We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sophia

Save
Traveller (135)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (10)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good32%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible22%
Travellers talk about
“plunger coffee”(15 reviews)
“king st”(10 reviews)
Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sophia
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
100
178
108
72
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
100
178
108
72
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunger coffeesouthern cross stationking stfree breakfastetihad stadiumvictoria marketssky busfree tramshort stayconvenient locationpublic transportcbdskybusaudcupboarddocklands
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
251 - 255 of 597 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here in February and I could not complain about this accommodation perfect room perfect area perfect service will be staying here again and again meets all my needs for a great holiday the restaurant was great meals enjoyable staff and the prices were...More

1  Thank Rachaelcheala
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a great four nights at this hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable, room service was above and beyond what was expected (the after dinner mints left with the towels in the morning were delightful). WiFi connection was a mere $1 per hour, breakfast...More

Thank Lusky49
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I don't know what people expect of budget hotels; I want clean, cheap and convenient. Hotel Sophia ticks these boxes. The room was fine. I have paid more for smaller and less clean (New York many years ago). Service was fine too and the location...More

Thank Patrick K
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Although the hotel itself has pretty snug rooms, the rooms are clean and kept that way for the duration, the staff are wonderful - helpful, responsive, warm. If you consider the price you pay for a room, with a king sized bed, in the city...More

3  Thank SaltwaterSchelly
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Firstly, they took the $150 from our credit card a day before we even arrived and when questioned they his shrugged and said it was just what they did. Then the room was dirty, the bed was unbearably uncomfortable with springs protruding from it.. we...More

7  Thank sianclayton
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$61 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#113 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$61 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#113 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (135)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (10)
Nearby
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways
tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary
feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the
city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques,
throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You
never quite know what you’ll find around the next
corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and
even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TonygMildura
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TonygMildura | Reviewed this property |
They took $150 from my credit card account, i only found out after i did a routine check of my account. I wasn't told about this upon checking in.We stayed 2 nights, & on checking out was told, that refund will take up to 5... More
1
Vote
Kevinmalta22
29 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Capehorn2 | Reviewed this property |
They are just arrogant Contact your credit card provider - tell them you have been incorrectly charged
0
Votes
emothedemo
5 September 2014|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Carl G | Reviewed this property |
Gday. I think they have a policy of a deposit taken from the credit card for everyone which is held. I checked my bank online and it was taken as "pending", but never went through as a charge. But ask them if youre unsure. I... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room 213 rear of the property quieter with a noise barrier between it and the carpark"
Read review
"Beware - extra fee doesn't get you a personal bathroom - just a place to hang your clothes!"
Read review
"Not sure where I was - but it was lovely and quiet."
Read review
"My room was on a main street but quiet enough"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing