We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crossley Hotel

CancelonUS$71*
View Deal
#37 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$138*
US$71*
Great Deal
US$74*
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crossley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,553: English reviews
Start your review of The Crossley Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

First time to Melbourne. Found our weekend stay pleasant. Good location close to restaurants, City Centre. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful with information on directions and places to see. Breakfast was a little disappointing. A cooked breakfast would have been nice. Would not hesitate to return and stay again at The Crossley Hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U1652WEvincentd
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room 508 walking in was fantastic and we felt we made a great choice in staying in the crossley hotel ! Walked around the queen vic market during the day . We to a lovely Italian restaurant up the road . As soon as we got onto the bed , we were seriously thinking of driving home ! The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A1122UKandrewh
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

our stay was in a newly refurbished corporate room which was excellent. valet parking worked for me and the breakfast choice was extensive and the staff were very attentive the hotels general appearance was very neat and tidy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauries591
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lauries591, Thank you for sharing you 5/5 star experience with us. We are pleased you liked our newly refurbished Corporate room. Thank you for your kind compliments on our service and team's attentiveness, we will pass on your praise. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sherri Front Office Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The bed for the children was hard to sleep We were 4 and the towel and every thing (chair)... are for 3 than we ask one more chair and towel but soap... are enough But all the stay and staff are very good Good idea apple The breakfast si very good a lot of choice to eat and drink

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiamA8340XR
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear katiamA8340XR, Thanks for the great review. It's our pleasure to be able to serve you and create a memorable stay experience. Apologies as we missed providing the necessary amenities for the 4th person. I am glad our staff was able to assist whenever possible and that you enjoyed breakfast with us. We hope to see you again in the...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived here from Sydney where we had spent 4 days in a noisy hotel, internal noise from the lifts and external from building and road works! We were greeted by a lovely young lady who upgraded us which was really appreciated! The room was lovely, breakfast amazing and despite being in China Town was peaceful! Would like to praise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra S, Thank you for your wonderful 5/5 star review. Reading about your stay has made my day. I was absolutely elated to read that you had a fabulous time with us and fully enjoyed our hospitality. It is great knowing that the team was able to make your stay a truly memorable experience to remember. You kind comments...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is the best. Can walk to everywhere in city. Staff are wonderful. Help us a lot. Even give us early check in which we appreciate a lot. If i can stay in mel again, this is my first and only choice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank haoyuc83
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear haoyuc83, Thank you for your wonderful 5/5 star review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Crossley Hotel. Our central location in downtown Melbourne provides easy access to major sights and attractions in our vicinity. Thank you very much for the positive comments. All of us at the Crossley are extremely happy we made your...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived at 730 pm. Reception could not find my booking EFTPOS machine wouldn't accept Amex card. Not a great start. However lady on reception offered late checkout which was appreciated. Rooms are small and dated. Sound proofing is good, little or no road noise. Aircon doesn't work all that well making room stuffy. Breakfast is good value with reasonable Continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bokke1711
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bokke1711, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback which gives us the opportunity to further improve our facilities and service standards. While I am pleased you found our breakfast reasonable and good choice, I regret that we fell short of your expectations in the areas of reservation and maintenance of the room. I was surprised to read that you...

Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at this darling little boutique hotel in Melbourne. Rooms are not big but they're clean! Staff was great! But location in theater district was the best thing about this hotel and the room rate was reasonable! Great find!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank californiasuzy
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear californiasuzy, Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a great stay and compliments on the hotel location, cleanliness of the room and the team’s service. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and look forward to your return visit very soon. Kind regards, Sherri Front Office...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is in a good location but with no parking on site and no alternative given at time of booking and then inexperienced drivers driving the car to park - not impressed. However the value of breakfast was very good

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank loisc636
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear loisc636, Thank you for sharing your comments as your valuable feedback is essential in our continuous efforts to improve our service standards. We believe in creating positive and memorable hotel experiences for all our guests and are very sorry to hear of your less-than-satisfactory experience. We offer car parking valet service to all our guest and it was disappointing...

Twin Waters, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and spacious rooms with everything we required. The staff were very friendly and the rooms serviced promptly. I was confused by the air-con and heating but I am in any location even at home. Therefore it is not a criticism. I just think maybe some instructions should be beside the knobs.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F5676NYpatriciab
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear F5676NYpatriciab, Thank you for sharing a 5/5 star review on Tripadvisor! I hope you had a lovely Mother's Day weekend in Melbourne. While we are glad that you had an overall positive experience, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the unclear instructions to operate the air-con and heating in the room. We have shared your comments...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
1,044 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#80 of 159 in Melbourne
856 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
2,133 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Price Range: RM355 - RM956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crossley Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Gold Coast, Australia
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia
3 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Crossley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good budget accommodation in Chinatown/thearter district”
Bokke1711, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are a smoker ask for a third floor room which has a smoking deck”
Butch1969, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments with a balcony. Do it ;-)”
Brucie1988, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 415. It was very quiet.”
VallaBeachCarol, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Request room with renovated bathroom, and on a higher floor to avoid street noise.”
724cassandraw, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$71* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$74
Booking.comUS$76
AMOMAUS$138
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates