We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hobart
See the most recent reviews
Showing 641: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Stayed for 3 nights while touring with the family. Paid over $200 a night plus $10 per night for parking. The deatils on the booking were that the room had 60+ squares of room,i suggest someone measure it because it would have not even been half of that. Nice coffee cup stain on the doona cover.Then on the 3rd day,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chris C
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Hi, Chris C, Thank you for your honest feedback. I am very sorry you encountered those problems. Since taking over this hotel last year Best Western has made huge improvements to the quality of the facilities offered but we do know that the enhancements are not finished yet. We are planning to put some pot plants on the flat roof...

Launceston Tas
Reviewed 20 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, rooms are clean and tidy. Extremely noisy from traffic outside. Bed very comfy. Tiny rooms. Car parking should be free not $10 a night! Okay for the 125 a night I paid. Security hold amount was beyond stupid, price of the room plus 50!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 21,101,984
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear 21101984, Thank you for those comments. As with most hotels there is a small pre-authorisation to cover any extras but this is always processed/cancelled at check out if there is nothing to pay. I hope we will see you again sometime. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of August 2014 for two nights before going to the footy. The room was modern, comfortable and clean. The staff were always smiling and happy to be there for you. We had a couple of beers and pizza from the gorgeous pizza oven downstairs at Embers. A few creative pizza choices, we tried three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danabanana74
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear danabanana74, Glad to hear we will be seeing you again and that you are one of the many guests who like our refurbished restaurant and those yummy pizzas. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2014

I have stayed at the Best Western before for work so I had high expectations of the place again based on my previous stays. The rooms have been nicely renovated with update furniture which was nice to see. The new rooms have a really nice feel to them and the pillows and bed are both super comfortable. I chose an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Emily G, Thank you for the feedback. I am glad you liked our refurbished amenities. I will be checking out your comments about the executive upgrades as I want to make sure we get it right each and every time. I hope we’ll see you again next time you are in Hobart. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Burnie, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Stayed here for two night on business what I found was the hotel was super clean, nice rooms and comfy beds, real close to the the city centre for shopping and restaurants. Staff very friendly and helpful and the gym was just what I was looking for while away. The restaurant was reasonably priced with good sized meals that were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Mel W, It is very good to hear we provided you with a good base for your work trip; come back soon. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We found this Hotel to be very convenient with location. Room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful.The only thing I can complain about was that when I ordered the Vegetable Tart for dinner their was hardly any vegetables in the tart it was mostly potato, but apart from that everything else was good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Nancy F, Thank you for those kind words. Our housekeeping team does a great job and I am glad this is being recognised by our guests. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We stayed at BEST WESTERN Hobart for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute whilst at the hotel. We had breakfast included in our price and were greeted with a great buffet breakfast every morning. Obviously management are improving the property from what it was as confirmed speaking to staff. The restaurant and bar areas are in excellent condition due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandy0970
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Sandy0970, Thank you for the glowing review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Noosaville, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a family room. Most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on at a motel!! Highly recommend! Breakfast & dinner Excellent. Staff friendly & helpful. Also was able to check in early at 11am.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJO24
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear NJO24, Thank you for the compliments; we always try to allow guests a complimentary early check in if we can and I am pleased we were able to do this for you. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Booked here for an overnight stay as had stayed here many years before and like it. This time was the same. The front desk are professional and friendly. The rooms are clean and fresh.The only issue i had this time was being in a room close to the street corner and on first level i heard the pedestrian lights every...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Julie H, I am glad we were able to welcome you back and that you had a nice meal in our refurbished restaurant. Come back soon. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Lavington, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We spent one night at the Best Western Hobart and we were very impressed by the location, cleanliness and value for money. We had booked a standard room but upon arriving we were offered an upgrade to an executive room to include breakfast, car parking and 2 complimentary drinks from the bar for just $45 which we considered to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Alan B, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our popular upgrade package, which we think is great value. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.9 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 km away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#11 of 46 in Hobart
1,064 reviews
0.4 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: RM466 - RM1,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Du Quoin, Illinois
GRANDE CACHE
over a year ago
6 months ago
Hastings, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles eleonordonnelly, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
  • Carpet repair
  • Rotting door
 of 5 bubbles kenmN9734YI, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the south west end (Barrack St) for quieter rooms, as Harrington St (north east) has much more traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles kepsimax, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look for something that has had an upgrade done”
 of 5 bubbles 81darryla, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cracked basin should be fixed”
 of 5 bubbles barbarahO9501IY, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5