We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great Ponsonby Arthotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 442: English reviews
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Gerry, Sally and staff made us right at home. This was a great choice for us arriving on 6:30 AM local time flight. We were able to make arrangements to book our room for the night before, have a car pick us up at the airport, and move us into our room before anyone was stirring in the house. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewebca
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We had one night at the Great Ponsonby and found it very much as others have written. It is quirky and charming with a great breakfast cooked to order. We had a front room which was not very big, but adequate with modern ensuite. Good quality toiletries are provided. Sally and Gerry are so cut out for this hosting business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
Nottingham
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here for one night before leaving New Zealand. We'd really looked forward to coming, as an expensive treat before going back to the UK. I guess we'd imagined that it would be exceptional having read many of the reviews. As it happens, the room we stayed in was very small and ordinary, a fact that the host commented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JerryNottingham
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My wife and I stayed with hosts Sally and Gerry and were completely satisfied with the experience. The room was well appointed, quiet, and very artful. The breakfast choices, endless and delicious. The staff was well trained and eager to help. Ponsonby is as easy location to be based. The hotel has parking and bus lines are very convenient. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel. Warm welcoming staff who provided great tea and banana loaf on arrival! Rooms are fresh clean tidy and spacious. The breakfast was very tasty and the staff were very accommodating for special dietary needs. Overall a very cute boutique B&B with friendly staff and a great location. Would recommend to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2013

What a find. We arrived in Auckland, not sure about what we would do. No problem. Gerry & Sally suggested all sorts of things we would not have found on our own. We went by ferry to Waiheke Island to see the Sculpture Walk, to jazz in the Auckland Domain and interesting walking tours. The Great Ponsonby is in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine_R75
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I don't usually stay in B&B's in Auckland, however, this was a great place! Very comfortable room and friendly people. Unfortunately, I had a breakfast meeting to attend so didn't get to have the breakfast experience!! Next time. A VG rating only because I didn't try the breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
Cameron Park, California
Reviewed 27 February 2013

On the plus side we were greeted and helped by the very friendly and helpful Holly. She was a delight to deal with. On the negative side, the room was small and we had trouble fitting in with two large bags. Breakfast menu was impressive but the new cook was having trouble delivering - my husband's breakfast was overcooked the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karamary
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

I am sorry your breakfasts were not up to scratch. We would have been happy to have replaced them had you asked just as we tried to make it a better for you after the noise at night by giving you an award winning bottle of wine from our cellar. I am sorry you did not mention that. I am...

Copenhagen
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Staying at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel was a really lovely experience. Sally and Gerry are wonderful. I felt comfortable and at ease as soon I walked into the establishment. The rooms are clean, the bed I slept in was great, the staff are friendly, service is excellent and the vibe is calm and happy. The location is perfect - especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allimac001
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We, recently, had the chance to stay in Auckland for a couple of nights before travelling to Queenstown for a wedding. As usual, we stayed at the Great Ponsonby. I was pleasantly surprised when Sally told me that my first stay with she and Gerry was nearly 20 years ago, just after they'd opened for business. I didn't realize it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter_gadsden

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
4:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,876 reviews
0.5 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 68 in Auckland
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,134 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
1,094 reviews
2.6 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: RM879 - RM1,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Ponsonby Arthotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Great Ponsonby Arthotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 was a little small for the price, but the balcony was great!”
 of 5 bubbles P4499CNamyb, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be quiet as on very quiet street with no through traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles MPC69a, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“"Uncle" who can pick you up at the airport is Always a good idea - just makes everything go easier.”
 of 5 bubbles jhalbe01, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Parking is a challenge. Auckland is a good starting point, though does not begin to represent the wonders of NZ.”
 of 5 bubbles Respitesearch, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“None of the rooms have views, but there are a few with a private balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 369eunicen, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5