manage especially with luggage”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineR393, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms without a hot water system”
 of 5 bubbles leoneb660, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay