We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Show Prices
#62 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mantra Southbank Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,273: English reviews
Warrnambool
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location with terrific view, apartment with balcony extremely spacious for our family with everything one could want plus staff were excellent. We could leave our luggage ther after booking out and return later to collect. Also good value for a city stay highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S6488MYsandrab
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good Evening Sandra, Thanks so much for the great review. It's always pleasing to hear the staff were on point during your stay and able to offer the service that we have become known for at Mantra Southbank. Great to hear you had the added bonus of the view, definitely adds that touch of glam to the whole experience. Look...

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The whole experience with Mantra from the time of booking confirmation was pretty much a nightmare. The lady had me in tears on the phone - was transferred to corporate - this lady was much nicer and did apologise. On arrival the TV didn't work - this was rectified. The rooms where poorly cleaned I did not report this until...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank meganbH6586TO
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good Morning Megan, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately not the seamless experience a holiday should be. I am sorry for what happened on the phone, you can be assured I will be following up with our Head Office reservations department in regards to this situation. I do implore all guests to report anything they...

Beaufort, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were extremely happy with our stay . Very close to everything. We would highly recommend your hotel to our family and friends. Our stay overall was very special and very comfortable. I was a little disappointed 😔 as we were suppose to get complementary brekky with our stay. Which we did not receive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 292carmelc
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good Morning Carmel, Thanks for the great review and offer to recommend us to your friends & family. I am sorry to hear you didn't receive the complimentary breakfast and will look further into the specific details on your booking. Please feel free to contact me directly at property prior to your next stay so I can champion the breakfast...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family checked in for 2 Adults and 4 kids. 6 people all together. Everthing in the room we stayed in were set for 4 people. Photos on the internet showed the rooms were spacious. That was a lie. Rooms were not cleaned properly. The amount we had paid for and then the extra for parking, ridiculous. I honestly regret...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suezana434
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good Morning Suezana, Thank you for leaving a review, I am disappointed to hear the room fell below your expectation. I have followed up on processes to make sure that extra person bookings are followed up on and toweling/amenities provided per person. I do hope we swiftly arrived with anything extra that was needed. Our gallery rooms are the most...

Maryborough, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent $408 on our room , which we only do once a year, but we pick a nice hotel to spoil ourselves, the location was great and the view from our room was great , but the rooms do need a update due to hole in the bedroom wall and cracked tiles throughout. limited room service hours.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janettem239
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good Morning Janette, Thanks for taking some time to leave a review. Brilliant to hear you liked the accommodation and got to enjoy some of the spectacular views on offer. You will be pleased to know we are about to embark on a refurbishment project of all rooms across the hotel. This will provide a great uplift to the presentation...

Ulladulla, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Found Mantra Southbank excellent in every way. Would recommend Mantra Southbank to anyone. Location excellent, staff polite, friendly and extremely helpful, the room exactly how the website describe it and excellent value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonney474
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Charging for parking & not being told was quite disappointing plus charging $20 a head for 8 & 9 year old for breakfast is way too much. When you are paying $400 per night you would think parking would be included.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertpU8183IU
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful apartment, very spacious, walking distance to Southbank and Arts centre, trams etc. We had a conference at Hisence arena and so was a 20 min walk or $7 Uber ride. Would highly recommend Mantra Southbank!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanesr2017
Bright, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location in Southbank - walking distance to great restaurants, Casino, Aquarium etc. Lovely staff, and excellent facilities - the pool was beautiful. Excellent breakfast, and the coffee was great -

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenji1
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome place to stop and enjoy all of Melbourne - everything is at your doorstop - Food Fashion Shops... Oh soooo many fantastic shops Love Melbourne's atmosphere everything is happening here & the Manta is the perfect spot to stay when in Melbourne.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S3XY1

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
772 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 158 in Melbourne
410 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#97 of 158 in Melbourne
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
1,045 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne is also within walking distance of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG and Hisense Arena to the east; and Crown Casino and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre to the west. Whether arriving by public transport or car the hotel is easily accessible! Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city and nearby Melbourne Botanical Gardens. All rooms feature a lounge and dining area, Foxtel and digital channels including Fox Footy, fully-equipped kitchen with full-size cook top, oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board, wireless internet access (charges apply), ISD/STD direct dial phones, air-conditioning, sound system with CD player, some rooms with an ipod dock, pay movies, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel offers excellent facilities for both leisure and corporate guests and is ideal for families. Mantra Southbank Melbourne facilities include a 15 metre indoor heated pool and spa, well appointed gym, Restaurant and Bar and Conference and Meeting facilities; which will accommodate between 20 and 60 delegates. Our Swan Lake room offers an outdoor area with spectacular city views. All-inclusive half-day, full-day and residential conference packages are available with the flexibility to tailor specific catering and audio-visual needs to suit all requirements. Mantra Southbank Melbourne is the perfect choice for your next Melbourne getaway. WHAT ARE WE CLOSE TO: * Victorian Arts Centre- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Concert Hall- 5 minute walk * Hammer Hall- 5 minute walk * Sidney Myer music bowl- 5 minute walk * National Gallery of Victoria- 5 minute walk * Australian Centre for moving images- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Aquarium- 10 minute walk * Botanical gardens- 5 minute walk * Crown Casino- 10 minute walk * Flinders St Station- 5 minute walk * Southern Cross Station- 15 minute walk * Federation Square- 5 minute walk * Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit & Golf Course- 20 minute walk * Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre- 10 minute walk * MCG - 15 minute walk * Rod Laver Arena, Olympic Park, Hisense Arena- 15 minute walk * Etihad Stadium- 25 minute walk * Southgate restaurants & boutiques, 5 minute walk * Tullamarine Airport - 40 minutes by road * Avalon airport- 1 hour by road * Free City Circle trams- 10 minute walk * Eureka tower- 5 minute walk * DFO South Wharf- 15 minute walk * Williamstown ferry- 5 minute walk * St Kilda- 15 minute by tram * St Kilda Beach- 15 minutes by tram * Luna park- 15 minute tram * Regent Theatre-15 minute walk * Lygon St- 15 minutes by tram ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range: RM549 - RM1,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Southbank Melbourne staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
Singapore, Singapore
2 months ago
7 months ago
Visakhapatnam, India
8 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Southbank Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“City Apartment best for singles”
S3XY1, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors for best views and quieter”
Jeannie675, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“DO NOT accept a room facing City Road.”
  • Bathroom
  • Arts Centre
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchen
  • Double Room
  • King Room
  • Lounge and Dinning
  • Arts Centre
markc619, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1304 has an amazing view”
  • The Arts Centre at night. This was taken out the bathroom window. View from dinning room better
182rachaelr, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on City Rd probably noisier than ours (eastern side facing Arts Centre)”
peterhD7113TY, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5