We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Motel de la Mer

Show Prices
#19 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel de la Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel de la Mer
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 April 2016

upon our arrival(early) they gave us some great recommendations for things to see while in town. very accommodating, had a wonderful stay,would happily recommend to anyone visiting or the surrounding areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psharrow
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you agin someday. Best wishes John

Lyttelton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We arrived at the motel late afternoon and were welcomed by John. After the usual check in formalities John asked if we would like any suggestions for dinner that evening. We hadn't anything booked for two of the three nights we were in Napier and welcomed his suggestions. We were not disappointed. John gave us a choice of milk options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrizBee59
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for fair and friendly review. Best wishes John

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The two stars are for the accommodation, which was lovely. However, the small refrigerator was half full of mini-bar-type items that were for sale, and the coffee table had "art" on it that made it unusable. The main complaint is that, we, like a couple of other reviewers, found the insistence of the owners on servicing the room daily and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LandCruisers
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have few items in the mini bar but we only put them there from repeated requests. Most people do not seem to mind. There is a magazine on the table for you to read and can be moved if requested. We do take the customers views into consideration. We have a policy of servicing...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Motel de la Mer is a fabulous place to stay. Luxury at its best, fantastic operators, great views handy to everything perfect place to chill out.stayed 3 nights and if we wanted an apartment it would be designed the same as our aprtment here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger N
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm friendly review. Best wishes and we hope to see you again someday. Best wishes John

Oxford
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Stayed here for three nights mid March. It's a small motel within easy walking distance of the town centre. Llanis and John have a good grip on this place, it was spotless. Both are very welcoming and helpful. Full of recommendations on where to eat and where to visit. Very comfortable stay and excellent value. I would recommend trying for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveMcOxford
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. best wishes John

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We booked a couple of nights at the Motel de la Mer and we absolutely loved our stay! Upon arrival we were a little early for our check in but John was lovely and showed us to our room and even stored our bikes!! We had a second story one bedroom suite which was perfect for our needs as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJNZMAN
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

We are pleased you had a stunning weekend. Best wishes and we will see you again someday.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I thought about writing this review for a long time, considering I dont leave such bad reviews until absolutely needed. But I wanted to warn all travelers of getting potentially ripped off. First of all a bit about the motel and then the scam. The motel itself is not bad. Definitely not the rating it has on TA is justified....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Faisal M
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hello Faisal M Pleas be honest with your review. Booking.com sided with us and under our terms and conditions you signed on checking in we are entitled to recover costs incurred. Best wishes John

Longmont, Colorado
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We stayed here the first part of february and found this motel to be just wonderful. the room was very large and spotless. We were here for 3 nights and John was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again in this very quaint town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank docLongmont
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. Best wishes John

Reviewed 15 March 2016

This has to be the worst hotel experience I have ever had....... Not that I actually got to stay there!!! Having arrived late in Napier I called the hotel at my very fist opportunity and explained that I would be late checking in. The man at the end of the phone swore at me, told me I was inconsiderate and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 212evag
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hello 212evag Our check in times are between 2 and 9 pm and most people arrive in the allotted time frame. There are exceptions which we try our best to cater for. You phone call to us was that you were dining at a restaurant and you would get there when you are finished. This was well before closing time...

Esher, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Lovely well appointed room with spa, several notches above usual standard, friendly and helpful staff. 10 mins walk from the centre, moments from restaurants and opposite the beach. Would recommend for couples.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Than you for your warm report. Best wishes John

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
541 reviews
0.7 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
712 reviews
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 48 in Napier
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The County Hotel Napier
2.4 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.5 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: RM471 - RM755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#18 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel de la Mer staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel de la Mer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best place; Nice Location:”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were happy with the ground floor due to my arthritic ankle, but the views from the balconies would be superb!”
 of 5 bubbles Oolonz, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 8. It was very good. View good You have to share the balcony - tho which I didn't like.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsBeasley09, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No. 7 hard to beat if you don't want a spa”
 of 5 bubbles LoisM_13, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“John very good at helping and advising on the room that would best suit what you are looking for. He chose well for us anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay