We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Expedia.comUS$49*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$51*
US$49*
Great Deal
US$51*
US$50*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Emperor\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Start your review of The Emperor's Crown Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came in this hostel last year in may for a couple of week and for work reason I had to leave the hostel 1 day before of my 2 week payment , the staff were so friendly and told me if you come back here you first night it's free , your name it's inside the database of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davide b
Daniel Y, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Davide, As you informed when you came to check in, vouchers for this hostel are only valid for 6 months which you should have been informed of when you checked out in April 2016. Since you last stayed at this hostel it has taken over by a new ownership, unfortunately there was not much that we could do about...

Perth
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I've still been staying for around few weeks in the accomodation, It's comfortable,,tidy, clean and backpackers and reception staffs are all kind. All are suitable for me. I stringly reccomend if you are looking for a valuable one.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chu2777
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I stayed at a private room with a private bathroom. The price is similar to that of a 2 star hotel, but since i was traveling alone i wanted the convenience of being able to meet other travelers if i were lonely. The front desk was accommodating. Room was reasonably clean. It was a short distance of walking to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aishteru85
Brisbane
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I don't understand how they can not realise that people can see into the room when your light is on and there is a table directly out front of the window on the same level. The right hand window does not close completely so the talking noise is if you were at the table.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank knk839
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Room was fit for purpose with reasonably clean ensuite, although shower could have been cleaner. Staff were happy to help and kitchen was useful whenpreparing meals. Overall a good place to stay for the price paid

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lm123452016
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review us :) I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for giving us feedback on the showers, I will bring it up with our cleaning team. Kindest Regards, Natasha.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2017

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were good. The rooms were small especially when you have to stay together with three people you have never met before! The kitchen was dirty but it worked. I had a great stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmamM3218QZ
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We're happy that you've had a great stay! Yes, our 6 bed dorms can appear a bit small, especially if the guests don't use the lockers or the drawers underneath the beds to store away their stuff. Our 4 bed dorms however are quite spacious, especially in comparison with most of the other hostels...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The only problem we had was that when we were checking out the staff refused to give our deposit for keys and plates back because they hadnt written down that we had paid them. Got one of them back when I showed them my netbank. Also sometimes the staff was a bit rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiia K
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Kiia, I'm sorry to hear that there was a problem with the refunding of your deposits. If you could get in touch with me about this matter I would look into it and see what I can do to resolve it. I'm also sorry to hear about staff being rude to you and apologise for it. Whenever I find...

Bullsbrook
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Great location, friendly staff. Christmas party going on in the social area when I arrived yet the rooms still nice and quiet. Very clean. So far this is my favorite hostel in Northbridge, will stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juileo
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Juileo, We always appreciate to hear from our guests how much they enjoyed their stay at The Emperor's Crown Hostel. Thank you very much! Kind regards, Stefan

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

First night I had a room that smelled very bad due to transpiration/dirty clothes. Clothes were everywhere in the room. There were 2 long stay roommates and an other new guy. According to one of the roommates this happens frequently. Next day I switched rooms. New room was clean and tidy. Stayed 2 more nights. The hostel is centrally located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErikG_NL
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Erik, Thank you for your review and insights. We agree that smelly and untidy rooms is nothing any of our guests should put up with and as soon as we are aware of guests that do not adhere to our standards we kindly remind them that they share a room with others and ask them to tidy up and...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

It was very cheap... which was the only positive! The man that checked us in didn't speak English very well and was so useless and unhelpful! It's not in a great location... we got there at about 8 in the evening and we're really hungry so went out looking for somewhere to eat and found absolutely nothing! The closest thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria N
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Victoria, It's disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, especially in regards to our staff. We are located close to both the Perth CBD and the Cultural Centre of Northbridge where many food places are located, and our staff on reception should have told you where to find them (I'm not sure if you...

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
1,187 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 81 in Perth
398 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 59 in Perth
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 59 in Perth
246 reviews
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Price Range: RM70 - RM348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Emperor's Crown Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
8 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Emperor's Crown Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the room could be cleaned more regularly, people were move from rooms, and things left behind, obvious not con tool on that.”
eliseorabbi, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would avoid room 6 as the smoking area is located just outside the window and even with the window closed the room can be smokey and noisy after hours.”
grenada36, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms upstairs”
FranchiMe, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a lower bed of a bunk bed for a power point.”
aamackl, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the mixed dorm if you can afford something better”
Tintinrahman, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$51
Orbitz.comUS$50
Priceline
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates