We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bluewater Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bluewater Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bluewater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The location isn't the best, although it is walking distance the to bars and restaurants. I asked the receptionist if I could have some ice and she said "she had to get it from the bar" - I said I would go but she said "the bar was no place for a lady." So with that in mind you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccarthykris
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Bluewater. We apologise that you felt the rooms were not to the standard you required, however we have several guests stay here on regular basis for over a week and have never had any negative responses. As for the comment relating to the bar, yes our receptionist did say that...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Good hotel for mid range price. Bar food is great and nearby walking to a good range of bars and restaurants in Ahuriri. I stay here regularly for work and enjoy it. Small complaint, please put real milk in the fridge ?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottJeff
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback from one of our regular guests. We enjoy having you stay and hope to see you again soon.

Feilding, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 February 2016

I was a member of a party of 12, whom had booked and paid a deposit on our room well in advance. 3 members of our group arrived earlier only to be told that they could not enter the room unless the room was paid for in full by each 12 members of our group, we offered a credit card...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlee26
Bluewater19, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Charlee26, In regards to your comments relating to your stay here on the 27th February, 2016 , it is Hotel Policy that no person is given a key or keys to a room unless it is the person whose name is on the booking and also that we have a credit card that can be charged on check in, so...

Ilkley
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Well appointed room with balcony overlooking the harbour Good value for money but breakfast area felt run down Hotel atmosphere a little tired but ownership apparently changed while we were there - watch for the outcome. It could be interesting

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard B
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to write this review. We do have new owners. Only been here for 2 weeks, but have already gave the place a spring clean inside and out, new chef, in the process of new menu too They do have a lot of experience in the hospitality industry. Feel very confident they will do well Next...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

My boss and I both came up for work. Asked for a double room with queen beds. Apparently that was fine. Turned up and they had put 2 single beds together and called it a queen. Good views but that's about all. 2 Cockroaches crawled out from the sugar cubby on the coffee station, in which when we complained about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoshAllen1992
Bluewater19, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Bluewater Hotel, we are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. in December 2015 every single bed in the complex was replaced with brand new Sealy Posturepedic beds. Without knowing what type of room you were in (Studio or Apartment) it is hard to explain the bedding configuration...

Wgtn
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

This was the fifth or sixth time stayed here and overall really enjoy it. Great location, views and service. The only slight on this place is about the pub next door. If you stay on a Friday or Saturday night then the mouse from the bar band and music is loud, especially if staying on that side of the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G-DoggyRulz
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Good to hear you enjoy your stay at the Bluewater Hotel, and keep coming back We have had a lot of problems with the bar in the past. But the new owners are very keen to work closely with us regarding the noise factor The new owner has another bar and restaurant further up the road. The idea is to...

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We stayed four nights here. The hotel is fabulous, great rooms with small kitchen, big bathroom with jet tub, lovely private balcony looking out at the boats. The service was spectacular, and it was next door to a bike and kayak rental spot, and right on the Hawkes bay trails...fantastic location close to beaches, boats and trails. Only negative was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sail l
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Good to hear you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review Hope to see you again next time your are in Napier

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Very disappointed that we were charged twice for our 5 night stay. We had prepaid through Travelbug which the reception staff confirmed on arrival. After we left we noticed another full payment had been taken off our credit card. After contacting hotel this was refunded to us but they said they could not refund full amount in one transaction.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZZO21423Gordon
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

We again apologise for the error that was made in regards to your booking, the double charge was not deliberate but merely "Human Error" A lot of the booking sites we deal with do not actually notify us of the booking payment straight away, they simply take the booking and payment from the Guests and it can be close to...

Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Jane and staff, Biggest warmest regards to you all... The cleanest hotel I've stayed in in years, princess style comfort all New beds, great mini bar selection, on site laundry, great easy parking for our hire car, stunning views of the harbour, big spacious rooms, spa bath was the best all hotels should have this, I truly felt I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhaniestar72
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Linda & Teresa, Thank you for your kind review on your stay at Bluewater Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback from our overseas guests. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay whilst here in New Zealand on your first trip. Thank you again from Management and staff for your kind...

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Always found a park outside, (stayed here with a bunch of girls for my hens night) Walking distance to food, wharf, bars. Huge nice comfy bed, great view, balcony was handy (filthy smokers) very spacious rooms too. Staff were friendly, easy to book, very clean. Pretty cool with a little golf course too, unfortunately we ran out of time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowzie_posie
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write this review Good to hear you enjoyed your stay Hope the wedding day goes well too Thanks

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
723 reviews
0.9 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.2 km away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#35 of 48 in Napier
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#13 of 48 in Napier
227 reviews
2.6 km away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.9 km away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#19 of 48 in Napier
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: RM508 - RM1,368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bluewater Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bluewater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Furthest away from the bar for a quiet night”
 of 5 bubbles izzipop, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose whatever your budget, caters for all! And also has a restaurant open late”
 of 5 bubbles daisy431, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room as far away from the bar as you can”
 of 5 bubbles annamarie20172017, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't use loads of soap in the spa bath, my husband put in waaay to much. It froffs very nicely.”
 of 5 bubbles Robyn_256, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For couples choose top floor. For families the bottom floor has mini golf outside the patio area to keep the children entertained.”
 of 5 bubbles travelchick039, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5