We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Peppertree Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppertree Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peppertree Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Kalmar, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Pretty basic but a fresh and light room. Well worth the price. Comfortable beds. Nice staff. Free Kayaks was a plus. The bathroom was shared between men and women. No free wifi unfortunately. Calmer than the nextdoor hostel.

Helpful?
Thank SJonsson95
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a reviewand am pleased you enjoyed the stay. Since you were here the wifi carrier has reduced their fees to us, it is now $10 for 1000 (1 gigabyte) of data. Free stuff is a balance , where do you stop and where do you start its a fine balance. More 

Schweinfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We stayed just for a night herel but would definitely be back. Our 4-bed-dorm (ensuite) had a good size and the bathroom was very clean. There is an outside common area as well as a really comfy and homely indoor one consisting of TV area, eating area and very well equipped kitchen. The hosts were extremely friendly and we can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lekatharina
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, and we are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

Although it helps that Paihia itself is amazing, this has been my favourite hostel in almost all of my travelling. Free bike and kayak hire, clean, inviting open space, nice patio, friendly owners, big and well stocked kitchen, and sturdy beds with an ensuite which was pretty luxurious. Thanks for the free chocolate and great night.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights. It was a very nice and clean hostel with a lot of facilities. The kitchen is large enough and when we stayed here there where not fully booked I think. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm with our own toilet and shower. Will definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Mathijsgaasbeek
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking time to write a review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay. More 

Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2015

The worst hostel experience we've had in New Zealand! We stayed for one night and had the inconvenience of getting bedbugs. In several beds of our 8-bed dorm. We explained it to the host just to let him know, but he would not believe us and he talked to us like we were five years old. Two girls from our... More 

Helpful?
Thank SnarkyGuppy
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

we have a preventative spraying program that works, but there is a period when they arrive and the time period until they die. When advised folk think they have seen them, you are correct I don't panic, and whilst they are nasty little things they travel in peoples bags, and luggage. Every time we are advised we have a process... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2015

We loved pepper tree. the owners were amazing and the accommodation was quite cute. however after our last day we noticed blood on the sheets and found we and many others had bed bugs. frightening. probably won't go back

Helpful?
Thank saracage
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

these little critters travel on peoples bags, and from time to time we do come across them, however we find mostly dead ones as we have a preventative spraying program, and the residue is at 100% for 90 days. So if they come into a room two things will happen, most will die with in the first 24 hours of... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights. Booked an en suite double but we were given a larger self contained unit with large lounge. Very comfy and clean. Booked a tour so got enough free wifi for our stay. Good location about 5 minutes from the centre of town, mind you it is a very small place. Good value and helpful people.... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnmwhyte
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2015

This place is in a perfect location, only 10 mins walking distance from the town centre and 5 minutes from the beach. We stayed in a private room with an ensuite bathroom, which was small but perfectly acceptable for a couple of days. The owner was both friendly and helpful, and even offered us free internet when we booked a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frooze
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, maybe we will see you back here one day More 

Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2015

My daughter and I stayed in a private room with shared bathroom facilities. Rooms were clean and comfortable, bathroom was also clean. Kitchen, and common areas all clean and welcoming. The owner was friendly and was helpful in choosing which boat trip to do. Close to town, shops, restaurants and bars.

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
ptl-nz, General Manager at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

we are pleased you enjoyed the backpacker experience, and hope you continue with their use, thanks for taking time to write a review. regards bryan More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We stayed in a dorm room for three nights. The stay was fine, we didn't really use many of the facilities on offer; but similarly didn't have any expectations that weren't met. So, no complaints at all, but not blown away by anything extra or special = 4 stars

Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
ptl-nz, General Manager at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking time to write a review, you are correct, the dorms are exactly that basic, but this reflects in the price, hope you enjoyed your time in paihia More 

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
401 reviews
0.8 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
546 reviews
0.0 km away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
0.6 km away
Haka Lodge Paihia
Haka Lodge Paihia
#3 of 28 in Paihia
145 reviews
0.1 km away
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a purpose built backpackers, with 8 bed dorms using shared facilities, 4 bed dorms with own bathroom , doubles/twins that can sleep up to 4 people using shared facilities, doubles / twins that can sleep up to 4 people with own bathroom. We have a full well equipped kitchen , 50' tv with approx. 300 dvds, bbq area to allow you to grill our food, we have a tour desk for local tours, free access to 3 tennis courts, kayaks and bikes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppertree Lodge

Address: 15 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: RM134 - RM299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Peppertree Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Peppertree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppertree Lodge Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peppertree Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't choose 11 it is really noisy”
 of 5 bubbles switchie_nz, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“We choose a studio which was lovely and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles StephJ_Sydney, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are quieter because after 10 Brian doesn't let people make noise”
 of 5 bubbles Sava58, 29 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Stayed in a four bed dorm. Was good”
 of 5 bubbles Martijnboer, 25 Jun 2015 | Read review
“It can be a bit noisy as is surrounded by other backpacker accommodation, but this hostel was one of the quieter ones.”
 of 5 bubbles U2283QBsueb, 5 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay