We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Saltwater Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Saltwater Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of Saltwater Lodge
 Click to rate
Ylojarvi, Finland
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

It was great! I stayed in 4-bed female deluxe dorm and I loved it. The place was so clean and the staff super nice. The location is also good. I didn't use the kitchen but I heard from others that it was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annisof
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay. We are glad to hear that you found our service helpful and welcoming. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy your stay and felt comfortable. We wish you all the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Nelson, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Easy booking, staff are great. Stayed in a 4 person dorm that has lockers in room. Tons of space and large bathroom. Got fresh avocados brought up to us in the am. 2 minute walk to the beach. Hopefully will be back again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flynnausten
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your experience about your stay wit us. Thrilled to hear that you loved the property, service, and location. Delighted to know you would return in the future. We wish you all the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

India
Reviewed 10 March 2017

First ever experience at a backpacker hostel and it was great. Emailed the hostel with various questions before arrival and was always answered promptly and accurately. The lodge is about 8 minutes walking along the beachfront from the ferry terminal and bus stops. There is a small grocery nearby, several pubs and restaurants and best of all, the beach is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wingsonwheels
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your amazing review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that our location, as well as our facilities, was of good use and convenience. We are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time with us. It is great to hear that our service made you feel welcome and safe....

Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Spent 5 nights here in our own en-suite room. Very spacious even with the bunk beds in the room. Modern, clean and bright. Room had its own fridge, microwave, kettle, crockery The 1st for kitchen one of the best we have had, with a large lounge and a bbq on the balcony. The staff also extremely helpful - even looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PipPaul W
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, we are thrilled to hear of the comfortable experience you had during your stay. We appreciate all your feedback including our facilities, service and location. We are glad your stay with us was memorable for you. We hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful Lodge with excellent staff! From check in to check out everything was wonderful! The manager Rohit was very friendly and accomodating. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Overall we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at Saltwater Lodge. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShankyDGM
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for reviewing your stay at our lodge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you was satisfied with service and facilities. It is great to know that you would choose us again for your stay in Paihia. We looking forward to your return. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Didn't expect this from a backpackers.Rooms were clean, & spacious in both family accomodation & share accomodation (with in room lockers in share rooms. Amazing idea!!!!! ) Ensuite in family room was large & clean & share bathrooms were clean & nice.Staff were friendly & helpful.Great to have an on-site laundry with a line with pegs as well as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreamsaremadeofthis
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our lodge. We would like to thank you for kind words and we couldn't be more thrilled that your stay exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us. We wish you safe travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Reviewed 16 January 2017

The hostel itself was very nice. Everything was lovely and tidy, and there were nice clean kitchen facilities provided. The staff were all friendly as well. My cousin and I didn't realise, however, that the hostel was located close to so many bars (which may have just been our fault for not doing enough research). It was a very social...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Katie R, Thank you so much for writing this review and mentioning our facilities & service. We unfortunately are close to a few bars and we are sure some of the guests appriciate that, but if you have morning plans it can be an issue. However we have ear plugs available at reception for our guests to avoid discomfort....

Cumbria
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Me & a group of friends had booked this backpackers for Christmas week as it was close to the beach & had a positive right up. I loved my stay. All dorms/rooms are ensuite & open up onto a open air communal seating area which runs the full length of the property. There is a large lounge area with table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker846
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sunseeker846, It means a great deal to us read about your positive stay experience. Thank you for the details you liked, especially those that highlighted your stay and compliment our service making sure you have a comfortable stay. We wish you all the best for the New Year. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Belfast
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I booked this hostel because of the reviews and they were not wrong! On arrival I had a lovely greeting from Lenka - having just come from a crap hostel in Auckland this made me feel right at ease! The rooms are so spacious, clean and built for backpackers! I was in a 6 bed and there was loads of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Expert123
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for this AWESOME review of our Lodge and service performance. We appreciate your detailed insides about your experience and we couldn't be happier that your stay was enjoyable. We wish you safe and pleasant travels. Warm Regards, Lenka & Rohit

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in October with a group of 25 and was very impressed :) great rooms (6 bunks) and a shower that was clean and tidy. Loved the group lounge/kitchen area and staff were friendly. Would definitely stay here again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skye T
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide memorable experience and great service to our guests. Based on your review, we are on the right path. Once again, we thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
441 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.8 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
604 reviews
0.1 km away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: RM166 - RM425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Saltwater Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early”
  • Spacious Double Room
KelefehMan, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose the 2nd level, the rooms are larger!”
Kiwicaty, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is the furtherest away from the road and bars, and also the communal lounge which can get noisy too.”
Teagle, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Chose a dorm with only four beds, it will be more quiet !”
annb674, 2 Jul 2013 | Read review
“We had a double room with ensuite and it had TV and coffee making facilities and small fridge. Our room was on the second floor and we had a view of distant mountains across the bay. Had a table and chairs outside door on the balcony for sitting if we desired. Second floor is best as it is away from kitchen and this can get noisy at certain times of the day. .”
Alexis935, 31 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5