We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SKYCITY Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
SKYCITY Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,841 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,680: English reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Stayed at the sky city hotel on Friday 30.10.15 for 1 night the inside of the room was excellent we had a twin room the beds were comfortable and the room was clean and tidy the only down fall was that there was no view from our room we stayed in room 176. The best rooms to get if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moses R
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Moses R I would firstly like to extend my gratitude that you have taken the time to post such a lovely review on Trip Advisor of your recent stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. I am delighted to learn that our rooms served you beneficial, however with a view may I suggest requesting for a room on the...

Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Sky City Hotel. The rooms are very clean and the bed is super comfortable. I have noticed at other places you get a comfortable bed but uncomfortable pillows or visa versa. This hotel has the full package both mattress and pillows are comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwigirl0051
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kiwigirl0051 Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review of your recent stay here with us on Trip Advisor. I am absolutely thrilled that our beds and pillows were to your comfort level and I do hope you were able to get the most our of them during your stay here with us....

Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

enjoyed my stay here, good comfy bed, close to everything and convinent location. even managed to get free parking. thanks skycity. that was awsome of you. the bathroom had plenty of space and all the staff were easy to deal with and had every request sorted

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris G Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am so thrilled to learn that you had an enjoyable stay here with us and that our rooms were to your comfort levels. I do hope that you were able to take full advantage of the fantastic amenities and conveniences the...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2015

If you want to experience Auckland city’s vibrant nightlife, then this is the hotel for you. The hotel is right in the heart of Auckland with lots of restaurants, cafes and bars near by. If you can't get sleep in the middle of the night, you can go down to the casino to try your luck. We've been asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rwg1123
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rwg1123 Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor, very much appreciated. I am so glad that our facilities and room had served you beneficial during your stay. Here at SKYCITY we are so very fortunate to be a part of such a grand complex...

Reviewed 31 October 2015

Very nicely located hotel. We had opted for a suite and it didnt disappoint. Lots of space in the room. Skycity casino is within the hotel and access to the Sky Tower. The hotel entrance was like a mall. The parking was pricey and huge (you can easily forget where you parked your car, but they have a car search...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Praneet S
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Praneet S I would like to share my gratitude that you have taken the time to post such a lovely review on Trip Advisor and I assure you I will share your kind words and compliments with our team as it is so encouraging to receive such positive feedback. I am thrilled to learn you were had opted to...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 30 October 2015

It's a Good Hotel just adjacent to the Sky tower . water front is also on the walking distance of 10 mints , lacated near all happening streets . The hotel has casino as well . service was fine , Room was comfortable and decent size . Bed & bath was nice . definitely a good option to stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SameerDharkar
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SameerDharkar Thank you very much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to learn that you had an enjoyable stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel and that you took great advantage of the convenience of our location and all the great amenities we have to offer in and around...

Va
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Everything was mediocre Room was clean access was confusing. Location was great. Lots of construction and stores or restaurants hat closed but the signs are still up. Staff very nice. For a business trip fine. Casino was easy to enter Not much of a restaurant selection in hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDKCS5
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MDKCS5 Thank you so much for your honest review on Trip Advisor. We are very appreciative of feedback such as yours as it will only further assist us in improving all those areas our guests feel we may be lacking. I am pleased to learn that your recent stay here with us was fine and that our staff had...

Sydney
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Avoid it if you can unless you're in Auckland for gambling and you like sleeping in the casino. The area is a mess as one of the Skycity properties is being refurbished. There seem to be two different Skycities. The Grand is fine. The other one is complete crap. The corridors smell with air conditioning stale air. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mirek R
Colin_McClean, Hotel Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is clear we let you down. I appreciate it is unacceptable that you were checked into a vacant room that displayed a name other than yours. We agree, it was unprofessional of us to make that error. We understand our error and we are deeply disappointed for the impression it made. We...

Auckland
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We have stayed at Skycity in the past 3 or 4 years quite a few times and then a year ago, switched to Skycity Grand. On this occasion, as the Grand was sold out of the room style that we needed, we decided to book at Skycity. The room is in desperate need of refurbishment, it was stained, smelly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JayEm66
Colin_McClean, Hotel Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your time and effort. We are dedicated to providing an exciting and enjoyable room experience. Your feedback suggests we fell short on this occasion. We are very disappointed. There is no excuse for a cracked shower head or an unreasonable delay in delivering a luggage rack. It's also disappointing that we...

Tilghman, Maryland
Reviewed 27 October 2015

There are 2 similarly named hotels right next to each other. This is the less luxurious of the two, and correspondingly cheaper but more than satisfactory. The Casino is part of the building and easily accessible, but you do not have to trek through it (as in Las Vegas) to get to the reception desk. What a relief. The reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian J
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian J Thank yo uso much for taking the time to post such an excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel! Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to provide our guests with an exceptionally high standard of service to ensure that our guests...

532 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (510)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (115)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (204)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,409 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.0 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,194 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland
1,695 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: RM631 - RM1,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a city view”
cityfan4ever, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best Views, It's all you can ask for.”
, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are likely to have less noise from the casino”
754patriciamr, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The higher up, the better.”
A6572XCjeffb, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“best veiw would be facing habour unless you want to view the tower??”
, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5