We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$195*
US$165*
Great Deal
US$170*
US$195*
US$166*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,229: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights at the end of March. 9th Floor premium luxury room. A very handy location to many attractions. Bed very comfortable, curtains not 100% effective in keeping light out, we were given a city view room, view wasn't great from this height (I'd request a higher floor if theres a next time). The shower door isn't accessible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwi051
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kiwi051 Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand Hotel. Feedback is very important to us here at The Grand Hotel and on receiving your survey each of your comments were addressed with the teams. I have also updated your profile for any future stays and will note your preference for a high floor and I highly...

Austin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I stayed, there was a visiting dignitary and all elevators would stop whenever he entered or left. It made for about a 20 minute wait each time. Check in and out were a breeze. Was offered a shuttle to the airport until I found there was a charge that was higher than an Uber, it would have been double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregntommy
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gregntommy Thank you for reviewing The Grand Hotel. I am pleased that overall you had a great stay and I do apologise for the delay you experienced with our elevators. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend visited me in Auckland and he stayed there for a few days and I visited him to say hi in the morning for coffee :) the view was really cool n beautiful from his room! If my parents visits me here I will book a room for them. They will love it!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpaklnz
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jpaklnz Thank you for commenting on your visit to The Grand Hotel. We would love to welcome you back overnight in the future. We have some great deals on our website for early June and if you need any help at all making a booking, please let me know! Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the reviews really helpful - and hope you will too. We had a great experience recently staying at Sky City Grand. Lovely staff - efficient but also personable and friendly. All the facilities we used were nothing less than the best. We've stayed at a number of class hotels around the world and this one is up there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathieoguy
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kathieoguy Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel. I just delighted you enjoyed your special stay with us and will enjoy sharing your comments with the teams. It's great to hear that you are returning in a couple of weeks - can you please email me directly so that I can confirm your booking? Thank you and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at Skycity Grand Hotel for a 2 night stay on the first journey of our honeymoon and was not disappointed by the location or the hotel We got upgraded to the Harbour View room Spacious room and a decent size bathroom, however no bath tub. We did not use the hotel pool, however the bar was a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LovesToTravel85
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LovesToTravel85 Thank you for reviewing your special stay with us. We have a wonderful team here at The Grand Hotel and it will be my pleasure to pass your compliments onto the teams, especially the teams at Sean Connelly's Gusto and The Grill. Thank you again, we hope you have a fantastic honeymoon in New Zealand. Kind Regards Alison...

Midlothian, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was very clean, rooms were average size and bed was very comfortable. The location is good because there is a lot of places nearby to go eat and walk around to see. It is easy to find no matter where you are in Auckland because it is right next to the sky tower ( guess hence the name) Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMfromTX
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KMfromTX Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at The Grand Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Being part of the Skycity Entertainment complex, The Grand Hotel has so much to offer our guests with attractions, bars and restaurants and perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by! We do hope to welcome...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a wonderful stay. My room was lovely and clean. I was travelling for work so didn't get the opportunity to try most of their services. I think the only problem was trying to find the correct light switch to turn off one of the lights. They have the restaurant menus on the TV but I couldn't read the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glow_wormnz
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glow_wormnz Thank you for commenting on your stay with us, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have switched to an on-line compendium through our television but still have a menu and paper version in the room on the desk for our guests to look at, I am sorry you missed this. We look forward to your...

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the hotel! Great location and easy walk to the harbor, shops in the area and restaurants. Staff was very friendly! Great fitness facility! The staff was very helpful with recommending great restaurants in the area outside of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TamaraSantjer
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TamaraSantjer Thank you for reviewing The Grand Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your long weekend with us - we are in a perfect location for exploring Auckland city. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After experiencing the Grand Prix craziness in Melbourne, this was an oasis. Up on the 16th floor (Rm. 1608), the room is luxuriously appointed with a huge picture window facing West to the harbor. Bathtub, beautiful shower, fridge, Nespresso machine, desk, couch, great lighting. Excellent restaurants downstairs which we will try in our 2 days here. Right next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monski25
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear monski25 Thank you for commenting on your stay at The Grand Hotel. The team will be delighted to hear you are enjoying time in our Premium Luxury Harbour View Room. Thank you again for your compliments and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located right at the centre of Auckland and easy to get around. The hotel offers all you need and the staff is friendly and helpful. However it's rather expensive. There are good eateries around the hotel and some nice bars. I have been charged a surcharge because of a concert happening in town which was too much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik K
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hendrik K Thank you reviewing The Grand Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to passing your compliments onto the team. We have a vast selection of restaurants and bars for our guests to choose from - sometimes not an easy decision! We do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Alison Borland...

1,187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (727)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (174)
Viewed
View from Room (97)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (252)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (423)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
City View King Room (61)
Viewed
Grand Presidential Suite (115)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View King Room (116)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View Twin Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,050 reviews
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,136 reviews
0.7 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: RM767 - RM1,561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Allen, Texas
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
25 days ago
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good location. Amazing restaurants near by.”
Sarahliu88, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The hotel seemed very quiet, the upper floors can see the water.”
18CW, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher would give best views”
kiwi051, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The higher the better the views”
kathieoguy, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go & stay there, if you are not happy with this place your a weirdo”
622craig, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$165* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$170
Hotels.comUS$166
TripAdvisorUS$165
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates