We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Had a fabulous stay at gattonside. Enjoyed the amazing breakfasts very much, and our host Chrissie Richardson provided us with some excellent suggestions for our trip to to Derwent Valley. The location allowed for lots of walking to restaurants, into the city itself, sightseeing wonderful old buildings. The room was beautifully appointed, bathroom large and we had internet connection when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneCrescent
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I expect attention to detail when paying for a 'premium' stay. The room was small and rather down at heel. Wifi so slow as to be useless, a fact acknowledged when complained about, the part-time manager didn't have the correct dates for our stay, dying flowers in the bathroom,stains on the carpet,odd broken hooks(?) on the back of the door,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kylie W
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review

Dear Kylie, Thank you for your review of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation and for taking the time to share your impressions with the TripAdvisor community. I was terribly disappointed and sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and you felt it was poor value for money. Thank you for bringing to my attention the housekeeping issues with...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

Don't bother trying to get in before 2pm, this is a self-service 'boutique' B&B. The 'manager' sits in a little office behind the residence, so you'll have to rely upon other guests to show you around when you arrive. The comment "Hey, are you trying to take my job?" was beyond ironic. The room we're paying $250+ per night for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter D
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation with the online TripAdvisor community. I was terribly sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. The Battery Point area is currently undergoing the installation and roll out of the NBN. Due to this, there has been some interruption...

Reviewed 20 January 2015

We stayed at this B&B for three nights. Our room was exactly as pictured but somehow was actually even better than the pictures. It was clean, spacious, and comfortable. There was a fresh bouquet of roses that smelled amazing to welcome our arrival. Our bathroom was very large, and we were both able to soak in the tub while watching...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CXP1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2015

From the moment you contact the Redawning Group, which manages Gattonside, your experience is made easy. Redawning understands that once basic contact details have been provided and payment made it knows enough. Hence you can arrive at Gattonside when convenient, enter the assigned code to the external door and find your room. Too easy!! Our room felt exceptional; bright, beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David2060
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

Everything about this wonderful property made us think how wonderful it must have been before "brand" hotel chains! Staff were welcoming and could not have done more, location was ideal and the price was surprising and great value. The room was beautiful and maintained in exactly the way you would imagine it would have been 100 years ago (with all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon K
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2014

We cannot say enough about this gorgeous heritage B&B and its staff! We arrived at night but found our rooms ready, handsomely furnished and cosy. Unfortunately 2 of us were suffering illness, but next morning Christine, our hostess, not only knew of a nearby doctor, but actually called to get us an appointment first thing and then took us there!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WIvebeenthere
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2014

Hi all, this is my first ever review on Trip Advisor . Gattonside offered me a fantastic stay. Well positioned, one can walk to the city or Salamanca in few minutes, ample parking, the staff was delightful, helpful and the breakfasts delicious. Help and information is at hand from the front desk and they even called me to send me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dsarvia
australia
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Spent two night here (20th and 21st November 2014) What a treasure ! We stayed in room 6 at the front , talk about a huge room - lush !! It was so handy to Salamanca , everything was in walking distance. Breakfast was again tops , plenty to eat - oh the nut bread is a winner . Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kolbach
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, great old world charm with lots of atmosphere. Staff are going out of their way to assist. Lovely lounge, home from home, with complimentary port, coffee, tea etc. all in walking distance to Salamanca. Thanks to Gattonside and especially Vanessa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronnie1084

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 km away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#17 of 46 in Hobart
265 reviews
0.7 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.2 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
464 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.1 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments Property. Gattonside (circa 1885) is a magnificent Victorian Mansion, designed by Henry Hunter and is National Trust & Heritage listed. It opened as a B & B back in January 1999 and is the perfect choice to stay for both leisure & business travellers. Gattonside is nestled within an acre of gardens and is a short stroll to historic Battery Point, Salamanca Place and the CBD. It is an ideal place to base yourself while exploring the surrounding areas- the Huon, Derwent Valley and Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Address: 51 - 53 Sandy Bay Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: RM566 - RM900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gattonside Heritage Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Gattonside Heritage Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gattonside Heritage Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 4 is delightful - lovely view; Rm 5 is large and spacious -faces front garden and Sandy Bay rd, which is a busy street.”
 of 5 bubbles GioP699, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the ground floor suite was comfortable and surprisingly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 690Jean, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 4 is a spa on the corner of the house and gets the sun in the afternoon”
  • room 4 spa bedroom
 of 5 bubbles Miffcolby, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is noisy but does have a king size bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Maria11K, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 404 was large and quiet. The windows overlook the oak tree in the front garden. The bathroom is very large, with a jetted tub.”
 of 5 bubbles 76gisellek, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5