We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Causeway

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Causeway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of Hotel Causeway
 Click to rate
Bega, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would describe this a basic business level hotel. The furnishings in general were ok, but not great, space was ok (not too cramped). Bathroom was relatively newly renovated, but the shower in bath thing always gives the game away on age. The shower fitting above the bath was broken and spraying water everywhere. Room temperature control was ok. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alec M
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Alec M, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you made the most of our fantastic location in the heart of the city, it is disappointing that we were not able to reach your expectations in all areas on this occasion. Please rest...

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Normally when a hotel advertises it's heritage you think of a nicely well kept facility. Hotel causeway boasts completely rundown facilities that will take you on such a nice time warp that you will appreciate what 50 years of neglect to a building can do. From the moment you walk into the facility the overcoming smell of mould will welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Edan N
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Edan N, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. While I am pleased o hear that you made the most of our fantastic location in the heart of Melbourne, it is disappointing to learn that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. Your feedback has been shared...

Queensland
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Having booked on line to take interstate visitors we were so dissapointed. Rooms were exceptionally run down Curtains hanging unable to close having lost hooks. Carpets and furniture badly stained and worn. Skirting board hanging off. I could go on but won't. Actually rate this hotel beyond one it's just that i could not alter the rating. We did not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank skinsterQueensland
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear SkinsterQueensland, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent experience with us. It is disappointing that we were unable to reach your expectations in relation to your room on this occasion and that you did not subsequently stay with us. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with management and highlighted with...

Reviewed 19 March 2017
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jona C
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Frederikshavn, Denmark
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clausand77
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Described as boutique, I’d probably add shabby to their description. Fantastic location, I was there for business, so didn’t do much exploring but you definitely in the heart of it all. The room disappointed a bit and given the building and sleek side door entrance you could have expected more. Staff were nice, breakfast disappointing. In summary, if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike W
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Mike W, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and took advantage of our fantastic location in the heart of the city however I am disappointed that we were not able to reach your expectations in all...

Wangaratta
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Booked in to this hotel ,travelled 4 hours by train to get there and find you can't be in your room before 2 pm . I arrive at 11 am .So I went and did some shopping had some thing to drink returned as I needed the bathroom . I was given a key to a second floor toilet ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 550Maxine
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear 550Maxine, Thank you for taking the time to share a review. It is disappointing to hear that we have not been able to meet your expectations in all areas thus far in your time with us. Our guaranteed check-in time for guests is 14:00pm which allows housekeeping time to turnover rooms after previous guests have departed. That said our...

Canberra
Reviewed 1 March 2017

A neat tidy hotel located in the centre of Melbourne. If you want to do the full Melbourne laneways dinning, hipster thing the hotel is as central as it gets. Everything is at your doorstep. Good thing too as it doesn't have anything else to offer. Our room was adequate a comfortable bed but not much more. It did have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GR_Canberra
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear GR_Canberra, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. While I am pleased to learn that you found your bed to be comfortable and your room to contain all that you needed as you made the mode of our fantastic location in the heart of the city; it is disappointing that...

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Well, it's tucked away in the heart of the cbd, and if you turn left out of the hotel's sliding door, you'll find the entrance to an arcade. Through the doors and on the below ground level, you'll find one bookish nirvana... a large dymocks that greedily consumes the entire floor. Upstairs is British treats from home, but that's another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Y1223XBlucyb
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Y1223XBlucyb, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share a review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed a ‘splendid’ stay with us as you took advantage of our central location to explore and discover such and eclectic and delightful array of Melbourne’s best bookshops. Please rest assured that your constructive comments relating to...

Mailhac
Reviewed 24 January 2017

As we were on a package deal, our room was one of the smaller, economy, ones. The hotel has seen quite a few years of service and this shows in the decoration. Everything was clean and tidy, but getting to the stage where a major refurbishment is required. Staff were friendly and helpful, in true Aussie style. Breakfast was acceptable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iain S
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Iain S, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and tidy while you made the most of our central location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. I will also be sure to pass your...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 158 in Melbourne
1,031 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 158 in Melbourne
593 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
599 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes. Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins St | entrance in Howey Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Causeway Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: RM418 - RM859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Causeway staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Christchurch, New Zealand
3 months ago
Causeway-Melbourne Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi Julie,

Thank you for your question.

Please rest assured that hairdryers are contained within all guest rooms in our hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any further questions. I hope we have the chance to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,

3 months ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Causeway-Melbourne Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi Mashton43

Thank you for your question,

There are a few different options that you can take with regards to Airport Transfers. These are Bluebird, Starbus & Skybus. Both Bluebird and Starbus will take you from the airport direct to the hotel. Skybus will take you to Southern Cross Station where you will get onto a smaller bus to take you to the hotel, however the Skybus will drop you off at the Melbourne Town Hall, which entails a short walk to Hotel Causeway. All 3 companies are similar in price at approximately $18 p/p one way.

over a year ago
Launceston, Australia
over a year ago
Causeway-Melbourne Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi Janet B,

Thank you for your question.

The Regent Theatre is located at 191 Collins Street, this is approximately a 5 minute walk from Hotel Causeway. If you have any further questions please don’t hesitate to contact our friendly reservations team who will be willing and able to answer them.

over a year ago
Canberra
over a year ago
Causeway-Melbourne Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi Samantha C

Thank you for your question

Hotel Causeway offers a gym and steam room. Guests can make use of cardiovascular equipment including treadmill, exercise bike, recumbent exercise bike and rowing machine, as well as weight training equipment such as bench and shoulder press, leg press, lat pulldown, leg extension and leg curl machines.

over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Causeway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street side rooms are noisy as there is no double glazing.”
lecoqdnord, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel if you want a clean room.”
  • run-down furniture
  • broken/dirty floor
  • dirty floor
  • dirty blanket
Alician_11, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from lifts and if a staff member requests a cash deposit, say no.”
206elliem, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try higher floors due to slight evening noise.”
693pennyb, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If your have a disability then ask for a room with easy access- no steps and shower access.Get a room central to hotel.”
eclectice2015, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5