We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ponsonby Backpackers

    2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$48
    View Deal
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Dining (1)
    Kiwi International Hotel
    689 reviews
    #32 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Abaco On Jervois
    315 reviews
    #2 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    SKYCITY Grand Hotel
    2,494 reviews
    #4 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
    908 reviews
    #24 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Overview
    • Excellent56%
    • Very good35%
    • Average6%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    Paid Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Laundry Service
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    Offers from Ponsonby Backpackers
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Kiwi International Hotel
    689 reviews
    #32 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Abaco On Jervois
    315 reviews
    #2 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    SKYCITY Grand Hotel
    2,494 reviews
    #4 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
    908 reviews
    #24 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (381)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 339 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    It is a very clean facility with attentive and friendly staff. The other guests are typically very friendly and easy to talk to. I have found it to be the most accessible hostel from that perspective since arriving in New Zealand. It isn't a party...More

    Thank William B
    Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

    Hi thanks for leaving us an awesome review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be clean and the staff friendly. :) Stoked that you loved our chilled vibes. If you are ever in Auckland again we...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We had a two night stay booked at Ponsonby Backpackers through Hostelworld during one of the very busy sold out Lions v All Blacks rugby test weekends in Auckland, when accomodation was scare and if, otherwise available, was extremely expensive. We had made this booking...More

    Thank Glen T
    Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

    Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Again we can only apoligise for the mistake on cancelling your booking. I believe that when you spoke to the manager she too was still trying to get to the bottom of your canceled booking,...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Ponsonby Backpackers is located in a lively part of Auckland pretty close to the CBD. Takes only a couple of minutes to get there by foot. The managers are nice and welcoming and the whole hostel is clean and tidy. Unfortunately there are only a...More

    Thank Beblibla
    Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

    Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by and with easy access into the city. We are very fortunate to...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    During our 3 week tour around the North Island, we were visiting Auckland twice. We originally booked to stay here on our first visit and elsewhere on our second. After our first experience here, we cancelled the other hostel and re-booked here. Here's why: Ponsonby...More

    Thank bluestingray
    Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

    Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much first time round that you re-booked to come back. :) We consider ourselves very lucky to have an awesome team here at Ponsonby...More

    Reviewed 17 July 2017

    I was traveling through Auckland for a short stay and found Ponsonby Backpackers. After registering, I contacted the staff to find out if I could add a day to my room. They immediately responded and helped me add a day (I was in luck, also,...More

    Thank kbs1087
    Kiwi International Hotel
    689 reviews
    #32 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Abaco On Jervois
    315 reviews
    #2 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    SKYCITY Grand Hotel
    2,494 reviews
    #4 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
    908 reviews
    #24 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$23 - US$57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 45
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Auckland Region >
    • Auckland
    • Also Known As
    • Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central ,
    • Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (22)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Abaco On Jervois
    315 reviews
    .91 km away
     
    Kiwi International Hotel
    689 reviews
    1.43 km away
     
    SKYCITY Grand Hotel
    2,494 reviews
    1.54 km away
     
    Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
    908 reviews
    1.22 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Prego Restaurant
    433 reviews
    .10 km away
    Ponsonby Road Bistro
    144 reviews
    .14 km away
    Farina
    119 reviews
    .19 km away
    Adam Arnold Kitchen & Bar
    36 reviews
    .09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ponsonby
    482 reviews
    .69 km away
    Foxes Island
    9 reviews
    .67 km away
    Western Park
    7 reviews
    .66 km away
    Victoria Park
    13 reviews
    1.01 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ponsonby Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "You can't really go wrong: even the dorm rooms are nice."
    Read review
    "I stayed in a private double w/ shared bathroom. Just fine. Would love a small table."
    Read review
    "I can imagine that the 2nd floor rooms are quieter, but it is a very quite and respectful place"
    Read review
    "take ear plugs as this is in a great busy location"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing