We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton Clocktower Apartments

Expedia.comUS$107
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$110*
US$107*
US$110*
US$107*
US$110*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Start your review of Carlton Clocktower Apartments
 Click to rate
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

We stayed in an executive room over the past weekend. Hotel is in great location with no traffic noise. Clean rooms with great bed and quality linen. Easy parking underneath. Lifts make rooms on higher levels easily accessible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The62
Jindabyne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The apartment was big, with a nice view and in an excellent location to Lygon St however we found it unclean with toenail clippings on a bed room floor, undies in the dryer and generally very grotty. We asked for apartment to be cleaned and vacuumed while we were out which they said they did however toenails etc were still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _harrynjuli
drlocbi, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which has given us the opportunity to once again speak with our housekeeping team to reinforce the standards that guests expect. Our sincere apologies that your emails received no response but I am unable to find any record of an email raising the issues you raise here. Again my apologies but thankyou for the opportunity...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cobwebs in the kitchen, holes in ceiling, iron burns in carpet, not been updated since the 80's and generally not clean. We won't stay at this overpriced place again and suggest others look elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I have been in this place several times through the years. I think this will be my last. The place desperately needs to be completely renovated: the apartments are old and smelly. I must also notice that the people we interacted with at the reception were unfriendly and unhelpful. One day they "forgot" to service our apartment. It is unfortunate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0renz0_1976
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

My experience was horrendous!!!! Upon entry the apartment smelt, had mould on 2 walls of bathroom, carpet was covered in stains of which you did not want to take your shoes off, hole in ceiling of kitchen and generally not representative of pictures / description on website. The apartment was atrocious. When I complained to management the manager was arrogant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole g
carltonclocktower, Front Office Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Good Morning, thank you for your review and my sincere apologies that I came across as arrogant when you raised the matters with me, it certainly was not my intention or my usual demeanour. Unfortunately the options to me at the time to address your issues were limited as the property was close to full which left me no where...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Geat location, but the cleanliness of the 2BR apartment was awful. The stale smell hits you when you open the door and everything in the apartment looked and felt dirty and old. On checkout I was told the apartment isn't owned by the hotel, they just manage it. This didn't seem to be a huge concern for the manager. One...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stuart W
carltonclocktower, Front Office Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for review and valuable feed back which has enabled us to address the issues you have raised. The apartments were locked up over a period during there holidays which is the source of the stale smell you describe. We have also discovered that the storm outlet in the light well of this apartment had been used some previous...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The location is the only positive thing about this place. Stayed for one night due to an event in the city. Upon arrival we discovered staff to be obnoxious and unhelpful. $300 bond that we were assured would not be taken out of our account is yet to be returned and when we asked to change cards we were scoffed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikhel6
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to provide us feedback, as we do value all suggestions for improvement. In regards to the $300 pre-authorisation it is a standard practice that most accommodation around the surrounding area do. This pre-authorisation off a credit card, is not an actual charge and is released upon check-out. Once released from our system, it is...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

2 bedroom apartment was absolutely filthy! Dead insects all over the place, dank rooms riddled with dust. The decor is so horrible it is almost comical. I would only recommend to young people looking to bash the town and have a central place to crash - like the people I could clearly hear in the next room having a funky...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aaronmitz
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

At Carlton Clocktower Apartments, we have a very strict no PARTY policy. We do NOT encourage and allow for parties, or unregistered guests to stay over night. It is the reason why, we take a $300 pre-authorisation from a credit card - in the instance the rooms are damaged or there is noise complaint requiring eviction. If your concern was...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The rooms had a funky smell, there were cracks in the plaster cracked tiles and a horrible drumming noise from the plumbing and everybody elses (try that at 3 am as a wake up call) Cleaning was cursory at best with beds unmade and toiletries not replenished, the staff bang once and charge in, my semi dressed teen loved that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 270who
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you didn't receive the experience, that you had sought after. Both our housekeeping and reception team are experienced and professional staff and have been part of the property for many years - with many returning guests appreciative of our services. All of our rooms are provided with a DO NOT DISTURB sign, in the instance...

St. Ives, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

great views of the city and the mountains. A street full of delicious restaurants just outside your door. Secure apartments with private balcony. self contained, spacious serviced apartment. Highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole H

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#41 of 159 in Melbourne
293 reviews
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#113 of 159 in Melbourne
130 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#87 of 159 in Melbourne
341 reviews
Mercure North Melbourne
#148 of 159 in Melbourne
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Lygon Street

Neighbourhood Profile
Lygon Street
If you want real parmesan, cut from the block, grated over your pasta with a twist of style, this is the place. Until recently, this neighbourhood was home to the notorious ‘Carlton Crew,’ a pseudo mafia who started their day with a local espresso. They are gone, but the espresso still runs strong in this Little Italy which has something for everyone. Starched white tablecloths, candles, pizza the way they do it "back home" and maybe even a bit of amore. The number of gelato choices will leave you in a state of indecision and wide footpaths, big awnings and a sea of packed tables makes this al fresco dining experience a continental buzz. Even if you’re not eating, it’s worth the stroll just for the people-watching, which, of course, is an Italian tradition.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carlton Clocktower Apartments is location, location, location, and is situated in the heart of Carlton's famous Lygon Street precinct - Australia's restaurant capital - where cosmopolitan charm and lifestyle is evident in the range of over 300 shops, cafes and restaurants on offer, which will tempt all of your senses and leave long lasting impressions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton Clocktower Apartments

Address: 255 Drummond St, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Quest Carlton Clocktower)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Price Range: RM446 - RM813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Clocktower Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Clocktower Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlton Clocktower Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#117 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carlton Clocktower Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“DO NOT STAY Under any circumstance”
  • Mould, fan has been removed
  • Mould
cougs01, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take a torch if you're checking in at night, it's dark and hard to find the rooms.”
LambsySydney, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have a bit of a view”
priesttheos, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Renovated inner apartment”
ahar0nd, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The rooms and outlook are nothing special but if you're just after a bed at the end of the day its okay and quiet”
AndrewSullivan6160, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$107
PricelineUS$110
TripAdvisorUS$107
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates