We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bambu Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bambu Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Bambu Backpackers
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the bambu backpackers is perths little secrete location right in the heart of the northbridge city location is perfect for every new comer and those returning to relax in style the bambu backpackers gives you a feel of being in a luxury accomadation but for a third of the price cheap clean and comfortable and dont forget the staff they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
Ryan S, Manager at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Jason, thanks for the nice review! We do try our best to accommodate everyone, and it's always nice to hear that our hard work pays off. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Tim, Bambu Manager

Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spacious common room with tv. I though the staffmembers were not so nice, not really helpful, the facilities are terrible: showers are really small (you can't change inside) & not really clean. You have to pay $20 to rent a "cutlerybox" at the check-in + the key deposit (+/- the same). You have no access to the topbunk (no ladder)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lamoritz
Ryan S, Manager at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey there, we apologise if you did not feel the most welcome in our hostel. We noticed that you stayed at our hostel all the way back in April 2016, and we can assure you that a lot has improved since then. There is no charge for cutlery, and a key deposit is a requirement at any hostel you will...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We'll start with the pros because there are heaps! -Everyone is awesome! Beaches, parties, movie nights, ping pong, pool, video games, everything you could want is there! One big happy international family! -The hostel hosts new events almost every evening (Ranging from pub crawls to in house game nights) -Staff are very helpful with organizing rides to and from airport,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emerson W
Ryan S, Manager at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Emerson, thanks for the review! We have just received our order of foam soap dispensers for the bathrooms, and the pressure cleaner has been dropped off to clean the kitchen and bathroom floor and walls! The front door is accessible in case of emergency, but we will try and work on a new approach to both minimise people unintentionally...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is very clean and the organisation in the kitchen is perfect (lots of space in fridge, cooking stove and microwave super clean, no dirty dishes). The common lounge with video games is just great, as well as TV and chill out area. Music all day for a nice atmosphere (some days a bit too loud though). Free sausage...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurinette777
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Its inly a 10 min walk from the city centre and it is very clean, has a big kitchen and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They offer different free stuff every day which is great and their rooms are very reasonably priced. If your looking to save money but still be close to town and in a clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalia V
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

My friend and I only stayed for 1 night because we were going on a roadtrip the next day. The place was very lively and eyecatching you can totally spot it from afar). And it is very strategic (close to the city center and it is surrounded with a lot of bars around). Despite not trying any of the fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deby Y
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Stayed here at the end of our West Coast trip for around a week over Halloween. The hostel is set up with so many social activities such as free drinks and day trips out. The hostel manager is lovely and always made an effort to speak and to inform us of what activites were happening that day. Some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPxx
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Had a brilliant stay here, really friendly staff, decent facilities and awesome nights out with the free drinks vouchers. Met some friends for life here, enjoyed the fun and social environment of the hostel. Comfy beds, personal lockers, spacious rooms, everything the traveller needs. Can't wait to come back in January!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael B
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review . Glad to see you enjoyed Bambu , and are planing a return visit look forward to see you in January

Perth
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Had an absolute ball from start to finish and met some friends for life, brilliant if you like a good nightlife scene and going out for a few drinks, good location in northbridge and regularly cleaned, would definitely stay again!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seansalmon
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at Bambu and taking time to write a review . It's good to see so many people enjoying the hostel and all it has to offer , hopefully see you again some time

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

I have just left this hostel after nearly 2 months of staying here. I've had the best time with some truly amazing people. There is such a family environment here and the hostel constantly provides fun things to do so everyone feels included, there are drinks vouchers for the local bars 4 times a week as well so you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmineerinna
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review , and we're glad you enjoyed yourself and loved our hostel you will definitely be missed by all the Bambu family, and was a pleasure having you

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 81 in Perth
375 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 81 in Perth
1,147 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 61 in Perth
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 61 in Perth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a fun and friendly BackPacker Hostel in the centre of Perth's nightlife precinct. We aim to provide guests a cheap, clean and safe place where they can make new friends and see the best places Northbridge and Perth have to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bambu Backpackers

Address: 75 - 77 Aberdeen St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Price Range: RM78 - RM231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bambu Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i stayed in room 4 excellent clean but all the rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 965JasonS965, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“coathangers, air freshener (using timer, same for bathrooms) , recycling!!! ”
 of 5 bubbles nathalie_de_grande, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are pretty much the same, there are two girls only dorms and the rest are mixed. All of them are 8 beds with a few that have doubles on the bottom bunks.”
 of 5 bubbles K8054EFjamest, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“rooms are disgusting”
 of 5 bubbles paulchef2011, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Choose another hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles alexb842, 31 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5