We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Barclay Suites Auckland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Barclay Suites Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barclay Suites Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 469: English reviews
Arrowtown
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were a group of 5 girls on a weekend away we had two units between us. Check in was great we checked in early in the morning and as one of the units were available they let us check in, the man on reception was very helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. They would be great if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChristineArrowtown
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Barclay suites was excellent for location. In the heart of the CBD it was one block from the sky tower and a short walk down hill to the ferry terminals. The decor was very drab- mostly grey in colour and it wasn't as clean as I would have preferred as the carpet had stains and was worn and really neeeded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twofoxes5457
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed here as 2 couples visiting Auckland together. The 2 bedroom room with kitchen was small in size but had everything needed - including 2 bathrooms. The location is perfect - 1 block off Queen St and close to the Sky Tower. The was supposed to be a cafe as part of the hotel - but this is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AusNZ2006
Christchurch
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Good location very central. Staff are polite and helpful. Reception can sometimes be under resourced during check in and check out times with just one person on desk. Good facilities in terms of the room though 1 night we stayed there was no jug. Now let we cover off the noise at night. I stayed there twice in October overnight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lotogunz
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Lotogunz, It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations - Barclay Suites take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland - As we are located in the heart of Auckland CBD and we can experience outside public street noise, we continue to work with the council and...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The location of the hotel is SUPERB! located just behind Queens street, 3 min walk to Queen street, and just opposite Auckland Sky tower, 5min walk to Auckland Habour. If you have a planning to stay here, choose high floor with habour view, you will never regret to pay more for the Amazing view. Especially ask for the room no.04...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrueForever
Bethlehem, PA
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Front desk was rude at the end of the stay despite an ok start. Rudeness just is not acceptable. Service wins business. Room was about as expected. Good views. I would prefer to visit the crowne plaza and have a smaller room next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank latentpower
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review latentpower, It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. I take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland - I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you have mentioned. Customer Service is one of the most important factors in my hotel..... if we were "RUDE"...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a week and could not have been more impressed! The rooms were top notch and the front desk staff were just brilliant! The apartments are superbly located right near Sky Tower and a few blocks away from the Viaduct and Briomat and just one street back from Queen Street. Would definitely recommend!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edadeppo
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review edadeppo, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. It’s great to see that we got it right - in delivering a great accommodation experience. What could have we done to get that 5th circle ...? We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Our suit was modern, clean and well appointed. The location is central to Queen Street shopping and an easy walk to many attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a 22nd floor room but could still hear the construction noise from the street below

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IRWakka
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback IRWakka, The team at Barclay Suites take pride in providing an excellent experience and value for money, as you have mentioned our Suites are clean and are completely self-contained, we are centrally located - situated between Queen Street and the Skytower which means you can access all the best activities and restaurants Auckland has to...

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Great friendly staff. 2 blocks walk to Queen St, Viaduct, Casino, Britomart. Only gripe would be cleanliness. Bathroom basin drain and overflow was disgusting. As were the hinges on the pull down shelf in the shower. Nowhere in the bathroom to put your toiletries etc. Needs blackout curtains in the bedroom rather than blinds which don't close together properly (also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob255120
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Rob255120 Apologies - It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland. We have addressed all issues that you have mentioned in you feedback. Thank You Kind Regards Franz Staufer General Manager

Putaruru, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the night mid week. We were greeted by a lovely man who gave us lots of helpful information. The apartment was roomy, views for miles and the bed really comfy (I slept so well). Lovely and central we would definately come stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire S
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review Claire S We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. – It’s great to see we are on the right track to delivering a great accommodation experience. For your next stay book direct through our website and receive FREE ultra-fast Wi-Fi We look forward to seeing you...

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,047 reviews
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 km away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Rydges
Rydges
#14 of 68 in Auckland
1,779 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
1,525 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Address: 74 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: RM697 - RM1,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barclay Suites Auckland staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
canada
over a year ago
21 days ago
21 days ago
Barron, Wisconsin
26 days ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Barclay Suites Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid like the plague rooms on the lower levels facing Albert St. At a guess this would be 202-204 to 602-604.”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorK168, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Twin beds are VERY small...for kids or tiny adults only.”
 of 5 bubbles PhyllisinHB, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“for family two bedroom is good choice”
 of 5 bubbles 356vijayn, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a higher floor and if you want a decent balcony to sit out on- go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles twofoxes5457, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here if you want to sleep, if you do stay here ask for room top floor away from Albert St side and take ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles Lotogunz, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay