We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Melbourne

Booking.comUS$73*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$82*
US$73*
Great Deal
US$82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 271: English reviews
Start your review of Nomads Melbourne
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nomads is a good hostel. It's cheap, clean and quite central. In the morning they offer free pancakes, and free tea, coffee, noodles and rice are provided in the kitchen. Nomads is right next to the Queen Victoria market, what's I really liked. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara H
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the 14 beds dorm and it was not exactly clean and/or comfortable. There is only one toilet and one shower for the whole room, not even a sink in the building. The room was really messy and coming back to the room I often found my stuff on the floor because a cleaner crashed in my bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie R
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day Julie! Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. I am concerned about your comments that the cleaner was crashing in your bed. Would you be able to give us more information regarding this? We're happy that you found our staff and bar cool. As you can imagine, the larger the dorm the messier a...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

You'll be located just at the back of the QVM, where I bet the Summer Night Markets (when they're on - check schedule) will provide you the best range of food and fun time on wednesdays nights. I spend just few days at the hostel so didn't quite get to use the facilities a lot. In overall would say the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fukai_tyemi
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there fukai_tyemi! Cheers for leaving us such an awesome review! We're really glad that you enjoyed your limited time with us. We're sorry that our Maintenance Man disrupted your afternoon nap! But you are right, sometimes it's necessary to ensure the comfort and safety of all guests. We hope you come back and join us again in Summer when...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great week staying here, it was a friendly, clean and sociable hostel with a good bar and events going on all week. Would definitely recommend it for someone new to Melbourne, especially if travelling alone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there Becky J! Thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review! We're super glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back to stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Compared to other nomads hostels I've stayed in, this one isn't up to scratch. The kitchen is tiny for the size of the hostel, only one sink and 8 hobs for 5 floors of rooms to use. I'm presuming they offer free pasta and rice to compensate but that doesn't help when you can't actually get in the kitchen to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurene B
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there Laurene B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We've taken all your comments on board and will bring them up at the next Managers Meeting. We know our Kitchen is small for our size Hostel - luckily we're in a fantastic part of the city for Food with Queen Victoria Markets behind us...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location of Nomads was good it was a short walk to Queen Victoria Market, the mall, china town, and train station. The down side is there is construction going on in the back of the building which starts at 7am in the morning and it is loud. Cleanliness I give it a 3 for the rooms and bathrooms (which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you had a pretty good stay with us. Unfortunately there isn't a real lot we can do about the Construction site behind us - but we always try and move people to the other side of the building if they have problems. I'm sad to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So I found myself walking the streets of Melbourne at 6.30am on a cold Saturday morning. Nomads was the only hostel I was able to seek refuge because they were open & accommodating, phew. I met some really cool people here and the staff were always helpful, which definitely helps after no sleep for a few days! The atmosphere is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ljiggy S
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day Ljiggy S! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're glad you had such a fantastic stay with us and we can't wait until you come back and visit! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff and the location are great. And that's about it. The place is very dirty and what I noticed is that only the pillow cover, duvet and the fitted sheet are getting changed - not the blanket cover! Also our room had broken lock so anyone could get in even without a key card. I'm not even gonna talk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva J
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review, we take all reviews, the good and the bad, and try to use them to become a better property. We are sorry to hear that your lock was not working, you can rest assured that this is now fixed. In regards to our linen, we ask all guests to bring down their white...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only ended up here after my main accommodation plan fell through for the Australian Grand Prix, so it was booked at short notice. Ended up in a 6-bed dorm, bed was comfy enough - room was a bit warm but nothing too terrible. It's a hostel so willl have a high turnover of guests, so nothing is every likely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmilne89
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there dmilne89! Cheers for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you have a few ideas for us, but pretty much enjoyed your stay. Over this next winter we're doing a lot of upgrades to Nomads Melbourne - we hope you come back in the summer and see how...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Typical hostel style place, expected this much but hoped the washrooms would have been better. Three showers on our floor, each one more disgusting than the last. The bar downstairs was lively and filled with helpful people. Rooms were teeny tiny and provided no luggage space at all. Bed prices were on the high side to what I'm supposed too,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neeral P
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. We take all reviews on board to try and make our property a better place for our guests. Apologies for your smaller room, you did book a 4 share dorm, bigger dorms have much more room for your belongings. We always advise guests to keep their bags under their beds and any personal belongings...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 158 in Melbourne
376 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
2,538 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 132 in Melbourne
495 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 132 in Melbourne
778 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#105 of 132 in Melbourne
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: RM192 - RM650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a different hostel”
evaj161, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room on the front perhaps”
emilypebbles, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Expect some noise if you're near the ally way”
klaraklara123, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a look at the rooftop!”
ricksX9049TO, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not the ones that give to the night bar as it can get very noisy”
kai_kaijia, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$82
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates