We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pinctada McAlpine House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Pinctada McAlpine House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed twice now....a gorgeous boutique hotel. Heritage main building and grounds and a lovely little pool. Continental breakfast is on the verandah and its delicious.Its private, quiet and peaceful. Is also very quick drive to Broome town centre. For something different in Broome, I highly recommend McAlpine House.

Helpful?
Thank Serena W
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights at McAlpine House in August and had a delightful time there. We very quickly were able to relax in the attractive and peaceful setting especially after a warm welcome from Marilynne, Gary and Ronaldo. Their explanations about Broome in general, including places to visit, swim and eat, gave us a helpful sense of how we wished... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alphabetas
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The thing that stands out at McAlpine House, despite its beautiful ambience and tasteful decoration is the welcome on arrival and ongoing hospitality throughout your stay. Nothing is left to guess work here, the team lead by Marilynne, are at your side meeting every need you may have. That may just be a private space to relax, where a quiet... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Josg29
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a family wedding and were absolutely blown away by the service. Ronaldo was so fantastic throughout both the preparations and on the wedding day itself. Before we even realised we needed something, he would jump in and provide it, and he went above and beyond in assisting with the final... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016

While travelling around Australia on my motorcycle a few yrs ago I found this hotel. This year I took my wife, we had a small motor home called a troopey. I had to take my wife back to this hotel to show her where I had stayed while in Broom. It is a beautiful building, and the staff can not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Harley2521
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

My husband and I recently spent a month at McAlpine House and loved every minute. Marilynne, Gary and Ronaldo (and Rocky too) made us so welcome and always had great suggestions on what we could do each day, and in advance had booked several excursions for us. Our Garden Room was perfect and we really enjoyed breakfast each day with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine P
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

This was completely unexpected - we stayed in the tree house room and was absolutely delighted with how cool and welcoming it was. The breakfast was amazing all hand made (yoghurt parfait) and was so very laid back. A unique place with the yesteryear feel and touch. Its close to all amenities and Gary and Marilynne will point you in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Suzi-Andrew-H
Geelong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I cancelled my booking via phone, but this seems to have not been recorded, so on the day of the previously schedule arrival date a woman with a non Australian accent called me from the facility and was very rude abusive and threatening. She did not allow for any negotiation or discussion so I terminated the conversation. She took full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
Marilynne P, Owner at Pinctada McAlpine House, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, thank you for taking the time to write a review. However, I find it necessary to record the facts of our transaction which do not appear in your review. I received an email from Expedia the night before your arrival date advising me that you had a "change of plan" and wanted to cancel your reservation. Our reservation... More 

Tomakin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

What a wonderful, unique, relaxing place to stay. Marilyn, Gary and Ronaldo are just lovely. Not your average type of hotel, and thats what makes it so special, i just love it! Nothing is a drama. Stayed in The Tree house, garden suit and the Pearls over the last 3 weeks at different times, all fabulous. Im coming back again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Ahead of a two week tour of the Kimberley region, my partner and I decided to start our journey with a few days in Broome. We wanted to be close to the centre of town so we booked McAlpine House. Though we'd spent time before in Broome, we'd not stayed here, and we're so glad that we did. The team... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IanParmenter

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
4.4 km away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
3.5 km away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.9 km away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
371 reviews
0.4 km away
Mercure Broome
Mercure Broome
#9 of 11 in Broome
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As soon as you step through the modest white picket gate onto a path sprinkled with frangipani flowers and shaded by towering palm trees, you know instantly that you are entering a special place of relaxation and solitude. The former home of Lord McAlpine, Pinctada McAlpine House has been meticulously converted into a private 8-room lodge - perhaps 'oasis' is a more fitting description. A subtle blend of historical charm and modern facilities makes McAlpine House the perfect place to reawaken the spirit. Wide open verandahs and polished timber floors complement a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere which slowly extinguishes your sense of time. We encourage you to make our boutique lodge your home for as long as you stay. By day, the atmosphere is shaped as much by the lush tropical gardens and exotic birds as it is by the personalised attentive service. At night, enjoy a moment of calm by the turquoise waters of a pool lit by a myriad of tiny lights. World class resort? Private retreat? Luxury guest house? McAlpine House defies classification, and that is precisely why it is such a unique place to completely rejuvenate your soul. With just eight rooms - each with its own style and private outdoor escape, a sense of space and escape is blended with a feel of intimacy and serenity. Create your own world among the original artwork and decor reflecting the unique colours and textures of the Kimberley, or step outside to explore the wonder, beauty and contrasts of Broome's azure waters, sweeping white beaches, distinctive red earth and eclectic culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pinctada McAlpine House

Address: 55 Herbert Street | (Corner Louis Street), Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Price Range: RM572 - RM831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pinctada McAlpine House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pinctada McAlpine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcalpine Hotel Broome
Pinctada McAlpine House Broome, Australia - Western Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pinctada McAlpine House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Treat yourself to a Garden Suite”
 of 5 bubbles serenaw274, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“loved the old pearler's room and its jarrah verandah”
 of 5 bubbles alphabetas, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good, garden suites a little more comfortable McAlpine Suite is historically lovely as well as large and has a bath”
 of 5 bubbles Josg29, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There all good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Harley2521, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles catherinep60, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay