We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carlton Clocktower Apartments

TravelocityUS$107*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$164*
US$107*
US$164*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carlton Clocktower Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 75: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, plenty of room and comfortable beds. Walk straight out onto Lygon street for plenty of good restaurants and cafes and a movie theater. A short stroll to the Tram into the city. also has onsite parking. (additional fee). All in all a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mal-S S
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We have stayed in Carlton on many occasions, however, tried the Clocktower Apartments for first time recently. Location is awesome. Trendy Lygon Street in one direction and Carlton Gardens and Melb Museum for running, walking and exploring close by. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was huge! The downside was the dated decor and weekend street noise. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela L
Rosebud, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Family of 5 stayed over night for quick city escape. Location is second to none.. with lygon street and all its deliciousness at your door. Walked to the VIC market played at the calton playground & gardens one small block away and the museum is walking distance too. Large apartment with everything you need. City is at your door step.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurenheath
Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Our room was everything we could've hoped for. It's difficult finding accommodation for a family of 5 with three young children in the city but this apartment was fantastic. Excellent location, modern decor, clean and spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo81983
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights from 7/7/16. Location is good. Parking is limited. Spacious but dated apartment. Difficult access for getting your luggage to the room. Expensive for what you actually get. What killed it for us was the tradesmen walking on the roof at 6.45am and using power tools by 7am. No mention of this happening when we booked,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BJC71
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and alerting us to the difficulties experienced from the noise of the tradesmen. My sincere apologies for this but as I think we explained at the time we were unaware that this was going to happen due to a breakdown of communication between the Owner's Corporation and ourselves. We were able to ask that no...

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

The only positive i have for this place is the location. It is great.... BUT how about you train your reception staff with some basic customer service skills. It would have been nice to atleast been told what level our room was on so we could get out on the right level. And maybe if they had a basic understanding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danial H
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for this feed back. I am indeed amazed that the check in staff seemed so ignorant regarding the property as they have all worked here for a considerable period of time. Your feed back allows us to take them through our rigorous check in procedure again so that future guests do not have this experience. The $300 pre...

Sydney
Reviewed 19 June 2016

The location is the highlight of this place. It's right near Lygon Street, and Melbourne Uni. That's where the highlights stop. The reception is a tiny shopfront, no facilities, such as bathrooms handy. Once you've got your keys the fun really begins. Finding your room in the maze of possibilities. You know what would help, a map. A map as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LambsySydney
Hoi An
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

A father in law near death was not enough to get a refund when we were unable to visit. Even with three days notice. Policy is no substitute for such an appalling attitude. Add the distress of the events taking place to such callous money grabbing attitude and you would touch this place with a forty foot pole.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rodhall3199
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Our family of five stayed here for one night and left feeling extremely disappointed with the way we were treated by staff. Extra charges to our credit card which have not been accounted for make me question the integrity of this establishment. My request for a receipt detailing extra charges has been unanswered by the manager. I would not recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma h
questclocktower, Front Office Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although it does leave me and the staff somewhat dismayed as we have sent you two copies of the tax invoice concerned along with a lengthy explanation of the charges incurred by you whilst at the property. I am disappointed too that you did not publish here the complimentary car park you enjoyed during your...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed at the Clocktower for four nights in early May 2016 and had a great time. I think it was about our eighth stay over several years. Again we were very pleased we stayed there. Our unit had a very nice brand new bathroom and the whole unit was fitted out with everything couple would need. Plenty of room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaddyandHorrie

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
296 reviews
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#115 of 159 in Melbourne
131 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#87 of 159 in Melbourne
342 reviews
Mercure North Melbourne
#148 of 159 in Melbourne
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Lygon Street

Neighbourhood Profile
Lygon Street
If you want real parmesan, cut from the block, grated over your pasta with a twist of style, this is the place. Until recently, this neighbourhood was home to the notorious ‘Carlton Crew,’ a pseudo mafia who started their day with a local espresso. They are gone, but the espresso still runs strong in this Little Italy which has something for everyone. Starched white tablecloths, candles, pizza the way they do it "back home" and maybe even a bit of amore. The number of gelato choices will leave you in a state of indecision and wide footpaths, big awnings and a sea of packed tables makes this al fresco dining experience a continental buzz. Even if you’re not eating, it’s worth the stroll just for the people-watching, which, of course, is an Italian tradition.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carlton Clocktower Apartments is location, location, location, and is situated in the heart of Carlton's famous Lygon Street precinct - Australia's restaurant capital - where cosmopolitan charm and lifestyle is evident in the range of over 300 shops, cafes and restaurants on offer, which will tempt all of your senses and leave long lasting impressions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton Clocktower Apartments

Address: 255 Drummond St, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Quest Carlton Clocktower)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Price Range: RM438 - RM799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Clocktower Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Clocktower Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlton Clocktower Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#117 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carlton Clocktower Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“DO NOT STAY Under any circumstance”
  • Mould, fan has been removed
  • Mould
cougs01, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take a torch if you're checking in at night, it's dark and hard to find the rooms.”
LambsySydney, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have a bit of a view”
priesttheos, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Renovated inner apartment”
ahar0nd, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The rooms and outlook are nothing special but if you're just after a bed at the end of the day its okay and quiet”
AndrewSullivan6160, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$107* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$107
Booking.com
HotelQuicklyUS$164
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates