We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Great Southern Hotel

Save
Traveller (250)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent11%
  • Very good36%
  • Average27%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (726)
There are newer reviews for The Great Southern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
72
225
187
84
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
72
225
187
84
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomsouthern cross train stationcrown casinoairport bussky busetihad stadiumone night staybed was comfortablehandy locationshort stayinner citywould stay againmelbourne cityfree trampublic transportskybusstorage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
371 - 375 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Close to transport, clean, we've stayed here numerous times and it's great value for inner city. Nothing fancy but perfectly good night's sleep in a pleasant room. The service seems to have improved over the years too, front desk staff are now very professional and...More

Thank jenpepcheeki
Reviewed 27 April 2016

I decided to book a place here with my girlfriend as we had to be closer to the CBD the next day, which conveniently is 1 block away from the Southern Cross and it is quite cheap actually. I payed $80 for the room for...More

Thank meagen06
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Beautiful hotel, in the heart of the city. Trains bus and airport shuttle across the road, trams run past the front door, and the cities shops and tourist attractions are within waling distance. Very close to the Yarra River and Southbank (casino) .Room had kingsize...More

Thank danni184
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Walking in to the foyer area we were impressed then as we went to our room we were unsure if we were in a hotel or a prison it looked like a prison set up which was fine made us laugh as we were going...More

Thank Spadgenizzle
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Can't tell much as we only showered and sleep then check out when the sun rise. Bed is comfortable. I could tell the room has been refurbished, which is great. The thing that bothered me was the water from shower keeps dripping even though I...More

Thank scorpiojeannie
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$59 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$59 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (250)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways
tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary
feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the
city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques,
throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You
never quite know what you’ll find around the next
corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and
even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
callumwesley
15 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Sherpa123 | Reviewed this property |
My advice would be to contact the hotel direct and make arrangements for them. This place is very clean and comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again. Wonderful helpful staff.
0
Votes
Patrick C
14 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from E4101OZsandram | Reviewed this property |
when we stayed at the great southern hotel in brisbane we had 2 single beds for our first visit then 2 king beds for our second visit. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
716luke
8 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Missymiss76 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, $50 is charged to your credit card, and supposed to be canceled on departure. 3.5weeks later, I'm still fighting for my refund, and staff are very unhelpful.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Our room faced Spencer Street, our windows opened for fresh air but the street noise is too loud at night to..."
Read review
"If quiet is needed ask before booking - courtyard doesn't mean quiet"
Read review
"Stay in the new section, have a window"
Read review
"Go elsewhere."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing