We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Edgewater Motor Lodge

Show Prices
#16 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Edgewater Motor Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edgewater Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Taree, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Currently staying at the lodge in room 3. On arrival found the manager to be really helpful and friendly. The motel rooms were very clean and well presented. The motel is situated across the road from the ocean and has a great outlook. Highly reccomend. towel rating 8/10.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grantTaree
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Grant. Thanks for the great review. I hope that you were on our FREE unlimited Wifi when you wrote it. Cheers Roy

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2015

This motel was the best priced in the area for the night I booked. It was fairly simple, basic room, with all that you need. It was immaculately clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower had great water pressure and the view and location ideal. Easy walk to shopping and cafes. It had basic tea/coffee making facilities. It would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexbH5837JU
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Alex and Charlie. Thank you for you kind comments and it is good to get feedback on the value of the services that we provide. We do have herbal tea available through the office if required in the future. Regards Roy

Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 October 2015

This is a pleasant enough motel, the rooms are well equipped tidy and clean. The manager/operator doesn't understand the hospitality part of the "hospitality industry". When checking out I advised him that the fridge in my room wasn't working and that everything perishable food item I had with me was no longer edible. He explained that the switch was above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Gidday Neil S. Thanks for your review and we value your feedback. It is a pity that you didn't touch on the problems that we had on check in where you came in moaning about the fact that you couldn't get your people mover complete with luggage box and stand up bike under our 2 meter high entrance way. You...

Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed just the one night in Napier but think we made a good choice of motel. Nice location with sea view. Small private balcony to sit out on. Very clean and tidy, very friendly service and reasonable rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Gidday Eric W. Thank you for your great review and its a real boost to know that we can get it right every now and then. Regards Roy

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We loved staying here, it was just what we wanted. It had a small kitchen, that's clean and well suited to what we wanted. We loved the balcony, that looked out to sea. The bed was amazing, so comfortable and big.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Tuffy9682. Thank you for taken the time to write a a review. We are glad you enjoyed our proximity to the Rugby ground and the view from your unit. You get the same view from the ground floor as all our units face the ocean. Regards Roy

New Zealand
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed here for a weekend to attend a rugby match. The motel is conveniently situated near Good restaurants and it was a short walk to the rugby grounds. We had a room with a sunny balcony overlooking the beach. The town centre is just a short walk away too. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tufty9682
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Very clean and tidy place. In-adequate heating during the exceptional cold weather in July. Presume they don't get these sort of cold weather very often. However, they do have electric blanket so that is quite helpful. Can be noisy due to all rooms facing the beach with traffic on the main marine parade road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pink L
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Pink L Thank you for your review. As we do not know which unit you were in we will monitor your heating concerns. We have extra heaters available at reception if required and yes, the electric blankets do make the bed nice and warm. The road is normally pretty quite at night time and there is not much we...

Wellington
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We recently stayed 5 nights. Room 18 was very spacious. A very convenient location and lovely ocean views from top floor. Great room service. However several things they should look at changing in this room. Unfortunately the bed in the bedroom wasn't up to our comfort level. The 2 grey couches are so uncomfortable we would either lay on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriane P
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Pink L Thank you for your review. As we do not know which unit you were in we will monitor your heating concerns. We have extra heaters available at reception if required and yes, the electric blankets do make the bed nice and warm. The road is normally pretty quite at night time and there is not much we...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We called in after a long day driving and just took a chance. We stayed two nights here. The room was spotless and offered everything from dining in facilities if you want to cook yourselves, to an iron and hairdryer.. Very comfortable bed.. Ray the owner was very helpful in telling all the local restaurants and tourist attractions, very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine r
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Elaine R It is really good that you took the time to review our property and a real boost for our staff to know that we get it right most of the time. I hope you enjoyed you trip to Napier. Regards Roy

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Edgewater overnight and were really impressed with this lovely motel. It was spotless, modern decor, spa bath and amenities. Warm and cosy, with a bed that was soooo comfy! The owners were fantastic to deal with, friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I would highly recommend staying here and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Amanda J. Thanks for the great review and yes, the new beds do work well. We are glade you enjoyed your stay in Napier. Regards Roy

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
540 reviews
0.8 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
700 reviews
1.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The County Hotel Napier
2.5 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.5 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edgewater Motor Lodge offers superb, affordable beachfront accommodation with spectacular sea views. Our great location on Marine Parade in the heart of Napier NZ gives easy walking access to the city centre, National Aquarium of New Zealand, Rotary Walkway, the Ocean Spa complex, Napier Municipal Theatre, Conference Centre, McLean Park Sports Ground, Intercity bus station, RSA, Cosmopolitan Club and a variety of restaurants and cafes. All units at our beachfront motel in Napier have ocean views, tea/coffee making facilities (full cooking facilities in 12 units), microwave, ensuite with shower (spa bath in some units), hair dryer, queen size beds, phone, free WiFi, 5-channel Sky Digital, flat screen TVs with 20 channels, electric blankets, iron/ironing board. Select from basic studio, spa bath studio, superior studio, one bedroom or two bedroom motel units (ideal for families). All motel units are non-smoking and are serviced daily. Guest facilities include a salt water plunge pool, BBQ, laundry, free off-street parking and free Wi-Fi internet throughout the motel. Cooked/continental breakfast available to unit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edgewater Motor Lodge

Address: 359 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: RM353 - RM696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Napier
Edgewater Motel Napier
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#16 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Edgewater Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unit 18 is fantastic”
  • New Years morning
  • New Years morning
  • Late afternoon summer
  • Late afternoon summer
 of 5 bubbles glennomeister, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If planning to use the BBQ like us -perhaps a room close to it. The BBQ is located near the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Bigruss57, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor units facing the foreshore really help one feel "right on target with Napier beach"”
 of 5 bubbles 176lyndas, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor is nice as there is a nice spa. Traffic noise virtually nil at night. Rooms quiet through the day anyway.”
  • Sunrise from beach right across rd
  • Beach right across the Rd (Marine Pde).
  • In room spa.
 of 5 bubbles darrenmasters2016, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Up for views, down for easier access.”
 of 5 bubbles M8999XTmichaelk, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay