We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,051 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Melbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,011: English reviews
Narre Warren, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed Saturday night the staff are very friendly and helpful great room and even greater location within a 3min walk of Her Majesty' theatre and China town easy parking fantastic night thanks we hated the location to visit Melbourne Zoo only 10 minutes by taxi ant go a show finished of with supper in china town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us at Rydges Melbourne! It sounds like you had an eventful few days visiting some of Melbourne's hot spots. We look forward to accommodating you again soon on your next Melbourne adventure. Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rrooms Division Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Seemed like an okay hotel at the start but then went down. I stayed in 1 bedroom apartment. Wouldnt really call this an apartment as there is a short wall between living room and bedroom with no door.. soo not much privacy. The kitchen facilities were okay a bit disappointed they didnt even provide any washing detergent or dishwasher tablets......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingkat2017
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katia, Thank you for your honest feedback of your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy our one bedroom apartment room type as this is usually one of our most popular. I have taken note of your comments regarding the room to ensure we are providing the best presented rooms possible. Please note...

Melbourne
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

There were it enough staff on duty at the busiest time on a Saturday morning. Dirty plates were piling up on tables where guests had finished their breakfast. We were shown to a table and the staff member cleared the dirty plates, but it was not wiped down even when we requested it. Clean cutlery was not brought either. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rangus2
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rangus2, Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. We are aware of the poor service issues thatoccure dover the past weekend and sincerely apologise this affected your experience with us. I can assure you these issues have been addressed and resolved thanks to the feedback we have received. We you get to enjoy a more...

orange
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

Location is very good for eating and shopping . The prices are good . We got breakfast with room rates ,that was great . Though breakfast was average but can't complain because it was a bonus .Being a member of reward programme , i was allowed late check out too . Only thing was that the rooms at our floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nrsaran
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nrsaran, Thank you kindly for your lovely review of your stay with us at Rydges Melbourne. Appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms and glad you still found value in our offering when combined with our service, location and food and beverage options. Hope to welcome you back again soon, Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We arrived for a 4 day stay on the Wednesday before New Years Day. We were greeted by a male receptionist, who passed on to a younger member. She gave us our room and added a free drink to our priority guest card (of which we are a member of). On entering our room we had been given the lowest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris w
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your summer stay with us. I sincerely apologise about the poor effort made by the receptionist you have described, I have located the individual and we will be following up with her directly. I'm glad we got you into a higher room eventually and you could...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Up until mid 2015, I have stayed at the Rydges on Exhibition St too many to remember over the past 5 years. I used to just book it as it was the only place I knew and it is in a very good location to work and restaurants. My biggest gripe with this place is the service. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony M
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your past stays with Rydges Melbourne. It's very shocking and dissapointing to hear you felt our front desk and food and beverage teams lack culture as this is one of the most important values our team prides themselves on. We always get positive comments about...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We booked this hotel through a Qantas deal so it was a slightly reduced rate. The location of the hotel is great, not far from anything in the city and close to trams. The twin room we had was smallish but ok as we weren't in the hotel very much. The pool on the roof looks inviting. There did seem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guesty2009
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guesty2009, Thank you kindly for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Rydges Melbourne. I'm sorry there were some things missed in your room upon check in If you could kindly email me direct with the details of your reservation I would be most grateful as we can follow up accordingly. To get some good rates on...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Although this hotel is getting a little tired and in need of some TLC I still love staying here. We stay here with out 2 daughters in a 2 bedroom suite. There is plenty of room for all of us to have our own space. The thing I love most about this hotel it the Dream Bed - OMG, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peta0707
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peta, Thank you kindly for your positive review of our hotel Rydges Melbourne! YES! the Rydegs Dream beds are amazing! I have one at home as you can purchase them through the Rydges website also if you're interested: http://www.rydges.com/dreambeds/ . The rooftop pool is a great spot and we are looking to make it even more fun with some...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2016

This hotel is in need of a refurbishment. The rooms, particularly the bathroom are compact. The air conditioner was fairly average. The TV wasn't that great. Tried to use one of the complementary DVD players but no one could get it to work, one person even let himself into our room with a key to sort it out while we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cynthia k
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologise your stay was impacted by the size and condition of the rooms. We understand our hotel is older than most and can assure you we are working through the 363 rooms to refresh and maintain the rooms. Our housekeeping team always make sure the rooms...

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

I booked a queen spa suite for my boyfriend and I for our anniversary. I looked around quite a bit online, wanting to find a room with a spa and also to pick a hotel that would have a little bit of luxury for our one night mini break. I have to say I was a bit disappointed with Rydges......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlie S
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie, Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent overnight stay with us at Rydges Melbourne. I'm very sorry to hear your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been. Your comment about those extra special luxury touches are well noted, and we are currently working on ways to improve the look and feel of our...

539 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (119)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (45)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (39)
Viewed
Queen Spa Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 158 in Melbourne
1,490 reviews
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#93 of 158 in Melbourne
2,046 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
1,806 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
827 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Price Range: RM523 - RM1,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The '2 bedroom' corner suites are pretty nice so are the rooms right up in the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles stanr600, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want to avoid city noise, ask for a room higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles Mordeegirl, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High up rooms have great views and appear quieter”
  • View from my room on 20th floor looking over the city to the west
 of 5 bubbles susanlJ301VU, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Accessable quiet”
 of 5 bubbles cosbycount1, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Either ask for a room either 04 or 09”
  • Lounge and dinning area
 of 5 bubbles 91glennb, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5