We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bambu Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bambu Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bambu Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Had a brilliant stay here, really friendly staff, decent facilities and awesome nights out with the free drinks vouchers. Met some friends for life here, enjoyed the fun and social environment of the hostel. Comfy beds, personal lockers, spacious rooms, everything the traveller needs. Can't wait to come back in January!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael B
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review . Glad to see you enjoyed Bambu , and are planing a return visit look forward to see you in January

Perth
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Had an absolute ball from start to finish and met some friends for life, brilliant if you like a good nightlife scene and going out for a few drinks, good location in northbridge and regularly cleaned, would definitely stay again!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seansalmon
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at Bambu and taking time to write a review . It's good to see so many people enjoying the hostel and all it has to offer , hopefully see you again some time

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

I have just left this hostel after nearly 2 months of staying here. I've had the best time with some truly amazing people. There is such a family environment here and the hostel constantly provides fun things to do so everyone feels included, there are drinks vouchers for the local bars 4 times a week as well so you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmineerinna
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review , and we're glad you enjoyed yourself and loved our hostel you will definitely be missed by all the Bambu family, and was a pleasure having you

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2016

I remember the very first day I arrived in Perth and the manager asked me if I wanted to work for accommodation. I told him I've already been to Perth before and wasn't planning on staying long... I ended up staying almost 8 months!!! Bambu Backpackers is a 60 bedded hostel in the heart of Northbridge. The hostel is not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nathalie_de_grande
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at Bambu was awesome having in the hostel , you will be greatly missed as a guest and as team member , thank you for all your hard work and wish you all the best for the rest of your travels

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Currently staying in Bambu and having a absolutely amazing time. I feel so comfortable and welcome here. The vibe is super chilled out and everyone gets on well. Fantastic place to come if you're looking for a party. All staff are so friendly. Great manager and fantastic cleaner (James). I will most certainly not stay anywhere else but here for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly A
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review , were lucky in the way we seem to gather great people from all over the world and it helps Bambu keep that great vibe it always has . Great to see you enjoying the hostel

Goondiwindi, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I stayed in Bambu for a month after only just arriving in Perth. Couldnt fault the place excellent atmosphere and a great crowd of people, staff were always willing and helpful too. Very highly recommended if your looking for a place to party!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexgrout
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and taking time to write one . Was great having you in the hostel

South Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The hall is stinky, the bathroom is dirty and there's no hot water. The toilet.. I prefer avoid to talk about. We asked for a payback because we can't stay in a dirty pace like like, but it was denied.. Don't book the hostel !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chaveef
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

We take reviews very seriously at Bambu and are looking into these complaints , sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Planned on staying for 3 nights but decided to change that to 2 nights at the last minute. After 1 night i decided to go and stay at a different hostel as this place was horrendous. The whole place smells of damp, mixed in with smoke and sweaty feet (shoes outside every bedroom) the girls dorm room unwas placed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deana W
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Bambu , we always take reviews very seriously and are looking into these complaints . At the time of your booking we were extremely busy and hosting a large group of people , and apologise if this resulted in your two nights being uncomfortable

Kalbarri, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I Planned on staying in this hostel for a few weeks and ended up staying for 3 and a half amazing fun filled months !! Met the most amazing people here that I will never forget.. This hostel is a great one if u want to party ,meet cool people , have fun, and just basicaly have plenty of good...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aoifemoore2016
Ryan S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Wow thanks for the great review, it was a pleasure having you as a part of the bam fam and can only hope to see you again in Bambu

Adelaide
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Highly rate this hostel. Everyone is welcoming and are like a big family. Hostel is clean and tidy with daily routines. Drink vouchers are a big part of the hostel which are available most nights. Ring up and book a room!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesrichards95
Ryan S, Manager at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Jimmy , thanks for taking the time to write a review . It was great for us that you had such an enjoyable time here , the family will miss you guys . Hopefully your new job goes well , and you are welcome back here any time mate , take care Wardy

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#5 of 81 in Perth
394 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 81 in Perth
1,180 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 59 in Perth
131 reviews
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 59 in Perth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a fun and friendly BackPacker Hostel in the centre of Perth's nightlife precinct. We aim to provide guests a cheap, clean and safe place where they can make new friends and see the best places Northbridge and Perth have to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bambu Backpackers

Address: 75 - 77 Aberdeen St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Price Range: RM80 - RM162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bambu Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i stayed in room 4 excellent clean but all the rooms are excellent”
965JasonS965, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“coathangers, air freshener (using timer, same for bathrooms) , recycling!!! ”
nathalie_de_grande, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are pretty much the same, there are two girls only dorms and the rest are mixed. All of them are 8 beds with a few that have doubles on the bottom bunks.”
K8054EFjamest, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“rooms are disgusting”
paulchef2011, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Choose another hostel.”
alexb842, 31 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5