We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Show Prices
#19 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,232: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

This was total luxe. The restaurent was at top standerds. We had the degustion 7 course. Which hit the mark on taste , presentation and originality. We made full use of the excecutive lounge with great canapes and view of the yarra. Our room was very comfortable and the staff are highly trained with great attention to detail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrwhiley
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor. My team and I greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback and we hope to have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Craig Bonnor General Manager

Vilvoorde, Belgium
Reviewed 15 June 2015

My first visit to Melbourne and I wasn't really sure where to stay. Somebody recommended this hotel and I must say it's one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. Very friendly staff, good location, nice area,... Upon arrival we got a free upgrade and the view from the room was wonderful. Very comfortable beds, spacial room and bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. Wonderful to read that you were pleased with your choice of accommodation at our hotel during your visit to Melbourne! The team and I appreciate your review and we all hope to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Craig Bonnor General Manager

sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Stayed for business and the staff were fantastic. It is a nice feeling to feel at home when you are away working. The food was good and the location perfect for where my workplace is situated which is in Victoria Harbour.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank George T
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. As part of the Hilton brand, we are passionate about delivering exceptional guest experiences and I am delighted to learn that you were very happy with our service. I am also very pleased to hear that you felt at home during you stay while you...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2015

I stayed at Hilton South Wharf last week and found the hotel of superior standards. We were lucky enough to be offered an upgrade to a king room with city views. It was amasing. The bed was so comfortable that I recommended we upgrade the beds in the hotel that I currently work at to a similar quality. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. Please don't hesitate to contact our hotel directly for us to look into the reason behind the lack of HHonors points accrual from your recent stay. Thank you again for your...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2015

I've stayed here quite a few times in the past because it is handy to my work as well as being close to the city. river and boardwalk. The hotel itself is very well appointed and top quality. The service is good. The rooms are very well equiped. There are two different views from the rooms. One is a city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George G
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again very soon. Sincerely, Craig Bonnor General Manager

Fortaleza, Brazil
Reviewed 13 June 2015

No matter what's your plan in Melbourne, this Hilton is a great choice! Before my arrival, I wrote an e-mail to the hotel concierge asking a few suggestions of restaurants for a special occasion and, for my surprise, Lindsay (guest services) and Manuell (concierge) both answered me a very kind e-mail, far away from those formal pre-formatted e-mails, which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucas G
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your detailed review following your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. The Hilton brand continually strives to personalise our guests' experiences in whatever way we can and I'm delighted to learn that your experience was no different. We sincerely regret any inconvenience or disappointment caused as a result of the noise in the guestroom hallway during...

melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Upselling at check-in is crass at the least (as in: "if you give me an extra $35 dollars right now I can give you a much nicer room" For $380 I kind of expected a nice room! As is being told to wait an extra half hour to check in because "your room is still dirty"-yuk, there's gotta be a...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. I deeply regret the obvious frustration caused on this occasion and were very sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your check-in and breakfast experience. Please be assured I have shared your important comments with the internal stakeholders and we greatly appreciate your views, which...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2015

We stayed here on the 7/6/2015 first time in a Hilton hotel, the staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. The room was very nice, it had a very comfortable and soft bed. The room had the best blind I have ever seen it totally blocked out the light. We had breakfast very nice buffet, only thing I found to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rauchfuss8
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. We truly appreciate your feedback about your experience and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Craig Bonnor General Manager

Lake Placid, Florida
Reviewed 11 June 2015

We stayed there for 5 days. The hotel was clean and is excellent condition. We were on the executive floor. The room was very clean and spacious. The bath was huge and very comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and very helpful. My wife got very ill while we were staying there and the were instrumental in getting her help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gz3034
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to learn of your pleasant experience at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. I greatly appreciate your comments and am delighted to know that our staff were of great assistance to you, especially during your wife's illness. Our best wishes for a speedy recovery. Thank you...

Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

I practically live in hotels all around the world and the Hilton South Wharf is right up there with the best. The rooms are great with amazing views, the beds are the most comfortable I have slept and the staff are outstanding..... Nothing is a problem. Loved it here and highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meljturner
Craig B, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our hotel. Wonderful to learn that your experience was nothing short of outstanding and the team and I appreciate your comments. We all hope to have the pleasure of your return in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Craig Bonnor General Manager

1,165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (996)
Viewed
View from Room (175)
Viewed
Room/Suite (230)
Viewed
Bathroom (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (351)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (116)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
King Hilton Guestroom (42)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4,966 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
3,498 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
3,645 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
2,274 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: RM656 - RM2,367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Melbourne South Wharf staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Melbourne South Wharf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two bedroom rooms are great for family”
 of 5 bubbles apwoo, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side overlook the Yarra and have a great view of the helicopters taking off from the floating platforms”
  • View from suite 1402
 of 5 bubbles billinghamn, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“City view a must!”
 of 5 bubbles klilley007, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book a room on the highest floor possible”
 of 5 bubbles wendysteward, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“East side rooms, e.g. 1708, offer great Skyline views”
  • Skyline view from 1708
  • NYE fireworks from 1708
  • Yarra view from 1708
 of 5 bubbles npgf, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay