We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Motel de la Mer

Show Prices
#21 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel de la Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel de la Mer
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We've just returned home from a visit to Napier - a lovely experience in itself but made very special by our accommodation. We've stayed at Motel de la Mer twice before, but about six years ago, and each time we've loved it!! We had an incredibly spacious unit (No. 7) - quite the largest 'studio unit' we've ever encountered on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois M
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Lois & Colin Many thanks again for a wonderful review. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Best wishes John

Reviewed 30 August 2016

We wanted somewhere we could go and have 2 weeks holiday. Chose Napier as we could be by the sea, do nothing if thats what we felt like, but also plenty to do if we wanted. Motel de la Mer ticked all the boxes for us. Off road parking, unit fresh clean and roomy and well fitted out for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi to you both many thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed having you. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future. Best wishes John.

Auckland
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Returned to Napier for the Ironmaori duathlon Had stayed here last year and due to a great experience decided we would return. Host was welcoming and friendly Room was tidy and we'll set out. Excellent review and easy walk to everywhere we needed to go. Excellent value for money, will return November and December

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi to you all. many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to you your return in November Best wishes John

New Zealand
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Click the other "terrible" reviews for similar scam experiences. Clearly stated we would be checking in late via Booking.com. Motel had one weeks notice. Never informed us late check in was not possible. 1. Tried to check in on the night, refused to check us in. 2. Lied about not receiving notification from Booking.com of special request for late check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hui_Chch
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Hui Many thanks for your email. Yes we did note your arrival between 9 and 10 and we usually wait up for people coming in at this time and there was no need to contact you. Yes check in is between 2pm till 9 pm. We phoned you at approximately 8.30 to see where you were an you were...

Reviewed 29 July 2016

We stayed in the penthouse apartment - top left of picture above. It was clean, the decor was average, and it had views of the ocean, towards Te Mata Peak, and of the Ruahine mountain range. It's close to the city - The Warehouse is directly behind it. It's a couple of minutes' walk into town with lots of restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BigZed52
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. Firstly we cannot help the noise of construction during the day. With ongoing projects in Napier happening it is only for the betterment of our fine city. We cannot control the weather and when a storm hits everybody is affected so I apologize for this. Best wishes John

Palmerston North
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My wife and I took advantage of a winter special on a penthouse apartment and loved it. We had previously stayed on 2 occasions in the regular rooms but the penthouse was a step up. The extra space and the sun filled lounge was brilliant for relaxing in on a winter's day. Great friendly service from the proprietors too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. Best wishes John

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a penthouse unit on our birthday getaway. It was an immaculate setting with 180 degree views over Napier and the shore. The roar of the waves crashing onto the beach was awesome. The huge spa bath was a fabulous mood setter and the California King bed sealed the deal. The entire room layout just made you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Romantic Weekend We hope to see you back again someday. Best wishes John

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at many places along the esplanade in Napier but rate this at the top. The 1bdr spa unit is fabulous with a view of the ocean and walking distance to the town. The hosts are friendly and helpful, the unit well presented and very comfortable and the position excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Best wishes John

Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Have stayed here a few times and always good . Linen is always fresh . Always spotlessly clean and the owners are very friendly . This is just a short walk away from the town . Plenty of Restaurants close by . Would go back .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your friendly review. Best wishes John

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 May 2016

John & Llanys were very accommodating and changed our room with no issues. Room with a view, spa, and bl**dy great big bed, also serviced to a very high standard daily On Marine Parade and near to everything, but just back off the road. Great place and hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvonnePapamoa
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. Best wishes John

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
544 reviews
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
724 reviews
0.7 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 km away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
2.4 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: RM463 - RM805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#18 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel de la Mer staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel de la Mer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles AnonymousMalaga, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best place; Nice Location:”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were happy with the ground floor due to my arthritic ankle, but the views from the balconies would be superb!”
 of 5 bubbles Oolonz, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 8. It was very good. View good You have to share the balcony - tho which I didn't like.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsBeasley09, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No. 7 hard to beat if you don't want a spa”
 of 5 bubbles LoisM_13, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5