We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel de la Mer

Show Prices
#18 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel de la Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel de la Mer
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Stayed here for three nights mid March. It's a small motel within easy walking distance of the town centre. Llanis and John have a good grip on this place, it was spotless. Both are very welcoming and helpful. Full of recommendations on where to eat and where to visit. Very comfortable stay and excellent value. I would recommend trying for... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveMcOxford
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. best wishes John More 

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We booked a couple of nights at the Motel de la Mer and we absolutely loved our stay! Upon arrival we were a little early for our check in but John was lovely and showed us to our room and even stored our bikes!! We had a second story one bedroom suite which was perfect for our needs as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank AJNZMAN
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

We are pleased you had a stunning weekend. Best wishes and we will see you again someday. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I thought about writing this review for a long time, considering I dont leave such bad reviews until absolutely needed. But I wanted to warn all travelers of getting potentially ripped off. First of all a bit about the motel and then the scam. The motel itself is not bad. Definitely not the rating it has on TA is justified.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Faisal M
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hello Faisal M Pleas be honest with your review. Booking.com sided with us and under our terms and conditions you signed on checking in we are entitled to recover costs incurred. Best wishes John More 

Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We stayed here the first part of february and found this motel to be just wonderful. the room was very large and spotless. We were here for 3 nights and John was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again in this very quaint town.

Helpful?
Thank docLongmont
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. Best wishes John More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This has to be the worst hotel experience I have ever had....... Not that I actually got to stay there!!! Having arrived late in Napier I called the hotel at my very fist opportunity and explained that I would be late checking in. The man at the end of the phone swore at me, told me I was inconsiderate and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 212evag
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hello 212evag Our check in times are between 2 and 9 pm and most people arrive in the allotted time frame. There are exceptions which we try our best to cater for. You phone call to us was that you were dining at a restaurant and you would get there when you are finished. This was well before closing time... More 

Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Lovely well appointed room with spa, several notches above usual standard, friendly and helpful staff. 10 mins walk from the centre, moments from restaurants and opposite the beach. Would recommend for couples.

Helpful?
Thank Liz W
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Than you for your warm report. Best wishes John More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016

I have stayed here and reviewed this motel a couple of years ago, this time we booked a weekend away for Valentine's Day, the only unit available was a spa unit on the top floor, reception was quick friendly and easy, everything explained including nearby attractions and cafes. The room was beautiful, huge...lounge had 2 private decks, 1 looking over... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pete p
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Pete Many thanks for your kind reviews Best wishes John More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016

The beach is across the street, but it is a rock/pebble beach, NOT sand. You can walk to town easily from this location. There are many motels along this street. The owner was helpful and very friendly. The cleaning staff did NOT like me asking them to leave the bed as I had made it. The woman owner said “they... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Unbiased-Facts
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review We have taken note and will ask the customer in future. We always service and clean the room and try to make it as immaculate each day whilst you are here. We hope you had a safe journey home. Best wishes John More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Spotlessly clean room, good spacious bathroom and room to sit and eat. However, there was a lot of noise from the property behind and the bed was really soft so didn't get the best sleep. A few real annoyances - the room service 'tidied up' everything, including moving all my clothes from where I'd put them into a pile on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DaveCardiff_UK
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your email. We have taken note of the points you made. If you had reported the noise to us we would have rectified this matter. The hostel behind has a 10pm curfew! We pride ourselves with our beds and the all are of a medium to firm mattress so we will have this checked out. The cleaning... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We stayed just 1 night here but I would have liked it to be longer. The host was both friendly, helpful and very professional. The rooms were huge and very comfortable with all amenities and free wifi is always nice. We would definitely stay here again next time we are in Napier.

Helpful?
Thank Kevnads

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
533 reviews
0.7 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
639 reviews
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 48 in Napier
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The County Hotel Napier
2.4 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.4 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
The Crown Hotel Napier
#3 of 48 in Napier
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: RM471 - RM799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#17 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel de la Mer staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel de la Mer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were happy with the ground floor due to my arthritic ankle, but the views from the balconies would be superb!”
 of 5 bubbles Oolonz, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 8. It was very good. View good You have to share the balcony - tho which I didn't like.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsBeasley09, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No. 7 hard to beat if you don't want a spa”
 of 5 bubbles LoisM_13, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“John very good at helping and advising on the room that would best suit what you are looking for. He chose well for us anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid giving out credit card details before your stay if possible”
 of 5 bubbles Hui_Chch, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay