We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
va
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights after our cruise. John and his wife are so welcoming and Mei cooked us a wonderful breakfast every morning. We stayed in their best suite with the private bathroom and living room. There was a bottle of good New Zealand Sauvingon Blanc wating for us in our mini-fridge - thank you John. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fkubick
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I started out New Zealand and Australia trip in Auckland and stayed at the Braemar. John welcomed us with open arms and reached out to us prior to our arrival with advise and recommendations. He's always available and was a fountain of knowledge for us on things to see and do, and what to look for as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DragoninVirginia
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I booked to stay in March this year. Hosts were very good at getting in contact and seeing what we needed prior to the visit. I had to cancel due to changes in travel, still very impressed with service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajivbalbharan
Chelsea, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Braemar is in an older home within easy walking distance of downtown Auckland. The proprietors, John and Mel were charming and very helpful. There was a choice of beer or wine in the afternoon and we enjoyed the full Kiwi breakfast. Try this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrontierAccountant
BraemarNZ, Owner at Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed what we have here. Lets do it again. Cheers

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This B&B is right around the corner of some of the best hotels in Auckland and tucked away on a quiet side street. The room was very comfortable, breakfast was great, and the hosts were very accommodating, friendly, and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel H
BraemarNZ, Owner at Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland, responded to this review

We encourage our guests to interact with us and the other people in the house. Glad to see that you, travelling by your self, really enjoyed the traveler's tales and friendly conversation around the breakfast table and over a drink in the late afternoon. Staying here for several days you really got to feel at home. We're right in town...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early following our flight from North America and were graciously welcomed by the owner with a pot of tea. Our room cleaning was expedited and we were able to settle in before noon. Our entire experience at Braemar was consistent with the initial welcoming, flexible attitude. The owner saved this historic building from a likely wrecking ball fate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
BraemarNZ, Owner at Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed what we have here. The pirate radio stories followed the 50th Anniversary celebrations of Radio Hauraki's first broadcasts from a ship in Auckland's Hauraki Gulf - pirate broadcasts that broke the government's radio monopoly. I had the privilege in the 70's and 80's of being a DJ with some of those pioneers. We had so much fun....

Half Moon Bay, California
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Delightful hosts and comfortable rooms. This small B&B was perfect for our visit to Auckland. The hosts, John and Mel, went far out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us. Wonderful warm place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeriKay
BraemarNZ, Owner at Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you. So glad you and Gary enjoyed what we have here, we enjoyed your company too. All the best for the bees too.

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2017

John and Mel, you lovely couple, it was a pleasure to meet you both. Thank you very much for your hospitality. We had a really good time, we were really impress with the place, we will come back. We highly recommend Braemar on Parliament to everyone. Have a great 2017!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hernancanterna
BraemarNZ, Owner at Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland, responded to this review

Braemar, originally built as a family home, worked so well again when you came with you little family. Your boys were so well behaved. It was a joy so see how much you enjoyed being together here with us. Please come again.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I stayed at Braemar in December 2016, and again in January 2017. The hosts, John and Mel, could not have been nicer. The house is "one of a kind," over 100 years old, and has been restored in period style. The claw foot bathtubs, original mantles, and arched doorways make this place unique. We felt so at home after our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redrebecca2015
BraemarNZ, Owner at Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland, responded to this review

It was lovely having you and your friends here with us and so glad you came back for more. The photos you took look great too. Glad you had a great trip around New Zealand.

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Fantastic B&B! Very special old House where one of the most classic NZ movie scene of "goodbye pork pie" was filmed. Charming host and hostess, you can ask them for anything they will help you or provide if possible. You can feel as at home if you wish. We were treated with a bottle of wine for our Christmas! Pleanty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gosia L
BraemarNZ, Owner at Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. You were great company. Thanks for sharing photos and stories of your city, Krakow. All the best for the New Year.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
2,096 reviews
1.4 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,320 reviews
1.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,875 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There's nothing else like it. Braemar is the only heritage home right in town you can sleep in. A lovingly restored 115 year old Victorian town-house, in park like surroundings with all the attractions of NZ's largest city just a short walk away. On the University of Auckland campus, up the hill from Vector Arena, the Auckland SkyTower, ASB Tennis Stadium and over a hundred of the finest restaurants in New Zealand. We include FREE; full breakfast, valet parking, high speed wifi and run of the house lounges. Your host John is a born and bred Aucklander and loves to share his local knowledge and great life stories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland

Address: 7 Parliament Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: RM790 - RM1,289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar On Parliament Street B&B Auckland New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only one of the rooms has ensuite, the other 3 share a bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles fkubick, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Victorian Room is a lovely large room with a clawfoot bath and a toilet in the bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles janetlisab, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the largest suite with adjoining sitting room, was very quiet with gorgeous bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles tonib734, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the well hidden private carpark. Ask for a private bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles FionaL252, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“It is an old building so rooms are smaller and with fewer facilities all rooms are unique.”
 of 5 bubbles tazminac2016, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5