We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Causeway

Agoda.comUS$114*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$121*
US$114*
Great Deal
US$116*
US$116*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Causeway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Causeway
 Click to rate
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 1 week ago

Causeway Hotel's USP is its location to an extent as it is close to Bourke Street with access to Trams making it easy to go around the city. The Hotel is right next to David Jones Mall, Myer Mall and Emporium Mall and has great breakfast options around. Rooms are very Ok and decently clean and bed is comfy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikits2015
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Mikits2015, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to learn that you found your room to be clean and your bed to be comfortable, as you made the most of our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. I am also pleased that...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at hotel about 9pm. Reception was okay. The room was just about okay except the heater didn't work and the room was freezing. The reception night shift guy didn't have a clue and fiddled with the switch giving crap advise as if I was a bigger idiot. Offered me blankets instead and said I couldn't change room. I can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn L
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Alwyn L, Thank you for taking the time to share such candid feedback on your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to learn that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest on this occasion. Please once again accept our sincere apologies for the issues experienced with your in room climate control system, and what you...

Morwell, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent two nights at this hotel. The hotel was situated right in the middle of the CBD and was very close to everything - i.e. shops, dining, sights etc. The hotel is not new and in need of a spruce up of the décor. It was very clean, with bathroom and room spotless. Very comfortable bed. The carpet needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Dianne B, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean, your bed to be comfortable, and made the most of our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. I will also be sure to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this one online and trusted that the displayed pictures were a true reflection of the rooms available. Not the case unfortunately. Reception was clean and well staffed by a friendly and efficient team member but that is where the pleasantness ended. The lift was small and had a musty odour and when the doors opened to our floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melton2001
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Melton2001, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent time with us. While I am glad that you found the reception to be clean, and the staff friendly and efficient; it is disappointing that we were not able to reach your expectations in all areas. Please rest assured that all online photos were taken in...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights recently and found it to be ok but probably wouldn't stay again, it's in a great location and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was what I would expect for the price I paid however for $18 the Buffett breakfast is very overpriced for what you get - we didn't bother and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Chris B, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you experienced exceptionally friendly and helpful service from our staff, and that you made the most of our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. Please accept our apologies for the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great value hotel in a great Central CBD location. Whilst it is an older hotel it has everything you need in a hotel room and the bed was extremely comfortable. The Continental Breakfast was great and had all that you would need, including great coffee, to start off a new day. I'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Barry F, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you found your bed to be comfortable and your room to contain everything you needed for the right price, as you made the most of our fantastic location within the heart of the city. I...

Bega, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

I would describe this a basic business level hotel. The furnishings in general were ok, but not great, space was ok (not too cramped). Bathroom was relatively newly renovated, but the shower in bath thing always gives the game away on age. The shower fitting above the bath was broken and spraying water everywhere. Room temperature control was ok. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alec M
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Alec M, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you made the most of our fantastic location in the heart of the city, it is disappointing that we were not able to reach your expectations in all areas on this occasion. Please rest...

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Normally when a hotel advertises it's heritage you think of a nicely well kept facility. Hotel causeway boasts completely rundown facilities that will take you on such a nice time warp that you will appreciate what 50 years of neglect to a building can do. From the moment you walk into the facility the overcoming smell of mould will welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Edan N
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Edan N, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. While I am pleased o hear that you made the most of our fantastic location in the heart of Melbourne, it is disappointing to learn that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. Your feedback has been shared...

Queensland
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Having booked on line to take interstate visitors we were so dissapointed. Rooms were exceptionally run down Curtains hanging unable to close having lost hooks. Carpets and furniture badly stained and worn. Skirting board hanging off. I could go on but won't. Actually rate this hotel beyond one it's just that i could not alter the rating. We did not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank skinsterQueensland
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear SkinsterQueensland, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent experience with us. It is disappointing that we were unable to reach your expectations in relation to your room on this occasion and that you did not subsequently stay with us. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with management and highlighted with...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Described as boutique, I’d probably add shabby to their description. Fantastic location, I was there for business, so didn’t do much exploring but you definitely in the heart of it all. The room disappointed a bit and given the building and sleek side door entrance you could have expected more. Staff were nice, breakfast disappointing. In summary, if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike W
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Mike W, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and took advantage of our fantastic location in the heart of the city however I am disappointed that we were not able to reach your expectations in all...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 159 in Melbourne
1,044 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
602 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#91 of 159 in Melbourne
647 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes. Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins St | entrance in Howey Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Causeway Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: RM432 - RM855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Causeway staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Christchurch, New Zealand
4 months ago
Launceston, Australia
over a year ago
Canberra
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Causeway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always select rooms on top floor (5th) as these are silent.”
mikits2015, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing onto Little Collins Street can be a bit noisy especially when rubbish bins are being emptied.”
DianneB218, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay a little more for an Executive room.”
BarryF93, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Street side rooms are noisy as there is no double glazing.”
lecoqdnord, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel if you want a clean room.”
  • run-down furniture
  • broken/dirty floor
  • dirty floor
  • dirty blanket
Alician_11, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$114* /night
View Deal
CheapTicketsUS$116
Booking.comUS$116
CancelonUS$121
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates