We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

VR Hamilton Hotel

Booking.comUS$53*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$101*
US$53*
Great Deal
US$76*
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
VR Hamilton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for VR Hamilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 326: English reviews
ohio
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I dont understand this hotel is still open. Run by people that don't care at all. The building could be so great if it would be renovated but now it's just a big DUMP! Dirty carpets, broken beds, moldy showers, broken tiles, (pubic) hairs on bathroom floors, trash under beds and bed stands, sticky furniture, broken window, wood rot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valerieOhio
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton Hotel and taking time to share your experience. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the challenges you have experienced, as this does not reflect at all our normal standards. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to...

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I was mortified at the state of this Hotel on my arrival, as the pics speak for themselves, I'm shocked that a Hotel that is in such a disgusting filthy state is still operating, this place should be closed down to be repaired & cleaned up, it's a health hazard !! 😡

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nikki B
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following a recent stay at VR Hamilton Hotel. I am terribly disappointed to know that your stay was not to your satisfaction. Please accept my apologies for the challenges you faced throughout your stay. I am not the one to take such things easily, all of...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

As the title suggests... its an old fashioned hotel conveniently located in the center and very confortable. We never had stayed on such a big room! The bed was huge, bathroom enormous also. We didnt got a y kind of views, but it was ok. Friendly.staff on reception

 Report
Helpful?
Thank violeta y
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton Hotel for your recent stay. We are glad to know that your stay with us was comfortable. We will be delighted to look after you each time you will visit VR Hamilton. We are eagerly waiting to welcome you soon on your future travels. With Regards Front Office Manager

Reviewed 29 March 2017

Stairwells were all damaged from what appeared to be earthquake damage, on review it appears this was incorrect and was infact water damage. The building had signs of it everywhere. During my stay, around 9pm, i had water dripping from the ceiling onto the carpet within my room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shauna2016
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton Hotel for your recent stay. Our hotel building is very old and retro styled and hence, being counted as one of the heritage buildings in New Zealand. Due to heavy rainfall and high speed winds there was a slight damage on our roof which has now been fixed. I assure you that...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Not all rooms are as good as the best photos that you see on hotel booking websites. I`m sure there are some deluxe rooms available but if you book a standard double room you may well be disappointed, I was. Drab and well worn sums my room up. The bathroom was big and also well worn. The only view was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton Hotel for your recent stay. I apologise for the kind of stay that you had. We were under a process of renovating our hotel and giving our rooms a fresh look. All the other services like Wifi have now been improved so we hope that we can see you again and provide...

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Good points: size of rooms, comfortable beds! Bad points: misleading info on booking site mini bar? Alarm clock? Parking? Unhelpful staff, we booked room with spa bath to find it was out of order, phoned reception to be told "you have a shower" Moved rooms to a room with a terrace, spa bath not the cleanest, tiles dirty, cracked panes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle W
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback on our hotel. It is definitely not good to hear that your stay with us was not at all convenient. We were under a process of renovation with deep cleaning in our heritage building. Your feedback gives us the motivation to improve and increase our level of guest service deliverance....

Oman
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I booked this hotel through booking.com and selected the pop up box that asked if I wanted a parking space. When I arrived however I was asked if I had a small car, then was told I was lucky because only one space was left. I was also told that I would have to hurry and park because the space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. It is sad to hear about all the mess that was created upon your check in. I personally apologise for that. Yes, we use the car parks on first come first serve basis due to the availability of limited car parks. The car park gets locked at 11...

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

For some reason I was upgraded to the executive suite when I booked through agoda. So much room . Enough for a cricket game. Styley Real comfy clean luxurious beds Felt like a movie star all night Check the parking situation before you arrive though. I'm pretty sure it said free parking but when I got there there were no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was memorable. At VR Hamilton we thrive to exceed guest's expectations. Yes we do have some limited car parks that we use on first come first serve basis. We will hope to see you back soon. With Regards...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 17 March 2017

To be positive, the room was large. To be negative, it was COLD - nothing to do with the heating (not working) nor the plumbing (I guess their trick is to make the hot water so slow that you pay for another night) but the smashed windows, and the cardboard on the outside trying to hide this. Tired old hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Des W
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. I personally have looked into your mentioned concern and found out that the window was broken by the guest who stayed in that room one night before and just because there was no one to come and fix it on an urgent basis and keeping in mind that...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at VR Hamilton for one night. The room was spacious and clean if not a little dated. It was not four star by European standards but certainly was fine. The location was good for the city centre with plenty of restaurants on the doorstep. The breakfast next door in Piccolo was very good. A good hotel for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gadjie82
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. We appriciate you for taking out time and posting a valuable review about us. it is good to hear that you liked the cleanliness and space of our room. Your kind comment about the breakfast is our motivational drive. We hope to see you soon. With Regards Sagar...

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.3 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
162 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
1,122 reviews
0.5 km away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 62 in Hamilton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
934 reviews
0.6 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#44 of 62 in Hamilton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
VR Hamilton Hotel is located within a stunning heritage listed building in the heart of the Hamilton city. With its beautiful surroundings, VR Hamilton Hotel continues to impress and satisfy its guests through providing the warmth and genuine hospitality that has become the hallmark of the Hotel. A versatile set of function rooms, comfortable and high quality accommodation, combined with our attentive and friendly team makes VR Hamilton Hotel a great venue for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about VR Hamilton Hotel

Address: 237 Victoria Street | Corner Victoria & Collingwood Sts, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand (Formerly Hamilton City Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: RM276 - RM2,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Hamilton
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Hamilton Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from VR Hamilton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great view over Victoria Street at night.”
robinm304, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't chose this hotel.”
795sallyw, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid parking spot "5"”
TimnLiz_13, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't book a room at all!”
  • dusty curtains in bathroom
  • dirty floors
  • wood rot
  • hairs on floors
  • hairs and dirt on floor
  • dirt tiles
  • trash under beds
  • broken bed
valerieOhio, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose elsewhere”
shauna2016, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$53* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$76
Orbitz.comUS$76
CancelonUS$101
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates