We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bambu Backpackers

Booking.comUS$32*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Bambu Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Bambu Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was worried with it being such a good price, that the hostel was going to be bad. It was far from!!!!! really clean staff that go above and beyond to help and make you feel welcome big rooms comfortable bunks big kitchen good sized bathroom/ toilets/ showers something going on every night, even if its just a chill movie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
Ryan S, Manager at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review Gina! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day :) Happy travels! Tim Bambu Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Location is perfect. Close to the nightclubs, trainstation and cbd. Staff is great and there is always something going on in the hostel, especially in the evening. Manager is really helpfull as well. Rooms are pretty big and other facilities are really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henkiee11
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at Bambu and taking the time to post this great review. We glad to hear you enjoyed your stay

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

The Bambu is a great hostel! Location is perfect, the town is only 5 minutes away. Good place to socialise with bars and clubs just a short walk away. Would defo recommend. Every evening something is always going on, gets everyone involved. Great for friends and also solo travellers like myself. Very spacious, clean and tidy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsee L
Ryan S, Manager at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at Bambu and taking the time to post this great review. We glad to hear you enjoyed your stay

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The bambu is absolutely amazing! the staff and manager tim are suuuuuuper friendly and always helpful and make you feel welcome! the location is perfect you are close to public transport, shops and nightlife but its not noisy! its very clean and the rooms are not as small as in other hostels! the kitchen is large and it has also...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank man292
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this great review, we put a lot of effort into keeping our hostel clean fun and social, but also allowing our guests to get a good sleep , it's nice to see people enjoying that aspect of the hostel . Thank you for choosing to stay at Bambu and we hope to see...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2017

the bambu backpackers is perths little secrete location right in the heart of the northbridge city location is perfect for every new comer and those returning to relax in style the bambu backpackers gives you a feel of being in a luxury accomadation but for a third of the price cheap clean and comfortable and dont forget the staff they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
Ryan S, Manager at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Jason, thanks for the nice review! We do try our best to accommodate everyone, and it's always nice to hear that our hard work pays off. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Tim, Bambu Manager

Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Spacious common room with tv. I though the staffmembers were not so nice, not really helpful, the facilities are terrible: showers are really small (you can't change inside) & not really clean. You have to pay $20 to rent a "cutlerybox" at the check-in + the key deposit (+/- the same). You have no access to the topbunk (no ladder)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lamoritz
Ryan S, Manager at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey there, we apologise if you did not feel the most welcome in our hostel. We noticed that you stayed at our hostel all the way back in April 2016, and we can assure you that a lot has improved since then. There is no charge for cutlery, and a key deposit is a requirement at any hostel you will...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We'll start with the pros because there are heaps! -Everyone is awesome! Beaches, parties, movie nights, ping pong, pool, video games, everything you could want is there! One big happy international family! -The hostel hosts new events almost every evening (Ranging from pub crawls to in house game nights) -Staff are very helpful with organizing rides to and from airport,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emerson W
Ryan S, Manager at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Emerson, thanks for the review! We have just received our order of foam soap dispensers for the bathrooms, and the pressure cleaner has been dropped off to clean the kitchen and bathroom floor and walls! The front door is accessible in case of emergency, but we will try and work on a new approach to both minimise people unintentionally...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

The hostel is very clean and the organisation in the kitchen is perfect (lots of space in fridge, cooking stove and microwave super clean, no dirty dishes). The common lounge with video games is just great, as well as TV and chill out area. Music all day for a nice atmosphere (some days a bit too loud though). Free sausage...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurinette777
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Its inly a 10 min walk from the city centre and it is very clean, has a big kitchen and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They offer different free stuff every day which is great and their rooms are very reasonably priced. If your looking to save money but still be close to town and in a clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalia V
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

My friend and I only stayed for 1 night because we were going on a roadtrip the next day. The place was very lively and eyecatching you can totally spot it from afar). And it is very strategic (close to the city center and it is surrounded with a lot of bars around). Despite not trying any of the fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deby Y

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 64 in Perth
409 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
1,219 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 49 in Perth
134 reviews
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#11 of 49 in Perth
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a fun and friendly BackPacker Hostel in the centre of Perth's nightlife precinct. We aim to provide guests a cheap, clean and safe place where they can make new friends and see the best places Northbridge and Perth have to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bambu Backpackers

Address: 75 - 77 Aberdeen St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Price Range: RM74 - RM161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bambu Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i stayed in room 4 excellent clean but all the rooms are excellent”
965JasonS965, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“coathangers, air freshener (using timer, same for bathrooms) , recycling!!! ”
nathalie_de_grande, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are pretty much the same, there are two girls only dorms and the rest are mixed. All of them are 8 beds with a few that have doubles on the bottom bunks.”
K8054EFjamest, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“rooms are disgusting”
paulchef2011, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Choose another hostel.”
alexb842, 31 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$32* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$37
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates