We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Auckland International

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Auckland International
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Auckland International
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I didnt enjoy this hostel. The staff were not friendly at all, they looked very young and unexperienced. The card lose the magnetism so fast!!!! I had to change my card to open the doors sooo many times! It was a pain! The beds were very thin and the cover looks like it was houndred years old. The toilets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delfina P
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Delfina My apologies for the experience you have had here and while it is no excuse I can confirm that our staff are very new and you're perception that they are inexperienced is quite correct. During your stay we have had a number of new staff start in preparation for our refurbished Auckland City hostel opening...

Reviewed 24 August 2016

I had a very good time here as it closes to Queen st. The staff members are such a wonderful and very helpful. Person line Tianna and another bearded guy :) ( sorry, can't remember his name) are very dedicated persons and gave me a good guidance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elayaraja A
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, and it's great to hear you had great service. we have a couple of staff with beards so will pass your comments on to all of them :) Steve - Area Manager

summer hill
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Twice mid winter. We had a double ensure. Motel style accommodation. Great value for money. Easy access for step and stair challenged people. Located close to a range of Asian restaurants, the airport bus terminus and the Irish pub for great food, downtown and the harbour. ****. WiFi was a bit crappy but that have been due to the load...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin_n_jones
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Colin, thanks for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. With our Free Wifi you are correct in that if a lot of people are streaming videos it does impact the speed for other users. Kind regards Steve - Area Manager.

Reviewed 11 August 2016

The kitchen is very large, enough dishes / pans / etc for everyone. Enough room for privacy. Clean and roach free showers/bathrooms. Big and robust lockers. But only two sockets in each four bed room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for your positive feedback about our hostel. The good news is we are currently installing power supply so that each locker will have it's own socket for you to charge devices securely in the locker. Steve Collier - Area Manager

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one the night and was really impressed with the staff, kitchen/dining area and tv/media area. All the facilities were well looked after. The rooms although basic did the job. However we had a room at the front and the noise from the road kept us awake all night, talking, singing, music, cars and the lorry taking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moonie2011
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi there Moonie, Thanks for your feedback following your stay in Auckland, I am pleased the staff looked after you and the good news is we are planning an upgrade of our rooms. Unfortunately being in a City Centre location noise from the outside of the is a challenge and we do have ear plugs at reception for those customers...

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Close to K Road which is good for nights out. If you become a YHA member the wifi is a lot better (and free however to become a member isn't). It's not a bad hostel to stay in for a couple of nights but I wouldn't want to stay there any longer.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helie1992
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Helie, Thanks for your feedback. By being a YHA member, not only do you get the benefit of a minimum of 10% off accommodation rates both here in New Zealand as well as Hi Hostels around the world there are number on members discounts for activities and travel around our beautiful country. Please see the reception staff at the...

Matamata, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I needed central city accomodation in order to attend a business event. YHA Auckland International is well located near the top of Queen St, with easy access to Airport buses and buses to downtown Auckland. I had a private room with ensuite facilities - was very clean and comfortable - I slept till 8am and didn't find it at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FathomBruce
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This is a very noisy hostel with a VERY long wait for showers and the toilet. In all honesty I am glad I was only here for one night. It was horrible and the sanitary bin was overflowing onto the floor - gross.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amos Vira G
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Amos, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations at the hostel. We try hard to manage the noise in the hostel, I will talk to our staff team with regards to this. Unfortunately if the noise is from the City there is little we can do about this.We will also work with our housekeepers with regards...

Reviewed 9 June 2016

Great place to stay in Auckland for families or backpackers! Staff are friendly and welcoming. Dorms are a good size (I stayed in a 4 and an 8 bed). Bathrooms were always clean. Kitchen was big and there was plenty of space to put your food on the shelves. Wifi was fast and free. Great location at the top of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth H
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Ruth, Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are pleased you had a great stay with us and I'll pass on your compliments to our team. Steve Collier Area Manager

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 6 June 2016

My flight was delayed coming out of Sydney due to horrible weather, and i wasn't able to get to the hostel until 1am. Thank god Venic the night manager was there to check me in and put a pleasant end to a long tiring day. Simple check-in and he gave me some suggestions on where to grab a late night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mdenci
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your feedback and it's great to hear you were so well looked after. I'll be sure to pass your comments on Venk. Steve Collier Area Manager

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
626 reviews
0.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,878 reviews
0.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,323 reviews
0.1 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Auckland International is 5-star Qualmark rated, staffed 24 hours and offers excellent amenities. Backpacker accommodation includes small and large multishare rooms. Twin, double and ensuite rooms are also available. There is a large fully equipped kitchen as well as a spacious and relaxing lounge area with Sky TV and a pool table. Other amenities include gear and luggage storage, video library, stereo and a great book exchange make this backpacker hostel a complete facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Auckland International

Address: 5 Turner Street | P.O. Box 68-149, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: RM93 - RM323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your YHA Auckland International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland International Hostel-Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland International New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Auckland International staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Auckland International staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe ask about room noise when you book if you are a light sleeper or dont like earplugs!!”
 of 5 bubbles KellnSteve, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Private facilities are worth paying extra for”
 of 5 bubbles FathomBruce, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms are too crowded. No room to move.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“1st level very loud and hot, can't recommend”
 of 5 bubbles Philipp791, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ensuites are well worth the little extra for couples.”
 of 5 bubbles barrow4, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5