We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 457: English reviews
Start your review of Great Ponsonby Arthotel
 Click to rate
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff is very friendly, gracious, and helpful. Accommodations are lovely. Neighborhood is quiet and attractive. Very near Ponsonby St. which has many restaurants, cafes, bars, and shopping amenities. Very easy access to downtown and other parts of Auckland on the InnerCity ("green") bus. Breakfast was excellent. Overall, this is one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
A TripAdvisor Member
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely stay here . Very clean. Quiet , great breakfast with Good choice. Easy access to Auckland. Highly recommended. Lived up to the reviews.stayed here at the end of our 1 week trip around Northland and was restful after a fast roadtrip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were looking forward to staying here - a treat for our last night. Unfortunately we did not have a good stay at this well reviewed 'hotel'. Our courtyard room was cluttered and dirty, with dust , cobwebs and a rug that needed a good hoover. The window over the bed had no curtain or blind and an outside light...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Procleap
GreatPonsTeam, Front Office Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had this experience with us - what a shame you didn't speak to us at the time. As you have said, on this particular morning we were having some problems – we were down 2 staff and doing the best we could with just one person on duty. And again as you say,...

Kapiti Coast, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our friends booked us into Arthotel, telling us it was fabulous in every way, and the breakfasts are especially fabulous. We agree. Absolutely. From the welcome cold or hot drink, very clean and fresh large room with ensuite & everything provided including a mini-bar, the friendly helpful staff, the delicious buffet and cooked breakfast (mostly local and home-made), and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holdteus
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

For a first stop in New Zealand this was an excellent choice. Near shops good restaurants and a bus route into Aukland, this hotel was well set up. As a first stop for us in New Zealand this Hotel was well placed. It had an interesting and pleasant vibe to it and the staff were very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve B
Surrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ponsonby is situated on a hill just outside the centre of Auckland. It's a vibrant, arty sort of place with an interesting history and many characterful villas, of which Great Ponsonby Arthotel is one. We stayed here just one night, but admired the artistic decor and furnishing. Our room in particular was clean, comfortable and thoughtfully equipped. This B&B does...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack023
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our daughter found this place for us as she planned our NZ itinerary. What a gem. We had the penthouse and it was a gloriously spacious and cozy space. Bathroom, kitchenette, sitting area and bed area. Also a balcony. The decor is eclectic and so interesting. Breakfast is included and yummy! And two days we had to leave before breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Virginia P
Odenton, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Great Ponsonby Arthotel was our first stop after a long and bumpy flight from San Francisco. We were quite tired....and wanted a nice hot shower and some peace and quiet....and we got it in our charming room. We received a kind and warm welcome from Holly, and after we rested up, we went off to see downtown Auckland (bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret T
Morrisville, Vermont
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I travel a great deal and prefer to stay in small inns and bed and breakfasts. We appreciate a unique sense of place offered by the hosts and quests in a well run establishment. The Great Ponsonby Arthotel was a great example of the advantages for this way of travel. The location was perfect for getting to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nan Carle B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we loved it here! and would stay again in a minute. very relaxed atmosphere, friendly helpful staff and generous well turned out rooms. lovely garden to relax in or in the sitting area. there is a large choice of cold or hot breakfast or create your own, nothing is too much trouble.if you like walking Ponsonby is an easy stroll...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen O
GreatPonsTeam, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we would love to have you back again as well (to try another breakfast - it can change depending on what is in season, too!). We are glad that the garden and common areas are appreciated by guests, and we are fortunate to be in such a wonderful location.

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
4:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,960 reviews
0.5 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,175 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
1,129 reviews
1.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: RM860 - RM1,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Ponsonby Arthotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Great Ponsonby Arthotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 was a little small for the price, but the balcony was great!”
 of 5 bubbles P4499CNamyb, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be quiet as on very quiet street with no through traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles MPC69a, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“"Uncle" who can pick you up at the airport is Always a good idea - just makes everything go easier.”
 of 5 bubbles jhalbe01, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Parking is a challenge. Auckland is a good starting point, though does not begin to represent the wonders of NZ.”
 of 5 bubbles Respitesearch, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“None of the rooms have views, but there are a few with a private balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 369eunicen, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5