We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,073: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We loved seeing the scenic wonders of New Zealand. But, after two weeks touring on the south and north island we were ready for a big city and some pampering. The SkyCity Grand was a perfect choice. Our room on the 20th floor had a city view, very comfortable bed, and was quite spacious. We had dinner one evening at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura F
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear China3 Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel following your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are fortunate to have so many restaurants to choose from - I am pleased you enjoyed meals at both Gusto and Depot. The team look forward to your next stay. Kind... More 

Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2015

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at the Skycity Grand a few weeks ago. As I said in the title, there is a lot to like. Since our flight landed at 7 AM, our room was not immediately ready when we arrived. The bell staff was extremely helpful storing our luggage, and we were able to check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jerry G Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel. It sounds like you had a great stay with us! Our readers will really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for recommending us and I hope we do have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive I SKYCITY Grand... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

Have just stayed at Grand Hotel. Room cleanliness etc very good but we had a room (1118)with wooden louvres attached to outside of bathroom area which let the light into your room if toilet light left on overnight. The wardrobe door could have been slid back to stop the light but lights permanently on in wardrobe and unable to be... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn O
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lyn O Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you had a disappointing stay and I am pleased that I have since had the opportunity to speak to you regarding your concerns. As I mentioned our team have recognised the difficulties that our guests have encountered trying to book packages... More 

New Castle, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We stayed here for a few nights before joining a cruise in Auckland. Everything about the experience was top notch except one minor issue noted below. We had prearranged for them to pick us up at the airport in a private mercedes van, and to also bring us to the ship. The rate was very reasonable, and their service was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank David M
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David M Thank for taking the time to post your review of The Grand Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your luxury transfer to the hotel and upgrade to our Presidential Suite - it will be my pleasure to pass your commendations onto Bridgette our Assistant Front Office Manager and to our Driver Services team. I was though disappointed... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Free wifi - I'm happy. Nice toiletries? Happy again. Nice bedlinen? yep going well. In all honesty this was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in for a while and would definitely recommend it. I am not a gambler and didn't feel that the proximity to the casino overpowering, rather it means you are smack bang in the middle... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jacmell
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jacmell Thank for reviewing your recent stay with us. It's great to read that we met your expectations whilst staying with us and you had a wonderful stay. Although our barista coffee incurs an extra charge of $4, we do have an endless supply of Kokako coffee available for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for recommending us and... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2015

So close to so many great restaurants and great day spa if you can get in. The rooms was large and we had a view of the city, very modern décor. Went downstairs to the lovely Japanese restaurant and drank in the bars on the road side. Great experience would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank hydehotel
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hydehotel Thank for reviewing your recent stay at The Grand Hotel. With over 20 restaurants and bars to choose from, making a decision can sometimes be quite difficult! Masu is one of our newest restaurants and an excellent choice. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations... More 

Houston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We stayed in Auckland for two days prior to starting a cruise. The Sky City Grand exceeded our expectations. We arrived at 6 am following 24 hours of traveling to find that our room was ready. This provided us with the opportunity of a short rest before exploring Auckland. The room was spacious and clean and had all the expected... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tmike1
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tmike1 Thank for your review of The Grand Hotel. Being able to check in early after a long flight is ideal and I am pleased that we were fortunate to have a room available for you at such an early time. We are ideally located, perfect for exploring the city on foot and I hope you enjoyed all Auckland... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2015

stayed here with 3 friends for business, got big dinner for room service, delivered hot and fresh, great food, beds were soft and i slept well, great tv/entertainment system. we had karaoke too. great place to relax, huge room, good service from staff, clean as a whistle, will come again.

Helpful?
Thank Bai W
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bai W Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The team will enjoy reading your comments and we hope to welcome you back again very soon! Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive I SKYCITY Grand Hotel alison.borland@skycity.co.nz More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Well maintained, decent sizes room. Staff very friendly, informative and knowledgeable. Location is good with easy walking distance to good restaurants, transportation and waterfront. Facilities were well maintained. A good choice if you want to spend a few days sightseeing

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch K
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mitch K Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have a wonderful team here who will be delighted to read your comments when I pass them on at our next meeting. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive I SKYCITY... More 

Wales
Level Contributor
266 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2015

stayed here on our first night in New Zealand. The room was spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is well situated, in walking distance of shops and sea front. There was a good choice of places to eat nearby.

Helpful?
1 Thank filligirl
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear filligirl Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand Hotel. It’s great to hear you had an enjoyable first night with us and I hope you enjoyed your New Zealand holiday. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive I SKYCITY Grand Hotel alison.borland@skycity.co.nz More 

1,132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (660)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
View from Room (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (209)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (423)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
City View King Room (61)
Viewed
Grand Presidential Suite (115)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View King Room (116)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View Twin Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
3,617 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,047 reviews
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#12 of 68 in Auckland
1,713 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: RM825 - RM1,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Stamford, Connecticut
western qld
1 month ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher up the better view, but often the longer you wait for a lift... totally worth it though!”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The luxury suites have lots of space and great views”
 of 5 bubbles mattr789, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with views of the harbour on level 16 well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwis2NthShoreAuck, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As for a harbor view”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller0703, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Harbor view high floor room 2001. Hotel has 23 floors.”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay