We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Show Prices
#9 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

728 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scenic Hotel Te Pania
See the most recent reviews
Showing 692: English reviews
Bucks
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Napier is well-known for its Art Deco architecture and we stopped here overnight to admire it and explore the town. COming from the North you enter the town past the airport and past the container port, not the prettiest, but once into "old" Napier, rebuilt after an earthquake and fire in 1931, the setting is great, with lovely gardens, fountains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank accidentaltourist_8
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time. warm regards Kerryann

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a week. Service was good. Rooms have good beds and showers are great. Air con works well thank goodness, was 30 degrees! Sea views from each room make it very relaxing. Some construction happening over the road but was not noisy or disruptive/

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angus L
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your review..glad to hear you enjoyed basking int he warmth! Happy travels and we look forward to your return. warm regards Kerryann

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My sister and I stayed here to go to a concert at Church Road Winery. It's the perfect location for a visit to Napier - a short walk to the main shopping area, the heated pools directly across the road, or swim at the beach in the same zone. The delightful manager Sue is really lovely and very helpful, she...

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I will pass your commnets on to Sue, she is a treasure and we appreciate you acknowledging her. warm wishes Kerryann

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Welcoming staff, clean room, wonderful views and beautiful food in the in-house restaurant. Only gripe was the very loud door slamming on all other rooms including ours, in hotel. I voiced my concerns and spoke at length to hotels manager, who assured me something would be done. To be woken at all hours by slamming doors {due to crazily over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skylab1965
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful review. We have actioned your advice with regards to the door. Many thanks Kerryann

Quenington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had real expectations of the Te Pania, modern, different, super views across to the beach and sea. Certainly modern, very clinical, white and rooms a good size and furnishings and bathroom a good standard. But views across to the sea .... did not happen ... we were on 3rd floor and looked across to a building, which was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jdmd2015
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The convention centre is in the final stages of a redevelopment, that is the construction across the road, this work is scheduled to complete in March. We appreciate your reference to the staff being friendly, they try to attend to all guests needs and we thank you for your comments. warm regards Kerryann

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Paid top dollar for two rooms in Napier - more than any other in New Zealand, including Auckland, and got the rooms with the worst view. We literally overlook the parking area and construction across the street. Everyone who walks by looks into our room as the sidewalk is less than 8' away. The reason given? That we booked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Begum75
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. At present the Hotel is fully booked on most nights. We have 6 floors and we allocate rooms factoring in guests preferences, length of stay etc. I am sorry we were unable to room move you during your stay. The team doies its very best to accommodate all our guests requests. With regards the rate,...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently,we stayed in the above hotel for 3 nights. The problems we encountered were: 1. the room had been designed for people with disabilities with which we had no problem. However, the bathroom shower floor was not sloped properly towards the plughole so we had a flood when we showered which we had to sop up with towels, leaving us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CookieSA62
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The accessible rooms are located on the ground floor to enable access for guests with mobility issues. The $25 you paid for your breakfast is the cost of a full cooked breakfast. regards Kerryann

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice Hotel - room with a good ocean view and a small bathroom in a good location. The staff is friendly, but not welcoming. The rooms are quite noisy to the neigbour room and to the street. Overall the Hotel is nice but could do much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndiStone
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location! Lovely staff service ! The room is clean! I and my family had a great time in the hotel. Although the gym facilities are not located inside hotel, I was still quiet happy to walk down the road to use the local gym!

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cornford99
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review..we love to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay. We look forward to your return. Warm regards Kerryann

kent
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely rooms very spacious comfy bed and pillows and great location. Traffic a bit noisy as third floor and our room curved near road. Overall a good place to stay reception staff very helpful. Did not try restaurant as only here one night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neighboursKent
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Kind regards Kerryann

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
775 reviews
1.9 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.2 km away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.2 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
547 reviews
0.9 km away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Address: 45 Marine Parade | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: RM609 - RM884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#9 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Te Pania staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 month ago
Vero Beach, Florida
3 months ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Te Pania staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No view on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles DesW108, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors - better view and quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 781terrys, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor for the view”
 of 5 bubbles muzzerfa, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They are all the same”
 of 5 bubbles gillfill, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Probably better not to be on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Kfrancis, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5