We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges

Show Prices
#15 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges
Rydges
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,925 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,819: English reviews
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Spacious room and superb customer service, what more can one ask for? And the location is supercentral! I will definitely come back to Auckland and have my room at the Rydges. Hotels in Auckland can be - to put it lightly - a challenge but here everything was splendid!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inka-Maria K
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 November 2015

The room showed big on the online images but in reality decidedly small. The restaurant was standard and very expensive. The food was rubbish and not what I expected. $200 for a tough piece of meat is out of control. I will think twice about staying there again and I will not recommend to any of my business partners or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Prebbleton
Reviewed 24 November 2015

On arrival had to join the queue - no express lane as promised. Checked in to be told we had been upgraded (earlier that day asked me to check in online to save time and that we would be upgraded) on opening the room door someone it was already occupied. We were given a room on the third floor -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marian P
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

Dissatisfied with our visit. First night room service was almost 'Faulty Towerish'. Ordered two burgers and only one arrived. The attendant then went down to get another one ordered, returned to our room and the egg was not cooked, so off he went again and returned for the third time with the second burger. I don't usually complain but when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dundeeduncan
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights. We were happy with our room. Walking distance to countdown, dennys, cafes, skycity. Downside was parking, as it was really expensive and hard to find parking. But other than that loved everything about this hotel and would love to book here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
Rydges_Auckland, Public Relations Manager at Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Mandy, Thanks for a 5/5 rating on your recent experience with us. It’s great to know you loved the central location of the hotel, we apologize for the parking fee being way to expensive, we try our best to make it as affordable for our guest. Other than that, we are glad you had a great stay. We would...

Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Overall was pretty happy with the room and we got a free room upgrade which was cool. Don't accidentally drink the Antipodes water by you bed for $6.50 a bottle though. $6.50 for some water?! Really?! Also had dinner there, food was pretty good but over-priced as you would expect from that kind of hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelwK9788DK
Rydges_Auckland, Public Relations Manager at Rydges, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your experience based on your recent stay with us. We are glad you had a lovely stay here at Rydges Auckland. The breakfast buffet is indeed a huge highlight. We would love to see you back soon. Regards, Fiona

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Stayed here for two nights. No complaints whatsoever. Centrally located, rooms are top quality and the breakfast is extensive. Wifi is very good, Only thing I would say is be aware that parking isn't cheap. $28 per exit to park a block away. We opted for the valet service at $38 per night. But overall, would recommend the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aphrodite P
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us at Rydges Auckland, it is so great to read that you loved your buffet breakfast! We have been working on making this stand out from your average hotel breakfast, I am so pleased you found it to be top quality. I hope your next stay with us...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Impressive first stay. From the moment I got off the cab I found the level of customer service outstanding - I was impressed to see my luggage already taken out of the taxi's luggage compartment while I was paying for my taxi fare. This is service. Was put on the top floor and was completely blown by the view to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penguincouple
Rydges_Auckland, Public Relations Manager at Rydges, responded to this review

Thanks for a 5/5 rating on your recent stay at Rydges Auckland. We are proud of our high level of service we provide to our guest. It’s great to know you enjoyed the central location of our hotel and the breathtaking views from your room. You’re positive feedback will be passed on to the concerned department. We would love to...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Ridges is ideally located just a short distance from the ferry terminal and main shopping precinct. The rooms are well equipped have good facilities and the staff are helpful and courteous. The only issue for me was the cost of the breakfasts - I consider that $36 per person is a bit over the top, especially when close by it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GFR47
Rydges_Auckland, Public Relations Manager at Rydges, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your experience with us, it’s great to read about your review on your recent stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. We would love to see you back at Rydges soon. Kind regards, Fiona

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I was here for a conference and Rydges has quite good facilities for that on the mezzanine level. The hotel was frantically busy because a cruise ship company was processing passengers and a large family wedding was being held in the roof bar area. So it was standing room only in the quite small foyer. The room was fine, comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Rydges_Auckland, Public Relations Manager at Rydges, responded to this review

Hi John, Thanks for sharing a review on your recent stay with us. Hope the conference went off well. Indeed the hotel was busy around that time, sorry if that caused inconvenience during your stay at Rydges Auckland. Your positive feedback will be sent to the concerned departments. We would love to see you back at Rydges Auckland soon. Regards,...

431 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (310)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (104)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Twin Studio (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,371 reviews
0.2 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,179 reviews
0.2 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
1,652 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: RM594 - RM1,718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1308 was just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Raffi1946, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are staying more than one night and are happy not to have your bed made one morning, put the green card on your door and you will get $10 off any lunch or dinner you buy from the hotel café/restaurant. ”
 of 5 bubbles jenniferbeatty, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room where the kitchen odours don't waft up when the windows are open.”
 of 5 bubbles Marian090, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“King bed room spacious with view. ”
 of 5 bubbles Shark1952, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor will be quieter and have a better outlook”
 of 5 bubbles farawaymum, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5