We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

888 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Hamilton Tainui
See the most recent reviews
Showing 868: English reviews
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed here on the night of our wedding so arrived late and left early the next morning. The room had a large, comfy bed and view of the river (shame it was a dreary day). Bathroom could be modernized. Buffet breakfast was included in the price, and although we had to eat in a rush as we were getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicem2
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Alicem2 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Ibis Tainui. It is pleasing to read that your enjoyed your quick visit with us. We hope to see you again another time. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton

Wellington
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I've stayed here a few times now and the place is consistently good. Even very, very good. The reception staff are very accommodating and helpful. The rooms have always been immaculate. I ordered the salt and pepper calamari for dinner and I was blown away with just how succulent and fresh it was. It just melted in your mouth. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoverReturns
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear RoverReturns Its great to read that you always enjoy your visits with us at Ibis Tainui. I will share your comments with the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2016

A last minute short stay was required in Hamilton. The IBIS suited the bill and did not disappoint. The Hotel is a little 'tired' but clean and the room rate was resonable; the room was more than adequate for a short stay; King bed; reasonable space; temperature well controlled; and the Hotel is well located for access to the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian/Cheryl P
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Brian/Cheryl P Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit. Pillows are always a personal choice and wont suit everyone, please in the future just ask and we can provide you with a different style that may suit you better. Again thank you for your feedback...

Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Found everything that we needed. Room not overly big. Worse part about our stay was the noise during the night from other guest at the other end of the hallway. There appears to be no noise block between room and hall although between rooms seemed ok. We had a very disturbed sleep through to about 3am.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sally15432
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear sally15432 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I apologise that you were disturb by noise throughout the night but pleased that you found everything else satisfactory. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

So this is a first! You order room service and once you have completed the order, the polite lady states I will call you when it is ready so you can come and pick it up..... I asked "really" and she states, yes, when it is ready you can pick it up, we don't deliver to the rooms. No warning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Ibis Hamilton. The first thing you notice is the exceptional level of service and this continued for our two day stay. We had a king room overlooking the river and it was spacious and very comfortable. The room had everything we needed. We ate in the restaurant twice for dinner meals and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The room we stayed in was the tiniest one I've ever been in. The dark interior doesn't help. There was a tiny window which meant not a lot of natural light. To be fair I haven't stayed at any other hotels in the Hamilton City Centre so not sure if this is standard size. The bathroom was so small that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pereiran
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This is definitely budget style accommodation but every staff member I encountered was polite and helpful. My pillows were thin and lumpy, probably past their use by date but the bed was comfy and the room was lovely and dark. Dinner in the restaurant was great and the salmon was cooked to perfection. Unfortunately the hot food in the buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missdannilouise
Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The parking was expensive & the pillows lumpy. this was an ok stay at Ibis Hamilton. It is in an easy find location with plenty of eateries & bars near by. I didn't find the staff that helpful. We stayed 2 night & one was more than enough i was too tired form my poor sleep with the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denieleb
Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 687val
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 65 in Hamilton
1,052 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#13 of 65 in Hamilton
139 reviews
1.4 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 65 in Hamilton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
1.0 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.8 km away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#14 of 65 in Hamilton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: RM293 - RM559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Hamilton Tainui staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
3 months ago
Hamilton, New Zealand

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Hamilton Tainui staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior river view.”
 of 5 bubbles Andysafrica11, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“River view is better to avoid town side traffic noise, but some noise from the trains which seemed to run overnight.”
 of 5 bubbles HollyHants, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose river view room as high as possible”
 of 5 bubbles Dougie_the, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a riverview room to capitilize on the river views”
 of 5 bubbles EuniceTravels, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor, ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles Alicem2, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay