We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jasper Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jasper Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

989 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 946: English reviews
Start your review of Jasper Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights, as soon as we walked into our room, the room is very dirty with dust everywhere and is very old fashioned. We also had some terrible experiences too: 1. Duvet and duvet cover are both very dirty with marks on and duvet is actually yellow, I kindly asked the housekeeping lady to change it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
Melbourne
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Well first off we got a room upgrade to king bed with TV and TV in family room. Very clean and quiet room as we faced inside courtyard, large area in bathroom and shower was great. Parking was a nightmare, so we suggest you leave the car behind. Vic Market round the corner, so plan your trip when this great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbingdon
James M, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Abbingdon, thank you for the review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to one of our premium rooms overlooking the courtyard - these rooms certainly make you feel you are escaping the city, yet still so close to all of the Melbourne action. With Melbourne being very limited to free or on street parking, the Jasper Hotel...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights for visiting relatives. The good: - The location was perfect, easy to tram and lots of nice places to eat. - the room is clean. The bad: - Very noisy - the water in the toilet bowl drips. - the bed a bit saggy, pillow not comfy. I ended up sleeping without pillows. - air-condition cannot be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Redglue
James M, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Redglue, thank you for the review. Happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel for its location, ease of public transport access and cleanliness. Apologies that you had some issues with toilet flush and air con, but i can assure you these have now been fixed. Just for the next time you stay, please be sure to advise us of...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nearby walking distance to Queen Victoria market, next door is McDonald 24x7. Can book tour at the concierge, we booked GOR tour on Monday and depart on Tuesday. Pickup point (715am) is at Therry street, ibis hotel which less than 1 min walk from Jasper Hotel. Hotel is within free tram zone, tram stop is diagonally in front of hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Picolla2014
James M, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Picolla2014, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed our famous Jasper breakfast and enjoyed the vibe, location and service provided by the hotel. A little shocked to hear you thought the bathroom amenities were basic, as the Appelles products normally get such great reviews. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Perth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Melbourne for work, and decided to stay 1 extra night in this hotel. Overall - this is an expensive hotel, rates itself as 4.5 star hotel, in reality should be rated 3.5 star. Rooms were small, noisy, and i keep coming back to my main point, which is hotel is not worth the money you pay for....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FenderStrat-Perth
James M, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi FenderStrat-Perth, thank you for taking the time to review the Jasper Hotel. It is disappointing to hear that you found the hotel expensive for what was delivered during your stay, but with Melbourne being spoilt with Adele, Don Henley, Justin Bieber and the Grand Prix in March our hotel like many other having being selling Special Event rates (which...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week,on arrival and every day/night had very friendly and helpful staff,hotel is situated in a great location with lots to do in the area and public transport to all around the city right outside the door. The room we had was very spacious, clean and quiet, bed was so comfortable, very good rates for a city...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suebJ9920FK
James M, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi suebJ9920FK, thank you for the 5 Star review. Greta to hear you loved our spacious rooms and felt the hotel was clean and comfortable. I will be sure to pass your feedback on the Jasper team and we hope to see you when you next come to Melbourne. Kind Regards James

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great service by reception staff. A boisterous welcome indeed. A stone's throw from the vic market. Awesome location:) jasper is right where the action is. Near enough the hustle and bussle but yet away from the crowds. Perfect equi distance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kia T
James M, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kia T, Thank you for the glowing 5 Star review. Always great to hear when our guests love the Jasper staff and location. We hope the rest of your stay was just as amazing as your welcome. See you on your next Melbourne Visit. Kind Regards James

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I paid close to $200 per night for a two night work trip. The room was very small, the quality of the fit is poor and everything in the room was warn and faded. The bed is uncomfortable and the pillows are thin and hard - leading to a terrible sleep. There is a lot road noise on the 5th...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cameron G
James M, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cameron G, it is very disappointing to read a review like yours which certainly does not compliment the Jasper Hotel for what it is renowned for. I would like to clarify for you that the rate you paid for a 2 night stay was a little under $310 ($155 p/n), which given the busy week in Melbourne, it was...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous location right next to the Queen Victoria Markets, but unfortunately very, very, noisy. Street noise was so bad that I thought that the windows were open but no..... just very thin glass. Bought fresh milk on first day ( can't stand UHT) so therefore milk was not replaced any days thereafter. Housekeeping was a little careless, toiletries not replenished,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew L
James M, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi MatthewL, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you loved the location and service from staff during your stay. I think there may have been a bit of confusion in regards to the bar, as drink service is till 11pm while food is just served till late. I have passed your comments onto housekeeping -...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lobby is quite modern, a shame the rooms a bit outdated. Bathrooms are ok, mattresses and pillows are a bit standard. I had a room on the front of the hotel the first night I stayed, the windows glass is quite thin (no double glazing) so I had a lot of trouble sleeping (and I'm half deaf), I requested...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 159craigp
James M, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 159craigp, thank you for taking the time to review us at the Jasper Hotel. Disappointing to hear that you had trouble sleeping due to the city noise, but i can confirm the hotel certainly does have double glazed windows in all of our accommodation rooms. To guarantee the perfects night sleep next time try one of our premium rooms...

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: RM429 - RM1,627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jasper Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
5 months ago
9 months ago
australia
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Jasper Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High Floor, room not facing Elizabeth street.”
 of 5 bubbles Picolla2014, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Elizabeth street side (tram line) very noisy all night until the trams stop”
 of 5 bubbles FenderStrat-Perth, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Maybe ask for a back room to avoid the noise”
 of 5 bubbles 375matthewl, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room facing the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles emilyn542, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for a courtyard facing room for quiet”
 of 5 bubbles boolbada, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5