We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pinctada McAlpine House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pinctada McAlpine House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Pinctada McAlpine House
 Click to rate
Halifax
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This boutique accommodation set in an old pearling family compound was ideal to escape the overcrowded and noisy beach resorts. A short 10-15 minute walk gets you to any place in town. The rooms were bright, airy and spacious with a choice of fan or air con. To cool off a dip in the pool did the trick. Breakfast, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxFoodie2
Worcester
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We stayed here at the end of a 9 day overland tour and couldn't have been more thrilled. It is a beautiful, tranquil retreat and we were treated like royalty. Pinctada known by the locals as the McAlpine House because it was once Lord McAlpine's home, is full of nooks and crannies with comfy sofas and wonderful furniture. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CazWorcester
Fremantle, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Have stayed twice now....a gorgeous boutique hotel. Heritage main building and grounds and a lovely little pool. Continental breakfast is on the verandah and its delicious.Its private, quiet and peaceful. Is also very quick drive to Broome town centre. For something different in Broome, I highly recommend McAlpine House.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Serena W
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We spent 5 nights at McAlpine House in August and had a delightful time there. We very quickly were able to relax in the attractive and peaceful setting especially after a warm welcome from Marilynne, Gary and Ronaldo. Their explanations about Broome in general, including places to visit, swim and eat, gave us a helpful sense of how we wished...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alphabetas
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The thing that stands out at McAlpine House, despite its beautiful ambience and tasteful decoration is the welcome on arrival and ongoing hospitality throughout your stay. Nothing is left to guess work here, the team lead by Marilynne, are at your side meeting every need you may have. That may just be a private space to relax, where a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josg29
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a family wedding and were absolutely blown away by the service. Ronaldo was so fantastic throughout both the preparations and on the wedding day itself. Before we even realised we needed something, he would jump in and provide it, and he went above and beyond in assisting with the final...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tiffany M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

While travelling around Australia on my motorcycle a few yrs ago I found this hotel. This year I took my wife, we had a small motor home called a troopey. I had to take my wife back to this hotel to show her where I had stayed while in Broom. It is a beautiful building, and the staff can not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Harley2521
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2016

My husband and I recently spent a month at McAlpine House and loved every minute. Marilynne, Gary and Ronaldo (and Rocky too) made us so welcome and always had great suggestions on what we could do each day, and in advance had booked several excursions for us. Our Garden Room was perfect and we really enjoyed breakfast each day with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Catherine P
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2016

This was completely unexpected - we stayed in the tree house room and was absolutely delighted with how cool and welcoming it was. The breakfast was amazing all hand made (yoghurt parfait) and was so very laid back. A unique place with the yesteryear feel and touch. Its close to all amenities and Gary and Marilynne will point you in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suzi-Andrew-H
Geelong
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I cancelled my booking via phone, but this seems to have not been recorded, so on the day of the previously schedule arrival date a woman with a non Australian accent called me from the facility and was very rude abusive and threatening. She did not allow for any negotiation or discussion so I terminated the conversation. She took full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
Marilynne P, Owner at Pinctada McAlpine House, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, thank you for taking the time to write a review. However, I find it necessary to record the facts of our transaction which do not appear in your review. I received an email from Expedia the night before your arrival date advising me that you had a "change of plan" and wanted to cancel your reservation. Our reservation...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
4.5 km away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
3.7 km away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
348 reviews
0.4 km away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
265 reviews
43.8 km away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
3.5 km away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As soon as you step through the modest white picket gate onto a path sprinkled with frangipani flowers and shaded by towering palm trees, you know instantly that you are entering a special place of relaxation and solitude. The former home of Lord McAlpine, Pinctada McAlpine House has been meticulously converted into a private 8-room lodge - perhaps 'oasis' is a more fitting description. A subtle blend of historical charm and modern facilities makes McAlpine House the perfect place to reawaken the spirit. Wide open verandahs and polished timber floors complement a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere which slowly extinguishes your sense of time. We encourage you to make our boutique lodge your home for as long as you stay. By day, the atmosphere is shaped as much by the lush tropical gardens and exotic birds as it is by the personalised attentive service. At night, enjoy a moment of calm by the turquoise waters of a pool lit by a myriad of tiny lights. World class resort? Private retreat? Luxury guest house? McAlpine House defies classification, and that is precisely why it is such a unique place to completely rejuvenate your soul. With just eight rooms - each with its own style and private outdoor escape, a sense of space and escape is blended with a feel of intimacy and serenity. Create your own world among the original artwork and decor reflecting the unique colours and textures of the Kimberley, or step outside to explore the wonder, beauty and contrasts of Broome's azure waters, sweeping white beaches, distinctive red earth and eclectic culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pinctada McAlpine House

Address: 55 Herbert Street | (Corner Louis Street), Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Price Range: RM603 - RM1,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pinctada McAlpine House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pinctada McAlpine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcalpine Hotel Broome
Pinctada McAlpine House Broome, Australia - Western Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pinctada McAlpine House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The library room overlooking the pool.”
HalifaxFoodie2, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I don't think you will find a bad room here but we loved ours which was off the veranda by the pool.”
CazWorcester, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Treat yourself to a Garden Suite”
serenaw274, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“loved the old pearler's room and its jarrah verandah”
alphabetas, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good, garden suites a little more comfortable McAlpine Suite is historically lovely as well as large and has a bath”
Josg29, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5