We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Show Prices
#62 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mantra Southbank Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,216: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The Mantra Southbank is located in a great location surrounded by the vibrant Southbank area. The rooms were spacious and clean. The kitchen area and bath room were both a good size. Being very hot days the roof top swimming pool was a bonus. Service was excellent and staff very helpful. We were lucky enough to get a cheap rate...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerry2017
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for reviewing the Mantra Southbank. I am pleased that you enjoyed you stay and found our facilities and staff excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne. Regards Cheryle

Leichhardt, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely apartment style hotel in the best part of Melbourne. Close to the art gallery and theatres and not far to walk to CBD shopping. We stayed here for a few days with the family. The apartment was spacious and communal facilities including swimming pool were clean and well maintained. Service was fine - no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank busymum2016
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mantra Southbank. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne. Regards Cheryle

Rosebud, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We had fun looking around and eating out in Melbourne during our short stay, but that cannot be said about the room. The cleaning standard should be a lot higher for the price that you charge for the room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melantr
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry that housekeeping let us down on this occasion. Our new housekeeping manager has assured me that staff will be more vigilant as regards to housekeeping standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Southbank at a future date. Regards Cheryle

Reviewed 6 January 2017

The staff at Mantra Southbank are friendly and helpful. The dish washer in the apartment was not working, the housekeeping washed all the dishes for us and the machine was repaired within a day. Location is good too.Free internet access during our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel L
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for reviewing the Mantra Southbank. I am pleased the staff were a great assistance to you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property when you are next in Melbourne. Regards Cheryle

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed at the Mantra in a 2-Bedroom Apartment over Christmas with our two young children. We had a room on the 12th floor which was fairly quiet and spacious. Beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room for the kids to play. A major issue we had was that the internal lock on the door didn't work very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stacytoby
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review of the hotel and nearby facilities. I appreciate you bringing the lock matter to our attention and I have asked engineering to review the hotel internal door locks. There are certain regulations, by-laws and building codes that we have to adhere to, please be assured that...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Overall ny stay was quite enjoyable. How every it was the little things (or lack of) that my me down. Simple things like they're are no instructions for any of the appliances. There was no welcome book that include the hotel information such as pool times, check in and check out time, locl attractions and services etc. I know that...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O5874IIelizabethb
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We use the television to provide information to the guest as this can be amended instanlktly to suit changing circumstances. I am sorry that there was guest information that you required which was not on this system. If you could advise us next...

Port Phillip, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Suggest the balconies could be given a deep clean. The dish washer did not work but was not needed. The hotel was quiet, clean and well appointed. We prefer a shower to a bath/shower but this is a preference the bath/shower was adequate. It was great to watch the midnight New Year's Eve fireworks from our balcony. We had a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 324noels
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mantra Southbank. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and the New Year festivities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Southbank for this coming New Years Eve activities. Regards Cheryle

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Great stay at the Mantra Southbank. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Melbourne. Location is excellent, breakfast is good and the staff are friendly and helpful. The kitchen was well equipped with dishwasher and there is a laundry as well, with washing machine and tumble dryer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shahiedd2017
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for reviewing the Mantra Southbank. I am pleased that you are recommending the hotel and we would be delighted to see you again soon at the Mantra Southbank. Regards Cheryle

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Excellent location, lovely pool. Would have been a great room however we had trouble with the air con - temp in the room overnight was 28.5 degrees - just terrible. We had two adults and 3 children hot, tired and grumpy the next day. The staff were friendly and easy to talk to in regards to this. They fixed the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T1365GEsimonf
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am terribly sorry that there was an issue with your air-conditioning and I understand that you all would be grumpy. I am very pleased the matter was resolved. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Melbourne. Regards Cheryle

Coppabella
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The staff did all they could to make our stay easy. Customer service was excellent and the rooms were lovely and spacious. Very centrally located and easy to walk everywhere. Only problem is the pool didn't have towels but staff quickly brought some up to us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
cheryleirvin, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for reviewing the Mantra Southbank and I appreciate the positive remarks made about our staff and their level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Melbourne. Regards Cheryle

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#41 of 160 in Melbourne
740 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#50 of 160 in Melbourne
399 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#97 of 160 in Melbourne
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,029 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne is also within walking distance of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG and Hisense Arena to the east; and Crown Casino and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre to the west. Whether arriving by public transport or car the hotel is easily accessible! Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city and nearby Melbourne Botanical Gardens. All rooms feature a lounge and dining area, Foxtel and digital channels including Fox Footy, fully-equipped kitchen with full-size cook top, oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board, wireless internet access (charges apply), ISD/STD direct dial phones, air-conditioning, sound system with CD player, some rooms with an ipod dock, pay movies, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel offers excellent facilities for both leisure and corporate guests and is ideal for families. Mantra Southbank Melbourne facilities include a 15 metre indoor heated pool and spa, well appointed gym, Restaurant and Bar and Conference and Meeting facilities; which will accommodate between 20 and 60 delegates. Our Swan Lake room offers an outdoor area with spectacular city views. All-inclusive half-day, full-day and residential conference packages are available with the flexibility to tailor specific catering and audio-visual needs to suit all requirements. Mantra Southbank Melbourne is the perfect choice for your next Melbourne getaway. WHAT ARE WE CLOSE TO: * Victorian Arts Centre- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Concert Hall- 5 minute walk * Hammer Hall- 5 minute walk * Sidney Myer music bowl- 5 minute walk * National Gallery of Victoria- 5 minute walk * Australian Centre for moving images- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Aquarium- 10 minute walk * Botanical gardens- 5 minute walk * Crown Casino- 10 minute walk * Flinders St Station- 5 minute walk * Southern Cross Station- 15 minute walk * Federation Square- 5 minute walk * Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit & Golf Course- 20 minute walk * Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre- 10 minute walk * MCG - 15 minute walk * Rod Laver Arena, Olympic Park, Hisense Arena- 15 minute walk * Etihad Stadium- 25 minute walk * Southgate restaurants & boutiques, 5 minute walk * Tullamarine Airport - 40 minutes by road * Avalon airport- 1 hour by road * Free City Circle trams- 10 minute walk * Eureka tower- 5 minute walk * DFO South Wharf- 15 minute walk * Williamstown ferry- 5 minute walk * St Kilda- 15 minute by tram * St Kilda Beach- 15 minutes by tram * Luna park- 15 minute tram * Regent Theatre-15 minute walk * Lygon St- 15 minutes by tram ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range: RM566 - RM1,447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Southbank Melbourne staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
Singapore, Singapore
2 months ago
6 months ago
Visakhapatnam, India
7 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Southbank Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors for best views and quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Jeannie675, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“DO NOT accept a room facing City Road.”
  • Bathroom
  • Arts Centre
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchen
  • Double Room
  • King Room
  • Lounge and Dinning
  • Arts Centre
 of 5 bubbles markc619, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1304 has an amazing view”
  • The Arts Centre at night. This was taken out the bathroom window. View from dinning room better
 of 5 bubbles 182rachaelr, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on City Rd probably noisier than ours (eastern side facing Arts Centre)”
 of 5 bubbles peterhD7113TY, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a gallery room which was nice but noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles caram63, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5